We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great crabcakes and Halibut Chowder”

Norton Sound Seafood House
Ranked #188 of 873 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,595 reviews
1,681 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,913 helpful votes
“Great crabcakes and Halibut Chowder”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Norton Sound Seafood House at Ted Stevens Airport is one of a very few "sit down" restaurants that does not project a "bar image."

Norton Sound Seafood House has a full bar; however, we have made it a point NOT to do alcohol when flying, and when flying first class. Alcohol dehydrates, and at 30,000 feet, one needs water and not alcohol.

Norton Sound Seafood House has an inviting sign, an open concept, and Jennifer, who is an excellent server.

I liked the front table area, with a connection to the concourse.

I did not like the uninspired menu that seemed to focus mostly on pub grub and fried fish.

I asked Jennifer for help; her recommendation: a side of “fresh" crab cakes, and a bowl of Halibut chowder. This turned out to be a wonderful meal prior to departure.

I have 25-year-old memories of Anchorage airport. The old airport was small, uninviting, and walking across the road to a gravel rental car lot. Yes, Ted Stevens did much for Anchorage, the Alaska road infrastructure, and Alaska in general.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    44
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disappointing changes”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We have come fishing in Alaska for several years now. Norton Sound catches its own king crab. In the past we have had a wonderful although expensive fresh king crab. It was wonderful! This time the waitress said that it was all frozen. We had a poor excuse for a crab salad. She said that the $44 crab legs were also frozen. Down in California we can get frozen king crab legs and they are always insipid. The fresh ones in Anchorage have always been superior. I am so disappointed. Maybe some of their other dishes are worth eating but I will never go back there.


Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
317 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not bad for airport food”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had a layover at the Anchorage airport and stopped here for a bit to eat. I had the soup which was tasty and the service was good. Pretty good for airport fare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank spoiledrotten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Truly wish it was better ...”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

It's very sad to see this sorry excuse of a restaurant linked to chef Al Levinsohn, a talented Anchorage chef/restaurateur. But at Norton Sound Seafood House the slow and uncaring service - along with unremarkable food - make this ho hum spot not much better than the airport's national chain competition.

Management needs to step up and make certain that staff are well-trained and attentive. As it stands now, the attitude of cooks and wait staff seems akin to "why bother, we'll never see these people again." Unfortunately, that careless attitude translates to inconsistent food and shoddy service - reflecting poorly on a restaurant that would otherwise have great potential.

Norton Sound gets a barely passing grade from me only because it's past security in the Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport where dining options are quite limited. If it were located elsewhere, it would receive a solid 1-star failing grade of F.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AK Cuisine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great airport restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I had brunch there while waiting flights. Fantastic seafood, crab sandwich, possibility of having a combo.

The blueberries crust one of the best desserts I've tried. Very simple, the right sweetness.

If you need to stop for a decent meal, forget the other chain food restaurants, that's the place to go when at Anchorage airport. Outstanding.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OilfieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norton Sound Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Norton Sound Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing