We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice hotel near downtown Anchorage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dimond Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dimond Center Hotel
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel near downtown Anchorage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

While traveling back and forth from Wasilla to Homer for a fishing trip we booked and stayed at the Dimond Center Hotel in Anchorage for one night. Our booking was made on line and everything went smoothly. The staff was very pleasant. Our room was very large with a huge jacuzzi in it plus coffee and micro wave. Great bed and TV. The decor was purely Alaskan throughout the hotel. The lounge was okay but nothing special. Simple but good bar food. Of course they had Alaskan beers. The hotel is in a business area in the Dimond Center, not much of a view except for the city. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room, no noise from above. We were on the second floor but didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    127
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
92
141
32
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after a very long trip from Florida. We got in late but the bar was still open and served excellent food. We thought our room was great. It was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly. They have a decent free breakfast in the morning and the shuttle took us to pick up our rental car. We are returning next summer and will definitely stay here before we start our road trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pakrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel has very nice rooms and large bathrooms. We stayed two seperate times in our recent trip to Alaska and both times were very good. The included breakfast was also good. I have no concern at all about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mljax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've stayed here before and liked it. Now, DCH has removed the AUX function from every tv to ensure that if you don't want only basic cable (they have no movie channels) you will have to pay for their movies. In other words, you cannot plug in your little dvd player so your kids can relax with a favorite movie. You can, however, pay additional to order their odd selection of PPV movies. The front desk staff explained that it is “too complicated to change anything on the tv.” Uh...really? She referred me to the guest services manager. I left two phone messages for this person, three days apart, the last one including the information that my VISA card bill listed a higher charge from DCH than was printed on the receipt which I had in my hand. I left both my home & cell numbers. No response!!
In addition, here were several small items on the floors next to the beds--two buttons, an old crumpled receipt, crumbs, and a hair band, making me wonder about the cleanliness of the room. My husband went over to the lounge to buy an expensive piece of cheesecake and brought it back to the room--it was still frozen, because it was from Costco. The maid opened the door at 9am without knocking, which was creepy. Great tubs and we liked the location, but this money-grubbing tv policy is a deal-breaker for us, especially as our kids relax in a strange room by watching their current favorite, and are able then to go to sleep; and getting zero response on my concerns, particularly the financial one, has soured my previously much more positive view of this hotel. When winter comes and tourists leave, Alaskans like us will make another choice when we travel to Anchorage, so I think the management is being short-sighted as well as unresponsive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DynamicDuo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Boutique style hotel! Awesome bathrooms nice view of the mountains , very centrally located to both downtown and airport ! Lots of good restaurants around here .... Breakfast was a lil disappointing , but that seems to be the case everywhere :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent two nights here after a cruise. It is very convenient to shopping as well as restaurants. The breakfast was very good for a hotel breakfast and had plenty of variety. As has been mentioned before the bath tub was an awesome treat and the bubble bath being provided was a bonus! If we get the opporunity to go to Anchorage again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Overall, the hotel is great value for the dollar considering that Anchorage is not cheap!!! The bathtubs are super comfy, huge!!!! I soaked virtually everyday after hiking. The rooms are nicely decorated, clean, large with a good layout. Did not care for the cheap covers on the beds but that is incidental. The breakfasts are decent and hearty but not for those watching what they eat! The service was good but not exceptional; the front desk, though helpful, could not offer information about rentals, sites to see, etc. Would stay again once I know Anchorage better. It is right at a local bus station/terminal that can transport you downtown cheap and quick. There is no 24 restaurant onsite but a mall is nearby [mall food, yuck!!]. Check out the area's organic coffeehouse just north across Dimond Blvd.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimond Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimond Center Hotel

Property: Dimond Center Hotel
Address: 700 E Dimond Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99515
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimond Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Dimond Center Hotel was designed with your comfort and convenience in mind. Located in the heart of Alaska’s largest shopping district, 10 minutes from Ted Stevens International Airport, and only 15 minutes from downtown, no other hotel puts you next door to all that Anchorage has to offer! Our spacious guest rooms offer a unique experience of peace and relaxation; all featuring a 72” soaking tub, 42” flat screen TV, and the Ultimate Dream Bed by Serta. Room amenities include a mini-fridge, microwave, the Keurig coffee maker, plush bath robes and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dimond Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimond Hotel Anchorage
Dimond Center Anchorage
Hotel Dimond Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing