We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lobby - Bad rooms”
Review of Puffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puffin Inn
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Ellicott City, MD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Lobby - Bad rooms”
Reviewed September 4, 2008

This hotel has been recently remodeled - half of it is new and the other half is an older roadside motel. The hotel required us to sign a notice about the non-smoking room and said that we would have to pay about $300 if we smoked in the room. We requested non-smoking and were given a room on the old side. As soon as we walked in, the smell of a smoking room was VERY noticable. The beds were visibly dipped in the middle. We pulled down the bedspread and saw holes from cigarette burns in the blanket. There were also lots of stains on the furniture and the carpet.

We requested to be moved to a true non-smoking room and were given a room in the newer half of the hotel. It looked and smelled better, but it still wasn't great.

The hotel has free breakfast and a free shuttle to the airport every hour.

I would recommend staying at the Holiday Inn Express right across the street.

  • Liked — 2 minute ride to airport, waffles for breakfast.
  • Disliked — The rooms.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    98
    72
    42
    59
See reviews for
98
95
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed here on 3 separate nights in July/August 2008. The hotel is well run and the staff are generally friendly and helpful.

The rooms vary in quality although the beds were very comfortable on all 3 occasions. The rooms in the main building are bigger and more expensive and I think worth the premium charged.

The rooms in the adjacent blocks are ok and all have fridges & microwaves. The value is excellent. The Puffin shares its roads with other hotels, mainly big brand names and the Puffin's prices justify the slightly dated & frayed appearance of some of its features.

There is wireless internet throughout and two open access PC's in reception. Breakfast isn't great and they clear it up at 9.00am prompt as we found to our cost one morning.

Overall this place is good value and is in a great location 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Seadog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Our experiences with Puffin Inn were not good. First, the booking website incorrectly listed 1 guest instead of 3. When I tried correct the information, they would not. We picked the hotel because of their free shuttle service and because it was non-smoking. It took 4 phone calls to the hotel and after a one hour wait with our bags at the airport - while the shuttle drove by and ignored us twice! - they finally stopped for us. When we arrived at the hotel and tipped the driver, we mentioned that we had waited an hour. The driver became very aggressive, shouting and threatening us-in the front lobby in front of other guests. The room itself was in a separate building, smelled musty and was well below average in appearance, cleanliness, decor and amenities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rude shuttle driver
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HoosiersinAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Washington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Stayed here the night we arrived in Anchorage. The one good thing I can say is the free shuttle from the airport was prompt & courteous. The rooms are normal sized, however, the beds are extremely short. I am 5'9" and my feet hit the end of the bed. My husband's were hanging over the end. The continental breakfast had very little and we skipped it completely. Not worth the price we paid!

  • Liked — Airport shuttle
  • Disliked — Price and short bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We were booked by Alaska Air for a 4 hour lay over when we missed our Fairbanks connecting flight due to a medical emergency on board. I was quite concerned since this was going to be a free stay.
Called in for a comp pick up & the desk informed me that the driver was already on his way. Check in at 2 AM was quick & easy as Alaska had already made pre arranged our stay. Asked if toilettries were available & was told we needed to get toothbrushes. We were 3 in our party- including our 10 yo daughter.
We were assigned a room in a separate building. From the outside it looked like an older home. It was up on the 3rd floor. Requested for a 2 Q but were given a room 1 Q & by the time I returned from the 7-11, my husband was already setting up a make shift futon for our daughter with the many comforters & sheets that the housekeeper had brought in, Called in for additional toiletry items & towels which came in 5 minutes.
Surprisingly, the room itself was newly refurbished with a fridge, coffee maker, free wifi, TV etc. The tub even had a working jacuzzi jets. It was very clean & well kept.
Had a very comfortable 4 hour sleep & was glad they had cereal available for my 10 year old while waiting for our free shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmttokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed there two nights (once at the start of our trip and once at the end of our trip). Located mid-way between the airport and the downtown area, the hotel is a great bargain if you have your own transportation. If not, you have to take a cab to downtown (where most sights are located) or take the shuttle bus that is run by the Alaska Mint (which is relatively infrequent); having to time your day based on the free shuttle can be annoying but is certainly do-able; alternatively you can take a taxi; the taxi ride usually costs under $10.
Complimentary breakfast is provided until 9 am, but the seating area is not spacious and people are often found waiting in the morning for chairs and tables to free up.
The one negative was that on our last morning there, at about 8.30 am, they ran out of bread at breakfast. When we asked staff about replenishing the bread box, staff didn’t seem to care very much and walked away with a cursory "sorry but we're all out of bread".
During our last night's stay we were in a much bigger and more spacious room than our first night there; but overall, both rooms were very clean and we were very satisfied with the overall condition of the hotel and the rooms.
The hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the hotel but NOT to any other locations in ANC.
Overall, we were satisfied with our stay there and would recommend it to other travelers, particularly those with their own transportation.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I can't even comment on the rooms as we were turned away... Our flight was delayed and we called to give a current CC number to guarantee late arrival. When we arrived to check in we were informed that the reservation was cancelled and the room was sold to someone else. To add insult to injury they also charged us a full nights stay as a cancellation fee! Staff couldn't help and only directed us to talk to the manager. Manager was unavailable and did not return voicemail messages over the next week to try and work out the situation. Currently working with CC company to dispute the charge. What a disruptive way to start out a vacation.

  • Disliked — Absence of Management
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnjstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.1 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#54 of 73 in Anchorage
96 reviews
3.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#35 of 73 in Anchorage
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#55 of 73 in Anchorage
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Property: Puffin Inn
Address: 4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing