We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Be sure to get a room in the main building.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puffin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puffin Inn
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
SD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be sure to get a room in the main building.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms in the main building are fine, as is the breakfast. However, you will be dissapointed if you are in the "original building" or what they call "the suites" in the Chandler Inn. No comparison. Staff is great.

Room Tip: The rating is for a room in the main building. Anywhere else would be way below average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SdPetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and breakfast, but disappointed that you weren't satisfied with your room in the Chandler Inn. Although the Inn is a lot older than our main building, we work hard to make it as clean and comfortable as can be. Thank you for the feedback and we hope you'll visit us again on your next trip to Alaska.

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    85
    65
    39
    53
See reviews for
86
80
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's not hard to find a lot of good things to say about this hotel; good location close to airport but not too close, restaurants all around, large rooms, nice TV, easy parking, good breakfast, nice lobby & fountain... But a few flaws mess things up:
On arrival a very pretty and sweet young blond with too much eye makeup at the reception desk check us in efficiently, but then the room key didn't work. So family stood in the rain with our luggage outside the building door while I went back and got the key-card re-written. Then the room smelled like smoke. Even the hallways smelled. We stayed in a separate building from the main hotel, on the second floor, and there's no elevator, just a narrow stair. That wasn't a problem, but it would have been nice if they'd spent the time to clean the smoke out of our non-smoking room.
The wifi was slow but adequate for emails and browsing.
The room had a nice dormer window with blinds. The bathtub had jets. No bubbles, just jets. Still, that was nice. Also it was big and deep.
Good big TV not set to hotel mode, so I could plug an hdmi cable in and use my laptop to watch a movie. Nice.
I'd love to give this hotel a higher rating. I'd stay here again, as the price was the lowest I found for a well rated hotel. but the smell of smoke was a deal buster for my wife.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in the main part of the hotel are kept better and smoke free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I'm glad that you loved a lot of things about our hotel, but very disappointed to hear that you thought your room smelled like smoke. I will make sure that our housekeeping staff checks through the rooms to make sure that they are all smelling fresh. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you come visit us again on your next trip to Alaska.

All the best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The place was nicely kept and the room was large. We travel with pets and the room did not smell bad like pet rooms most often do. I will say the curtains were filled with cob webs and the windows were in need of cleaning around the bases as though the maids never open the curtains. It really was a minor thing, though. The customer service and location were excellent. We have a view of beach and ocean. Even though we were on Hwy 101, it was still very quiet. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south side and it was quiet and a nice view. I think I would try to stay upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkhoekst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your pet friendly room! Customer feedback is very important to us, so I definitely plan on speaking with our cleaning staff about the curtains. Thank you for the feedback and if you ever visit Alaska again, give us a call!

Cheers,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My name is Terry Thomas, born in Fairbanks in 1940 and now working in New Jersey. The Puffin Inn is my home away from home when in Anchorage so when my wife and I brought our family (kids, grandchildren, and and a niece...16 in all) to Alaska for an extended RV trip we had to start and finish at the Puffin. It was just great. The staff worked with us when problems arose and offered assistance when we needed it. Chico, in spite of being the "boss", always found time for a chat, act as our personal guide and, when possible, driver. I'll be back, Chico. You can count on it. Your place reflects the Alaskan hospitality I grew up with in Fairbanks in the '40s & '50s.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryLThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I'm so excited that you had the opportunity to return home to Alaska with your family, Terry! A lot has changed since you were a kid, but Alaska is still a wonderful place to live filled with tons of friendly people. It's great that you felt our hospitality! Thank you for the review and I hope to see you on your next trip back home!

Sincerely,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Quickly helped get my reservation and walked me through all room options. Great value- room sleeps 3 comfortably for $169/night (Aug). Room is clean. GM upgraded us just because he had available room.
Centrally located. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradingken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Great location, great value, comfortable accommodations — that's what we're going for, so it's good to hear that we're hitting the nail on the head. Thank you for the rave review and I hope you stay with us again!

Till then,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Puffin Inn the last night of our Alaskan vacation - they allowed us to check in a few hours early AND check out later than normal at no extra charge. We stayed in the main building on the 3rd floor where the rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. Each room had a small refrigerator and a microwave.

There is a shuttle for the airport (no charge) which you need to sign up for, but not problems getting it when we needed it. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The hotel is ~10 min ride from the downtown area, but has some good local restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zojmn151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Friendly staff, comfortable accommodations, great service — that's what we're going for, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on Yelp! Next time you visit Alaska, stop in and say hello!

All the best,
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in the main buiding of this hotel and it was clean and in good repair. I was told by friends that recently stayed here to stay only in the main building, not the other two buildings, which were considerably less desirable. Chico, the manager, is the best part of this hotel. He definitely knows what customer service is! He bent over backwards to accommodate us and made our short stay in Anchorage very pleasant. The bed was confortable, but softer than we like (we like a really firm bed). The worst we can say is that the only fruit available at the breakfast we canned ,in syrup--no fresh fruit. We'd stay here again as long as Chico is in charge.

Room Tip: We had a "single" room--one double or queen bed, but a very nice room with plenty of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elledog1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We work so hard to provide all of our customers with a great experience, so I know Chico is going to be so excited to hear your compliments! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in Anchorage. Next time you're in town, make sure to let us know.

Cheers:
Sonja, Puffin Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.1 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#52 of 72 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#42 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Property: Puffin Inn
Address: 4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing