We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice downtown inn”
Review of Arctic Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arctic Fox Inn
Ranked #4 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A nice downtown inn”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very convenient to the shops and museum in downtown. Walking distance to the Alaska Railroad. Friendly and gracious hosts. Comfortable common area. Great breakfast and on days we left early, they prepared a nice brown bag to take with us. Would stay here again the next time we're in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahawus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    63
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
68
118
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McArthur, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not fancy, but clean, comfortable, conveniently located, excellent breakfast. We stayed here several nights in early July, 2012, as we made several lengthy day trips from Anchorage. We had an early a.m. flight to Katmai NP and Judy prepared us a nice take-along breakfast. Our two-night trip out to the Pribilofs was cancelled because of weather, leaving us without a place to stay. Allan and Larry worked and came up with a room for us at their other facility (A Wildflower Inn), a more expensive room that they rented us for the same price we had been paying at the Arctic Fox. They did not have to do this and it is indicative of the kind of service these hosts offer. Excellent hot breakfast at the Wildflower Inn as well.

A previous review mentioned the location. Yes, the Arctic Fox is downtown, but on a side street with little traffic. The neighborhood did not seem dangerous or threatening to us. The gulls do call throughout the more or less non-existent night, but hey, it's Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

For a last minute stay we did not have much of an option but the location was horrible! It was not in a great part of town & homeless or street people lingered around the area. Birds squawked all day & most of the night. The breakfast was average. Mainly bagels, toast, and fruit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiecat1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Arctic Fox Inn is tucked away in downtown Anchorage. It is an easy walk to the shops and dining. The accomodations are cozy, quaint, clean and comfy. The breakfast was delicious, and there was always fresh coffee available. For the location and price you could not ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch0pperd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here on June 23 and 29th, 2012. We were greeted by a very nice young man, Justin, who recommended a really great place to eat, Humpy's. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. Rick is a wonderul cook! Since we were leaving in the middle of the night our last night, they even packed a "to go" breakfast for us. I would highly recommend The Artic Fox.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very nice and helpful staff, close to everything downtown, clean room but many broken, old furniture. Unit had a greasy food smell. The walls were so thin we could hear the people in the next unit talking while their kid ran through their unit. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kediq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

walking distance from down town Anchorage, very clean , helpful staff , friendly owner and good quality guests. Will stay again there if I can get the chance to go back to Anchorage.

Room Tip: I took the Master Bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,826 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,542 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#27 of 73 in Anchorage
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
461 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Fox Inn

Property: Arctic Fox Inn
Address: 327 East Second Court, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arctic Fox Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the edge of downtown Anchorage overlooking the Cook Inlet, AK Railroad train depot, Ship Creek (urban salmon fishing!), Historic Government Hill, and one of the only water towers in Alaska. The call of seagulls and a light, salty breeze will remind guests that they're near the ocean, while distant train whistles and the sound of bush planes pay homage to The Last Frontier. Our multiple decks and outdoor seating areas are a great place to relax with your group and enjoy all the perks of being so close to the city and wilderness, which means you can simultaneously take in views of the city and uninhabited mountain ranges.We offer a range of upscale room options, from private rooms with a shared bath to complete two bedroom suites with living area, kitchen & fireplace. All of the beds feature pillow top mattresses with quality linens and luxurious down duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Arctic Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arctic Fox Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing