We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Uptown Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchorage Uptown Suites
Ranked #50 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice new modern apartment style accommodation,all very clean and comfortable with all amenities one could require.Friendly reception.Only negative might be for people with problems with stairs.We were on the 3rd floor and had to lug our suitcases up there.Outside parking for our hire car which did not feel very safe,but we had no problems.I do think one needs a car to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
15
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Uptown Suites and really enjoyed it. The suites are really spacious with full kitchens and it would be a great place to stay for a longer term rental as well. There was free secure off street parking, free wifi and it is in a convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ETSinTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We got into town with no reservations and found that our favorite b n b was booked solid. They suggested this hotel. The woman at the hotel gave us a great rate so we took it. The hotel is within four blocks from downtown so it's a pleasant walk to stores, restaurants, and the museum. We really felt at home. We had a large living room, a nice balcony, and a good-sized kitchen. After we started our laundry in the coin op laundry room on the first floor for guests to use, we drove to Carr's (Safeway) and picked up some food items. Then we returned to our suite to enjoy a home-cooked meal, a cool beer, and a football game on the livingroom tv. It was a wonderful way to relax and recuperate after several weeks on the road. The wifi router was just outside the door so the signal was strong. The bed was soft. Electrical outlets were plentiful for our gadgets. My only complaint is the bathroom towels are a tad wimpy, but that's about it. Absolutely no bugs, in contrast to the one reviewer. The folks at the front desk were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ended up here one night paid by B&B which overbooked. The property is more like a small apartment complex than hotel and is walking distance to downtown; very nice 2nd floor one bedroom with small balcony. Complimentary WiFi that worked well. Limited parking but we had no issues. Only downside was full-size bed and we're used to king size. Front desk very helpful in navigating area with suggestions on places to go eat, explore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was very pleased with this place up until last day! Nice appartment, close to downtown, clean, nice furnishing, etc.
I stayed there 3 nights. The last night I decided to watch some tv on the couch and fall asleep. I waked up a few hours later with at least 30 bed bugs bite over my arms and chest.
During the check out I told them about this problem and they didn't offer ANYTHING!!!! And when I say anything I am not expecting them to give me my money back, I am talking about a small gesture! Not even ointment for the bites or an allergy pill, nor a discount, NOTHING AT ALL!!!! The lady on the reception told me: I'll let the manager know. THAT WAS ALL!!!!
In conclusion: nice place but with BED BUGS!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hormiguita-viajera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageUptownSuite, Manager at Anchorage Uptown Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Regarding your stay with us, we would like to address the problems you had encountered. We are glad that you enjoyed our furnished kitchen suites and location of our hotel, but we would like to add our input regarding your bug bites.

The morning of your check out you and the General Manager spoke for quite some time, and even in German - realizing you could both speak the language. You had asked her to leave your luggage here in our hotel while you went about your day and to pick it up later that night right before your flight. We had no problems accommodating that. Upon your return to get your luggage that night is when you informed the night manager about bites you had on your arms and chest. You said that you had fallen asleep on the couch the previous night and woke up to the bites. This was not mentioned to the General Manager during your conversation upon check out that morning.

As soon as the General Manager was informed of this she had our maintenance personnel in the room to address this matter - however, no bed bugs were discovered in the couch or bedding in the room after a proper search/cleaning. We apologize for this inconvenience you experienced during your trip to Alaska, but we are not sure where the source of the bites came from.

Before your stay with us we had a company occupying all of our kitchen suites for three months, including the room you rented, and other nightly rentals before and after your stay, and have had no similar complaints. We take pride in keeping our rooms clean for our nightly and long-term rentals and have never experienced an issue with bed bugs before. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences and hope you would consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just got back from Alaska a week ago. The location is in a great spot, walking distance to all the shops. The rooms were clean and there was a kitchen which was handy. The breakfast was adequate to last to lunch. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed a week...great accommodations. Found this place after an unsuitable booking elsewhere, and thank goodness they had a room!! Very convenient to downtown Anchorage, two blocks to the train station. Clean, service and towels daily. Nice kitchen--big TV, clean bathroom. All staff were very welcoming and friendly, nice conversations and chats with all. Ilona is very helpful. Clean and safe, nice furnished apartment at a very reasonable price in downtown. Had a wonderful visit to a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#37 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#25 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#19 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
#52 of 71 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#24 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Uptown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Uptown Suites

Property: Anchorage Uptown Suites
Address: 234 E 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2402
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the personal convenience of homeEnjoy our friendly service and quality single or double occupancy rooms. We have 19 rooms, 16 of which have full kitchens. All rooms offer plenty of space for tranquility and relaxation. There is even an exquisite suite available at The Anchorage Uptown Suites & Condominium with a full jacuzzi and a view of the Cook Bay. Our hotel is conveniently located close to all the attractions in Anchorage, AK. If you are visiting for business or leisure, staying at our clean and comfortable accommodation at reasonable room rates will delight you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Uptown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Uptown Hotel
Uptown Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing