We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre place, good staff”
Review of Arctic Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arctic Fox Inn
Ranked #3 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very nice and helpful staff, close to everything downtown, clean room but many broken, old furniture. Unit had a greasy food smell. The walls were so thin we could hear the people in the next unit talking while their kid ran through their unit. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kediq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 323 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

walking distance from down town Anchorage, very clean , helpful staff , friendly owner and good quality guests. Will stay again there if I can get the chance to go back to Anchorage.

Room Tip: I took the Master Bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Tucked away, but an easy 10-15min walk to touristy stuff in downtown anchorage.
Dont be fooled by the ugly exterior. Its extremely comfortable inside!
Very comfy couches chairs, big windows, many books to read, lovely patio with view of Mts.

Fantastic breakfast: eggs, juices, variety of breads, bagels, many fruits, coffee, teas, yogurts, cereals. One day there was even french toast! The managers and their staff are fantastic, friendly knowledgeable and very helpful. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!
Rooms and bathrooms are SPOTLESS.

Nicer and way cheaper than the big hotels in the vicinity: 99-130$ a night for Arctic Fox Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwoodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Tucked away and our taxi found it tricky to find but it is only 15 minutes from center. It was a comfortable B&B we used prior to our climb on Denali. We used it pre and post trip as I believe its one of Mountain Trips favourites.
Comfortable rooms, a splendid deck/balcony to enjoy coffee and a very family style living room for breakfast. The people running the place were very pleasant. The place hardly rocked but it was certainly up to the job. Helpful staff pointed us in the right direction for restaurants but I'm not sure they new the recommendations very well as I suspect they were probably more used to a coffee shops than a lively place to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illimani21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

we stayed one night in transit and then three nights after our "road trip". We had a room with a bathroom shared with Judy the Manager but this was no problem whatsoever as Judy was always up early. The room was great although small but with a big communal lounge you could sit in and watch TV or chat to other guests we only used our room for sleeping. What we love about staying in these B and B's and Inns is mixing with other guests. The breakfasts were ample and catered for every taste - plenty of fresh fruit and juice, toast, yoghurt, cereal and a cooked dish. Hot drinks were available to make yourself after a day out.
The location was great, when we handed our rental car in we got on the bus but downtown was within easy walking distance.
Judy and Denise were wonderful and interested in what we were doing or were we were going.
I noticed other guests leaving bulky luggage while they were away doing other things.
I Would highly recommend as a reasonably priced, friendly, quiet, clean and well located place to stay. I couldn't understand other reviews saying the decor needed updating.

Room Tip: Dont be put off sharing a bathroom if you want a cheaper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We found Arctic Fox very comfortable and friendly. Staff were most helpful, they provided a delicious gluten Free breakfast with ease. The living room is spacious and comfortable, bedrooms smaller but comfortable. The accommodation is well located and a great value for money option .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rggibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed at the Artic Fox for 5 nights over a period of 3 weeks in between touring around Alaska.Judy the host was there to welcome me on my first day of arrival and also packed me a wholesome to go breakfast for 4 of those days as I was always away before breakfast.The other members of the staff that I bumped into were also friendley and helpful .Judy was always ready to hear what I had done that day.They are also obliging in leaving ones luggage if you are overnight on a backpack.Procedures are in place for late arrivals which work well and if need be a phone is on the kitchen table where one can ring for assistance if by chance the host is absent.
Hosts are more than willing to share a meal and a talk with you.
My room with bathroom was satisfactory It was clean I had hot water.The bed I found comfortable .I had no problem once the curtains where closed but then I was there August/September 2011.
It is within working distance of the train station and there is a hill but if you go down another block the hill is not so bad.You can also walk under a covered walkway and that is steps and a bit of an incline when coming up.
You can hear the trains of a night but that did not bother me.
Previous reviewers state that the rooms need to be updated frankly I did not pay to much attention to decor I needed a comfortable , bed bugs don't bite , feel safe place to sleep and I found that at Artic Fox.

I found the owners more than obliging even before I left Australia with my various questions on tours available in Alaska.

It is also within walking distance of the shops,eateries and harbour.You are not close to a grocery store for this you need a taxi ,although you can walk as I did and have a great hamburger at the hamburger place on the way home.

There is ample parking if you are driving( I was not so walked everywhere).

Based on my experience I can recommend this B &B

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KeenTraveller12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,898 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
291 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
613 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arctic Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Fox Inn

Address: 327 East Second Court, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $139 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arctic Fox Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the edge of downtown Anchorage overlooking the Cook Inlet, AK Railroad train depot, Ship Creek (urban salmon fishing!), Historic Government Hill, and one of the only water towers in Alaska. The call of seagulls and a light, salty breeze will remind guests that they're near the ocean, while distant train whistles and the sound of bush planes pay homage to The Last Frontier. Our multiple decks and outdoor seating areas are a great place to relax with your group and enjoy all the perks of being so close to the city and wilderness, which means you can simultaneously take in views of the city and uninhabited mountain ranges.We offer a range of upscale room options, from private rooms with a shared bath to complete two bedroom suites with living area, kitchen & fireplace. All of the beds feature pillow top mattresses with quality linens and luxurious down duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Arctic Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arctic Fox Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing