We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good!!”

OEC Revolving Sushi Bar
Ranked #274 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi
Description: Are you tired of the drive-thru? Can't bear another burger and fries? Prefer something more exciting, but not much time for lunch? Then replace fast food with great food, fast! The conveyor belt concept at OEC Revolving Sushi lets you get in, choose which tasty, affordable bites you want and get out in a reasonable amount of time. Because each plate is smaller than a traditional entree or roll, you get to try a variety of dishes without breaking the bank. Doesn't a Jalapeno Bomb, Crunch Roll or Pokki Tuna sound like a great change of pace? Menu with tempura, yakisoba, teriyaki, and sushi rolls are available as well.
Restaurant details
Description: Are you tired of the drive-thru? Can't bear another burger and fries? Prefer something more exciting, but not much time for lunch? Then replace fast food with great food, fast! The conveyor belt concept at OEC Revolving Sushi lets you get in, choose which tasty, affordable bites you want and get out in a reasonable amount of time. Because each plate is smaller than a traditional entree or roll, you get to try a variety of dishes without breaking the bank. Doesn't a Jalapeno Bomb, Crunch Roll or Pokki Tuna sound like a great change of pace? Menu with tempura, yakisoba, teriyaki, and sushi rolls are available as well.
anchorage alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No good!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Slow service and everytime i ask the server to bring me a glass of water she gave me an attitude (facial expression ) she seems pissed off for me asking a glass of water...will not recommend to friends and family

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wansapanatym74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
“Amazing value and mouthwatering food!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

During the week from 11-3 there is a lunch special where all the plates are $2.75. The most expensive plate is normally $5.75. You are able to sample a little of each roll or order from the menu if you like. There is also a selection of alcohol to choose from. High quality restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank soupman450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the novelty and variety, not for the sushi”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Go for the novelty of a revolving sushi bar. This is a great place for a quick lunch where you can try small portions of a variety of sushi dishes. Unfortunately, though, the sushi is not high quality. They over-rely on tempura, tempura flakes, spicy mayo, sweet glazes and imitation crab. It all starts to taste the same after a while. You won't find a lot of high quality fish here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettibrunetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time and money”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was curious about a revolving sushi restaurant. It was sure interesting to see sushi on a small plate that travels on a conveyor belt and you can pick what you want. But quality was worse than packed sushi sold at supermarket and the price was prohibitively expensive. My wife, 3 kids and spent $160 but no one ate enough or enjoyed the quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toshiaki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pathetic excuse for sushi”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I really don't know why I frequently hear others going here often.

Tried them out and I was nothing but disappointed coming in during an early lunch on the weekend.

Their nigiri tastes like cleaning product on nearly everything I tried. Prices are hardly great as others seem to state. Have some of you even bothered to look at what you get per plate? For 2(1 pair) Americanized rolls you're paying at least $5-6 for 1 plate. In case you haven't realized it yet you can the same kind of roll for $10-13 at other locations in town and have at least 3 pairs with your order. At least then your sushi is made to order and not sitting on a cooling rack for who knows how long.

Only thing that seemed to be decent here was the fried crab wantons but that was about it.

Big disappointment here. Couldn't even finish my shrimp nigiri because it just tasted like chemical crap.

Staff hardly checked up on us, no one asked if we were interested in any other kinds of rolls to be made. Why? Because it was a quiet time of day so they just didn't want to bother making more than the basics.

Will never go back, sorry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianWinters600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OEC Revolving Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to OEC Revolving Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing