We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Cozy”
Review of Arctic Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arctic Fox Inn
Ranked #3 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful and Cozy”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! The place has fairly recently undergone some updates, and while we were there they were working on new bathrooms in bedrooms on the main floor. We got a peak in one of the newly updated rooms and it looked fantastic.
While our room hadn't been "updated" it was so cute and bright. We stayed in the top floor (number 5, I think) with huge picture window views of the historic railroad track, the inlet, and even Mt. McKinley (Denali)! The suite was well appointed with wine glasses and cookware - we were even able to bake. Carol, the host/manager, was very attentive and kind. She is more than happy to help with any questions, and her breakfasts are delicious! If you have any food allergies, just let her know ahead of time (perhaps when you book) and she's happy to help. She is gluten-free herself, so her GF muffins were delectable!
We truly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back. I HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone traveling through Anchorage!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Rita, We certainly enjoyed having the two of you here for a short stay at the Arctic Fox Inn. You were both so fun and energetic. Know that we would love to have you stop back in should you find that Anchorage is in your future travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    61
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
67
113
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Carol was a superb host, even offering us her spare bear spray when we went off trekking in the woods! Really happy we stayed here. Reasonably central location. Good breakfasts and comfortable sitting room with nice books & music. Great value, thanks Carol!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravellerAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It was a delight having the two of you with us for several days. You brought such a wonderful energy to our Inn. Thank you for including us in your extended vacation. Happy travels to you as you continue on your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in apt 2, 2 beds apt with full kitchen and lounge. We were 2 couples and it worked great. Location was good, easy walking to everywhere. Staff were wonderful, friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful, the manager printed out our flight tickets for us. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful. It's in the more industrial area, but lovely decking - we didnt get the weather to sit outside unfortunately. Tip: if self catering, bring food as nearest shop a long way away! Would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We loved having the four of you visit us from England. You added that English flair that is so enjoyable. Thank you for making Arctic Fox one of your stops while here in Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I would stay here again. We had an apartment with two bedrooms and were able to split the cost with another couple. It was clean with new furniture and fluffy beds. Good breakfast buffet. You need to be able to climb some stairs for the top apartment. Love the decks outside. The man on the phone was patient with me, when I had to change my reservation twice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555666Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed the two bedroom, two bath apartment with your friends. That unit, as you know, has recently been remodeled. It does make for a great space to enjoy time with friends or family in your own spot. Thank you for including us in your plans here in Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My stay at Arctic Fox Inn this summer was even better than I remember from earlier years. Same delicious breakfasts, same cordial and well-informed service, same reasonable rates, and an updated decor! With its great location and helpful staff, this is a wonderful place to stay in Anchorage in the summer when regular hotel rates are astronomical. Perched at the edge of a coastal bluff, the inn has beautiful views of the water and mountains on its backside. Don't let the asphalt and offbeat location on its frontside dissuade you. You won't be disappointed with staying here! I live in a remote area of Alaska and have stayed at this inn several times over the years, and have always had a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArcticAntares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We truly enjoy having the "locals" come back to visit whenever a visit to Anchorage is in order. Thank you for stopping in to see us once again. You are always more than welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very reasonably priced. Very clean room. My room had a dedicated bathroom but it was in the hallway. This was clearly explained to me before arriving and I had no problem with it. The common areas were bright and charming. Breakfast was very good. Staff could not have been more accommodating with providing a to-go breakfast on the day I had to leave for a very early flightseeing trip. I also needed some flexibility in my booking for one of the nights and they were extremely nice about this. I would recommend them to anyone. (Earlier in my visit I had a sketchy experience at another bed and breakfast with a crazy cat lady so this experience was extra appreciated.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWhitcombReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We enjoyed having you here with us at the Arctic Fox Inn. Know that all the guests who stay with us leave a part of themselves with us, and we cherish those memories. Maybe one day you will get to return to Anchorage. Please come visit us if your travels bring your our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived during a week of rain to a well appointed B&B. Even though we were late after 10pm, Carol showed us to our en-suite room. We had an early fishing trip, so wolfed down the wonderful breakfast. Our trip was supposed to end at 8:30 but we didn't arrive back until 11! Using the code we entered our lovely room, and left early again! for our train ride. Both days Carol had breakfast and a cab ready for us. Our only regret is we spent so little time in this oasis!

Room Tip: GPS in van couldn't locate B&B, though cabs know location! Best idea is to mention Archdioc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katecec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are so glad that your enjoyed our inn as a little oasis in your travels. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Even though you were in and out, we certainly remember your visit. We hope that we will see you again on a return trip to our great state of Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,780 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,493 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
375 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Fox Inn

Property: Arctic Fox Inn
Address: 327 East Second Court, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arctic Fox Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the edge of downtown Anchorage overlooking the Cook Inlet, AK Railroad train depot, Ship Creek (urban salmon fishing!), Historic Government Hill, and one of the only water towers in Alaska. The call of seagulls and a light, salty breeze will remind guests that they're near the ocean, while distant train whistles and the sound of bush planes pay homage to The Last Frontier. Our multiple decks and outdoor seating areas are a great place to relax with your group and enjoy all the perks of being so close to the city and wilderness, which means you can simultaneously take in views of the city and uninhabited mountain ranges.We offer a range of upscale room options, from private rooms with a shared bath to complete two bedroom suites with living area, kitchen & fireplace. All of the beds feature pillow top mattresses with quality linens and luxurious down duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arctic Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arctic Fox Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing