We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arctic Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arctic Fox Inn
Ranked #4 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What A Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were so pleased that our agent recommended and booked this for us. As a base in Anchorage it was excellent. Carol the host could not have been friendlier, she went out of her way to help and nothing was too much trouble, and the breakfasts are excellent. There were 6 of us and we used it as a base when going to Katmai , Denali and then around Anchorage. For our first 2 nights we in standard room not apartment. This was very comfortable and cozy and perfectly fine. The rest of the time we had a single apartment that was great, the other 4 stayed in a double apartment throughout. The apartments are great value, well appointed, comfortable and roomy. t's not in a residential part of town, but easy walking distance from the main shopping area with its good restaurants. I would strongly recommend this as a base while in Anchorage

Room Tip: Book an apartment, it is not much expensive and has lots of room and great facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Having the six of you from England was a delight. We, too, are happy that your agent booked you with us at the Arctic Fox Inn. Thank you for being such fun guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    58
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
64
105
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! The place has fairly recently undergone some updates, and while we were there they were working on new bathrooms in bedrooms on the main floor. We got a peak in one of the newly updated rooms and it looked fantastic.
While our room hadn't been "updated" it was so cute and bright. We stayed in the top floor (number 5, I think) with huge picture window views of the historic railroad track, the inlet, and even Mt. McKinley (Denali)! The suite was well appointed with wine glasses and cookware - we were even able to bake. Carol, the host/manager, was very attentive and kind. She is more than happy to help with any questions, and her breakfasts are delicious! If you have any food allergies, just let her know ahead of time (perhaps when you book) and she's happy to help. She is gluten-free herself, so her GF muffins were delectable!
We truly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back. I HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone traveling through Anchorage!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Rita, We certainly enjoyed having the two of you here for a short stay at the Arctic Fox Inn. You were both so fun and energetic. Know that we would love to have you stop back in should you find that Anchorage is in your future travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Carol was a superb host, even offering us her spare bear spray when we went off trekking in the woods! Really happy we stayed here. Reasonably central location. Good breakfasts and comfortable sitting room with nice books & music. Great value, thanks Carol!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravellerAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It was a delight having the two of you with us for several days. You brought such a wonderful energy to our Inn. Thank you for including us in your extended vacation. Happy travels to you as you continue on your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in apt 2, 2 beds apt with full kitchen and lounge. We were 2 couples and it worked great. Location was good, easy walking to everywhere. Staff were wonderful, friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful, the manager printed out our flight tickets for us. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful. It's in the more industrial area, but lovely decking - we didnt get the weather to sit outside unfortunately. Tip: if self catering, bring food as nearest shop a long way away! Would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We loved having the four of you visit us from England. You added that English flair that is so enjoyable. Thank you for making Arctic Fox one of your stops while here in Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I would stay here again. We had an apartment with two bedrooms and were able to split the cost with another couple. It was clean with new furniture and fluffy beds. Good breakfast buffet. You need to be able to climb some stairs for the top apartment. Love the decks outside. The man on the phone was patient with me, when I had to change my reservation twice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555666Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed the two bedroom, two bath apartment with your friends. That unit, as you know, has recently been remodeled. It does make for a great space to enjoy time with friends or family in your own spot. Thank you for including us in your plans here in Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My stay at Arctic Fox Inn this summer was even better than I remember from earlier years. Same delicious breakfasts, same cordial and well-informed service, same reasonable rates, and an updated decor! With its great location and helpful staff, this is a wonderful place to stay in Anchorage in the summer when regular hotel rates are astronomical. Perched at the edge of a coastal bluff, the inn has beautiful views of the water and mountains on its backside. Don't let the asphalt and offbeat location on its frontside dissuade you. You won't be disappointed with staying here! I live in a remote area of Alaska and have stayed at this inn several times over the years, and have always had a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArcticAntares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We truly enjoy having the "locals" come back to visit whenever a visit to Anchorage is in order. Thank you for stopping in to see us once again. You are always more than welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very reasonably priced. Very clean room. My room had a dedicated bathroom but it was in the hallway. This was clearly explained to me before arriving and I had no problem with it. The common areas were bright and charming. Breakfast was very good. Staff could not have been more accommodating with providing a to-go breakfast on the day I had to leave for a very early flightseeing trip. I also needed some flexibility in my booking for one of the nights and they were extremely nice about this. I would recommend them to anyone. (Earlier in my visit I had a sketchy experience at another bed and breakfast with a crazy cat lady so this experience was extra appreciated.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWhitcombReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We enjoyed having you here with us at the Arctic Fox Inn. Know that all the guests who stay with us leave a part of themselves with us, and we cherish those memories. Maybe one day you will get to return to Anchorage. Please come visit us if your travels bring your our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Fox Inn

Property: Arctic Fox Inn
Address: 327 East Second Court, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arctic Fox Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the edge of downtown Anchorage overlooking the Cook Inlet, AK Railroad train depot, Ship Creek (urban salmon fishing!), Historic Government Hill, and one of the only water towers in Alaska. The call of seagulls and a light, salty breeze will remind guests that they're near the ocean, while distant train whistles and the sound of bush planes pay homage to The Last Frontier. Our multiple decks and outdoor seating areas are a great place to relax with your group and enjoy all the perks of being so close to the city and wilderness, which means you can simultaneously take in views of the city and uninhabited mountain ranges.We offer a range of upscale room options, from private rooms with a shared bath to complete two bedroom suites with living area, kitchen & fireplace. All of the beds feature pillow top mattresses with quality linens and luxurious down duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arctic Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arctic Fox Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing