We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Anchorage”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is very clean and in a good location in the city. It's close to everything, including restaurants, the airport and downtown. The staff are real friendly and helpful.

The only issues I had were I wished they had stronger curtains to keep the light out and being on the third floor, the forth floor was loud when people walked around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regularjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    197
    74
    38
    19
See reviews for
161
180
49
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I know this is Alaska and everything is more expensive, but hokey smokes, Bullwinklle!!
The check in was efficient and the staff friendly. The facility is showing its age in small details, but they keep it pretty clean. Again, I know this is Alaska, but the AC shouldn't be so noisy. I had to turn the fan to "on" rather than "auto" to keep it from sounding like a lawnmower starting up in the room every couple of minutes. Probably just as well considering it seems to be a pretty noisy location (traffic.)
CAVEAT EMPTOR: My whole experience was somewhat soured by the fact that the "Get a tasty start to every day with a fresh, cooked-to-order breakfast" was going to cost $15 apiece. That breakfast is one of the "star" items in their advertising, but you have to get one of their "packages" for it to be included.
I guess I'm suffering from overall "Alaska Sticker Shock" ($1.75 for one dryer cycle?)
The airport shuttle was friendly and efficient (the confusion inflicted by another passenger was handled as efficiently as can be expected.)

Room Tip: The airport shuttle serves 3 hotels - allow time for multiple stops. Look into breakfast packages o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn on the night of June 15. A fine experience, with a friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Very clean room and bath. When I had a weather related change of plans several days later, and needed to go back to Anchorage without a reservation, I returned to the Hilton Garden Inn. They were full, but were great in reaching out to a nearby Hampton Inn, which had one room left. They worked out a rate, and secured the Hampton Inn's promise to save the room. Again, great service. Unfortunately the Hampton Inn then stiffed us, with varying excuses. But it does show that a good front desk is worth a lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amherstmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We recently spent 4 days at the Hilton Garden Inn.

The Good: It was clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating when we requested a late check out! It is within walking distance to Starbucks (not a factor is my average rating, but it helped me enjoy my trip)

The No So Good: 1) Uncomfortable beds. The mattresses were uncomfortable, Sound through walls was disturbing; We could here a significant amount of noises from adjacent rooms ranging from voices to television sounds.

Overall it is was an average hotel, there was nothing exceptional but nothing horrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurfinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great staff even in the wee hours of the morning and fun lobby with a polor bear to take pictures with. Very prompt pick up at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midcmmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I travel quite a bit, and spend many nights at Hilton Garden Inns. The HGI Anchorage is well above-average when it comes to Hilton Garden Inns, and hotel chains in general. The check-in experience was flawless, with HHonors status immediately recognized and my arrival amenities made available without having to request them. The property was absolutely pristine, and well above the average HGI cleanliness and appearance standards.

I had booked one full-rate room and one reward room, and both were perfectly appointed and recognized with my HHonors status. The check-in clerk was one of the most professional, friendly, and efficient agents I have encountered at any hotel. Upon checking in, I visited the bar for a couple of drinks, at which the staff were also extremely professional and fun.

I requested a late checkout for one of the two rooms, and they were more than accommodating, allowing an additional 30 minutes over the checkout time I had requested. Again, the front-desk clerks were friendly, courteous, and more than accommodating upon my request.

When I visit PANC again this summer, I will be staying at this property regardless of room rates based solely upon my initial experience.

In terms of HGI's, this property is in the top 95%. If you travel during peak season, the price is worth it. (I have visited competing Marriott properties in PANC, and they don't compare to this Hilton property.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have nothing but positive things to say about this place. Great staff, excellent cleaning crew and solid fast internet connection. Nice workout area too. I wish it came with breakfast included but I knew it didn't when I booked so not the end of the world. The bed is very comfortable and the same for the desk and chair. The restaurants in the area are also nice. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommOfficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
Address: 4555 Union Square Dr, 4555 Union Square Drive, Anchorage, AK 99503-7245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing