We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convienient for Rail Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
NE Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Convienient for Rail Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed her after we turned in our motorhome rental before our rail tour, and then again after the tour. They were very friendly and helpful and agreed to store our luggage. It was so nice not having to drag it with us on the train. The rooms are apartment sized and dated, but functional. As others have siad, no air condidtioning, but they did have a fan, which we used one night. So easy to get to and from the train. Slso they are within walking distance of many restraurants and activities. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Noise level will beloud if you are on the rail side and have the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalebonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    163
    70
    20
    10
See reviews for
68
172
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

The location behind the train station is very convenient. We arrived quite late-- midnight-- and had to be at the train depot at 5:45am to board the train to Seward. It was clean enough-- not immaculate, but fine. The front desk attendant, Julia, was VERY accommodating. She brought us extra sheets and towels for our children right away, and brought a bag to our room filled with snacks and drinks (the continental breakfast) very early in the morning for us. Thank you, Julia.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twryan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited in July Anchorage was a little warm so our windows were always opened. We were street side and it was noisy.. Loud muffler cars, people walking the streets, trash pick up day was the best.. 7:30am.. And birds.. I don't know if they were mating or fighting..
This hotel has no common space so your either in your room or leaving the hotel just to get out..
Breakfast was delivered to your door... Not fancy room service but a bag.. The same thing every day.. Bagel,cream cheese,granola bar fruit drink and oatmeal.
I would not recommend this hotel for more than a one day stay. I would recommend if you will be here for more than a couple days to find a hotel with better amenities and Common spaces.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Haup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived at the train station with lots of luggage. I was told the hotel was right across the road & it is but it is straight up a steep hill across the road. So we knew we needed help & called the hotel for a shuttle & they tell us they don't have one. There is a shuttle outside the train station that offered to take us for $10 per person which most of the time I would say isn't bad but we could see the hotel and didn't see paying $30 just to take us to the top of the hill. Just so happens we arrived at the end of the summer solstice celebration and they had the roads & side walks blocked and by the time we finally got all of our luggage up the big hill we had to wait till they moved all the beer kegs and whatever else they had. We finally get to the hotel and they ask us if we were the ones that called about 30 minutes ago from the train station. So I say yes and my Mom is having a hard time breathing and we ask for water and they tell us there will be glasses in our room. I am starting to get very upset and my Mom tells them how unhappy we are with there being no shuttle, no help & we can't get water. They did apologize and hurried to give us a room key so my Mom could go get water & they did upgrade us to a suite that was really nice for the most part. They have no air conditioning which most hotels don't in Alaska but we did actually need it....we opened all the windows to cool the room down but we couldn't leave them open because of the train noise. I wish I would have taken pics of our room but with all the aggravation I forgot. We would stay here again if we needed to but would prefer a hotel with a shuttle. I think they could work on some of the customer service things like some water in the check in area because there is no lobby or at least I didn't see one. Now the lady in the morning was on top of everything she went above and beyond helping us with our luggage but I forgot her name.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojoanddash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great location, spacious suite and helpful staff. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown attractions, restaurants plus nature trails and military installations. Rooms were clean, beds comfy and small kitchenette stocked and great for extended stays. Front desk, although not open all the time, was accommodating and had great cookies.

Although my room was in the back facing the train depot, I had no problems with noise. You did hear hear ship horns every once in a while but did not interrupt my sleep.

My only complaint was the location of the front desk which is not at ground level. Be prepared to go down a short flight of stairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trapper Creek, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a great Alaskan-flavored find in the heart of Anchorage--spacious. clean, attractive, and comfortable--in sharp contrast to the other generic hotels that can be found any where, any time. The Grand appears to be a converted apartment building, and inside it is a delight. The standard room we had was three rooms complete with a huge window sporting a nice view overlooking the railroad station, mountains, and the inlet. The accommodations included a well-equiped kitchen, two TV's (pre-flat screen models), and a renovated bathroom. Convenient parking in a close lot. There are, however, a few reasons the Grand does not deserve a 5 star rating. Breakfast is delivered, but it is minimal with packaged granola bars and instant oatmeal. The elevator is very slow and old fashioned: be prepared to take your time going up and down. The staff appeared to be stretched thin at least while we were they, but they were friendly and efficient. I highly recommend the hotel especially if you are staying several nights.

Room Tip: Be sure and as for a room with a view on the 4th or 5th floor facing the railroad station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nothing more to ask for, really. Generally had a great experience.

When we pulled up to the outside, I said to my husband: Wow. Not impressed. But then we checked and and were really delighted by our room. Lots of space. Fully functional kitchen. Helpful reception desk. Apples and cookies. Free wifi. Free breakfast (and enough food for snack) for us-- we aren't picky eaters. We didn't love the oatmeal (although we love oatmeal, didn't love this brand, but there was enough other food to eat well). Free coffee. Good location.

Travelling with 2 adults and 2 kids < 6 years. We booked a king suite and used the pullout couch for the kids.

Parking is free and just a few yards away. The hotel is so close to downtown Anchorage sites that we didn't need to drive to them, we just walked to the Anchorage Museum, shopping, etc.

A block from the Coastal Trail and the train station. The train noise did not bother us at all.

We picked this hotel because of the combination of value for money and location, and I'd pick it again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#27 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Property: Anchorage Grand Hotel
Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing