We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”
Review of Puffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puffin Inn
Ranked #36 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked online and upon reading reviews asks to be placed on the renovated section, was upgraded and placed on the first floor room 1109. Well, it was not worth the upgrade since that room is next to the exit room and all night long people were going in and out of the exit more than the front door. That was annoying if you are a light sleeper. The staff was helpful and suggested we try the Japanese restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: Don't ever get room 1109, it's near the back exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myfaironepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

It's great to hear that you thought our staff was friendly, but disappointing that your location next to the exit kept you up at night. I would have been happy to get you another room, if we had additional availability. Thanks for the feedback here on Yelp. Next time you're in town, I hope you'll stay with us again.

All the best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 372 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Delayed return flights from Outside kept me from using their room in the back end of a pre-paid park-and-fly reservation. Their adherence to a form and internal policy will not allow a even a partial refund for not using their room. So a shuttle and parking cost me $160. They've lost a customer. I hope you stay away too.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank GoodCustomerGoesAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

I'm very sorry to hear that your flights were delayed, Jay. Right now, we offer our park and ride reservation as a package deal that includes the room. We do no have a lower option that allows guests to just park and ride in the event of a delayed flight.

However, I apologize that you felt slighted by our policy. I will speak with the rest of the management team to see if there is anything we can to make sure we can discount our customers if a situation such as this occurs in the future. Thanks for the feedback and I promise to work hard to make sure a situation like this won't happen again.

Sincerely,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our second time staying at Puff Inn in winters and it was great. I really appreciate the flexibility and the hospitality of the staff here, the people are very helpful. And we would especially like to thank Katie and Chico (manager) for being so kind and generous and helping us in our reservations.

A free shuttle is provided too and fro from the airport. The hotel is couple of miles from downtown and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chattiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

It means so much to us that you would come back and stay with us again, Chittiya. Your wonderful compliments here on Yelp mean the world to us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Alaska. Next time you need a vacation, stop in and visit us.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a nice hotel, very convenient to everything. Morning breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. We had set up another hotel close to the airport for our flight out but it turned out the Puffin was so close it didnt matter. We wished we could have stayed here twice. Will definitely stay here for the full trip next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnorris12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Friendly staff, great location, tasty breakfast — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in Anchorage, we'd love for you to stay with us again.

All the best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very comfortable room for the price @ a little over 50 dollars a bite. Like that IT'S 5 minutes from airport and a very nice continental breakfast included. Housekeeping could be a little better - clean bathroom sink. The check in area is comfy with nice fireplace and bear fur mounted on wall. Tees Alaskan!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank dmlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We're excited that you enjoyed our location and breakfast! It makes us very happy to help our guests discover the majesty of Alaska, so we're glad that you got the opportunity to stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. Next time you're in town, stop in and say hello!

Till then,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

staff is always friendly and helpful. rooms are clean and make you feel at home. price is great, everything is great. the breakfast is first class with free newspapers. free internet, HBO, some pet rooms. if you don't like staying in a pet friendly room just say so and get a room that is pet free.

Room Tip: stay in the new building. the other building are good but I like the new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for the support, Cliff! We're all about friendly service and comfortable accommodations, so your support here on Yelp means the world to us! Next time you're in Anchorage, stop in and visit us.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you have a special rate they will insist you bring the brochure and if you fail they will change the rate to ridiculous high prices for this budget motel. Reserving EIGHT months in advance, you would think they could clarify rates.. Hesitant to stay at a place that kept waffling about a rate that was negotiated the very day before. They said they would put it in as a rate BUT would not guarantee it. Tip:Reserve at least a moderate room or better. Look up the rooms online before you book. There are marked differences in rooms. Some are in a separate building, without elevator and not modernized and away from main hotel. Could be steep ground, hazardous sidewalks. Tip:They will quote you highest price room unless you ask for lower one. Very skeptical. Sounds like they have rooms no one would like.

Room Tip: economy (original) rooms are in a separate building with outside entrance and can include stairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Foxes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Honesty is our policy, so I'm very concerned to hear that you thought we were trying to overcharge you. I definitely plan on bringing this review up with my staff. Thanks for the support and I hope you'll give us another chance sometime soon.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
3.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#43 of 74 in Anchorage
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inlet Tower  Hotel & Suites
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
#50 of 74 in Anchorage
577 reviews
16.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
3.5 mi away
Dimond Center Hotel
Dimond Center Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
468 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $57 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing