We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden treasure near Anchorage”
Review of Lake Eklutna

Lake Eklutna
Ranked #12 of 220 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure near Anchorage”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just about 30 minutes North of Anchorage you will find Lake Eklunta in the Chugach State Park. It has a very nice camp ground, but it is ideal for day walkers/visitors as well. The scenary is spectacular and there is a glacier at the far end of the lake. That would be an all day walk or maybe a bike ride. No elevation changes as you follow the lake shore on a prepared trail. But you can enjoy the view from the parking area or walk in as little or as much as you like.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    65
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chugiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is a beautiful place and one that should be experienced by all. I suggest doing the kayak out and bike back return trip provided you are in good shape b/c it is a workout!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naspinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful and close the Anchorage”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We spent Labor Day weekend camping and hiking at Eklutna. It was slightly misty and windy, but still beautiful and serene. Many people were sightseeing, camping, and even kayaking on the lake. We did the Twin Peaks hike and it was chilly but so so beautiful. Great photos of the lake from the lookout. Would've kayaked if it was just a little warmer and less windy. Nice campsites, clean and spacious!!

Helpful?
Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rent a car and have a drive up. You will pass the Eklutna Cemetary on the left where the Locals believe it is better to put the dead above ground. Might have to ask a local as to why, as I will not tell you.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank bpak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hiking trails”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The day we stopped was the only rainy day we had while visiting our family in Palmer. The trails are well maintained and we were able to walk along the lake's edge without worry for the kids.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cul8rthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Eklutna also viewed

 

Been to Lake Eklutna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing