We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family room!”
Review of Puffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puffin Inn
Ranked #36 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in total, one in the lower cost room (whilst waiting for our kids to fly in to Anchorage), and the other two nights in a family room. The lower cost room was old, run down and very small but had all the basics we needed. The family room had 1 bedroom with two queen sz beds in it plus a divan sofa in the lounge. All the beds were comfortable however the air con was incredibly loud and clunky. The bathroom was generous, clean, we'll supplied with towels and soaps etc and had the added bonus of a spa bath! We didn't notice any street noise and found the proximity to the lake, airport and shops very convenient. The rooms came with complimentary continental breakfast and the staff were all attentive and courteous. A free airport shuttle was available 24hrs with notice. Would use again.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was quiet and roomy. Would recommend staying in the main building if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kubabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. From the comfortable beds to the complimentary continental breakfast, it's simply fantastic to hear you had a lovely stay with us. I truly appreciate your support and hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're in Anchorage! Warm regards, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 372 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is long overdue but sentiments are still as solid as ever. I have had the opportunity to stay at Puffin Inn on business and family travel. All times we have been treated as valued guests and there is that comfortable feeling when you walk through the door ...... like everyone is happy that you are back ! The new wing is clean, cozy and tastefully decorated. The lobby is very airy and welcoming with a substantial breakfast.Of course there is the airport shuttle which is so handy; the wait is never long. Pets are welcome which is very important to us as we need to travel often with them. We will continue to stay here when travelling through Anchorage, and I will keep advising my coworkers to do the same. Thank You; D,G & Buddy

Room Tip: ask for new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani-Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hi Dani-Lee,

Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you feel valued every time you stay with us. We sincerely want all our guests to feel that way. I appreciate all your support, and look forward to your next stay with us.

Take care,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here together on two different occasions (at the beginning and end of our last vacation) and my fiancé stays here every year before and after he works as a fly fishing guide on Bristol Bay. We stayed in the older part of the hotel. The lowest cost rooms are small and old, but they are super clean and perfect for one person or two with limited luggage. We made do with a huge dog kennel (and huge dog) and 6 large bags, but space was limited. We also stayed in the larger rooms in the older section and they were great, with a full tub (smaller rooms only have a shower) and a small kitchen (including a little stove). Beds were comfy, windows open (rooms were hot without opening them) and both of our rooms were immaculate. We stayed at the Millennium on our last night, thinking it was an upgrade and our room was slightly nicer, but service was terrible there and the price was ridiculous. The Puffin has a good breakfast (typical . . . waffles, bagels, cereal, yogurt at the beginning of our stay, but none the last 2 days . . . we would've like a little more fruit). The best part about the hotel, though, was the service. They looked up my fiancé's info in their system for me (he works in the bush, no phone service so I couldn't contact him all summer) and booked our room via email. They helped us a pick a room, check-in and out were a breeze, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Other reviews have commented on the location. Anchorage is diverse and a little rough around the edges, but we thought the location was great. Lake Hood is less than a block away. We walked our dog around it every day and we sat at the park on the lake to watch the sunset every night. There were people with kids walking around after dark, there are restaurants and other hotels next door. If you want a luxury hotel experience, don't go to Alaska. The Puffin is a typical mid-price American style hotel. It serves us well and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Older wing allows you to park in front of your room, rooms are clean. One bed units only have a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We love hearing from our loyal customers! You have no idea how much your kind words here on TripAdvisor mean to us. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your experience and that your fiance is back home safe from the bush! Thank you for the review and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Till then,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Actually pretty pleasantly surprised! Reasonably priced accommodations in Anchorage and very convenient to the airport. Our room was in the remodeled original Puffin Inn and was clean with good quality towels and linens. Breakfast was the usual bagels/pastry/waffles, but all seemed pretty fresh.My only concern would be noise, as there are large gaps at the bottoms of the doors. DO NOT book into their adjacent property as demo/rebuild would be the only way to fix it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikerRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

It sounds like we’re doing something right, Richard! Great location, comfortable accommodations, tasty breakfast — that's that we're striving for, so your compliments here mean the world to us! Thanks for the feedback and I hope you'll come visit us again on your next trip to Anchorage!

Till then,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

not the ritz but didn't expect it to be.Got in late and left early. served the purpose. Breakfast was adequate,included in the price. Have used before, will use again if and when needed. booked early and got a great rate..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Tasty breakfast, affordable prices, comfortable accommodations — that's what we're trying to provide, so I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the feedback and I hope you'll visit us again soon!

TIll then,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Old fashioned motel with dirty carpet and poor service.
Breakfast was served in crowded place wih lobby; menu was really poor .
Romm was old date and there was no elevator in use.
Complete absence of security on premise.

Room Tip: Do not visit this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We work very hard to provide a safe and secure environment for our customers, so I'm sorry that you felt as if our security was lacking. In fact, we have nightly security patrols that make sure all of our buildings are safe and secure. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and hope your next trip to Alaska is more pleasant.

All the best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms in the main building are fine, as is the breakfast. However, you will be dissapointed if you are in the "original building" or what they call "the suites" in the Chandler Inn. No comparison. Staff is great.

Room Tip: The rating is for a room in the main building. Anywhere else would be way below average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SdPetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and breakfast, but disappointed that you weren't satisfied with your room in the Chandler Inn. Although the Inn is a lot older than our main building, we work hard to make it as clean and comfortable as can be. Thank you for the feedback and we hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to Alaska.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
3.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#43 of 74 in Anchorage
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inlet Tower  Hotel & Suites
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
#49 of 74 in Anchorage
578 reviews
16.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown
3.5 mi away
Dimond Center Hotel
Dimond Center Hotel
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
469 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $57 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing