We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, nice suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, nice suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This old, but restored, hotel is a good place to spend a few days while exploring Anchorage. The rooms are suites with kitchen, living, bedroom, and bath, plus a large clothes closet with ironing board, and TVs in two rooms. They deliver a free breakfast (rolls, juice, fruit) to the door upon request the night before. Very comfortable rooms, altho I do think the mattress in our room was ready to be replaced - a bit on the saggy side. Not a fashionable place, but comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    152
    66
    19
    9
See reviews for
65
157
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

OK so the Grand is a little shabby and a little frumpy but give it a chance. You will find it is also roomy, comfortable, accessible, affordable and oh those beds! That was the best night's sleep I had in weeks. The room was very large and furnished with someone's granny's old couch and chairs but there was also a desk, chest of drawers, breakfast table and 2 incredibly comfy double beds.With the free wi-fi I was able to catch up on my email and business before we continued on our way. Conveniently located close to the train station we didn't have to rush the next morning. Although we only made a pot of coffee, the kitchen is fully equipped for cooking full meals. The day clerk was distracted and overworked, but the night clerk was very attentive and helped us with our heavy luggage. It was easy to walk around downtown and from the museum back to the hotel was only about a 15 walk. There was a bit of noise in the halls late that night but not enough to keep me awake for long. I would definitely return to the Anchorage Grand and think it would be particularly good for traveling families.

Room Tip: The photos suggest that some of the rooms have been renovated - that or they are very old photos. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank never2old2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Perhaps not everyone’s cup of tea but it is very affordable for downtown Anchorage. We booked a suite with living room, kitchenette and very nice bedroom for substantially less than the other hotels in the area. The suite was well appointed, immaculately clean, and the bed was very comfortable with luxurious linens. The front desk is staffed around the clock and the staff were terrific. Very helpful in giving us hints on places to eat and attractions in the area to walk to. The hotel is an excellent choice if you’re taking the 6:45am train down to Seward. You just wake up, pick up your picnic lunch outside your door (prepared by the hotel on request the night before), and roll down the walkway to the train station, just a couple of minutes away. Otherwise, the hotel is in easy walking distance to many good restaurants on 4th and 5th Streets and even the Avis Car Rental is a quick walk away. Hotel will also store your excess luggage for however long you need them to at no charge. Would highly recommend this place for a different experience. Oh, there are freshly baked cookies at the front desk and apples for guests each day. How can you argue with that kind of down-home touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

5-10 minute walk (with cases) from convention center where we were dropped off after cruise. Room was 1 bedroom apartment - very spacious with kitchen. Decor a bit dated but still clean & tidy. bed really comfy :-) . Continental breakfast was included - & was good (bagels with Philadelphia, porridge, cereal bar & juice) - plenty to keep you going. Hotel receptionist very helpful - chased up taxi when it hadn't arrived. All in all a great base for our stay I Anchorage

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newportdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is quite well maintained, and I was really impressed by the size of the room, with a separate kitchen and living area. The staff were okay, and there was a small breakfast included in the price. The only thing that took a while getting used to was the hotel's position across from the Alaska Railroad station. I know it isn't the fault of the hotel, but the train's bells and whistles can certainly take getting used to, especially at night. Sleep isn't impossible, but I would recommend taking ear-plugs for a restful night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the nice review. And yes, the train noise does disturb some guests more than others. Just to let you and others know, we have ear plugs, and other sundry items, available at the front desk, free of charge.
Best regards,
John Wirum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The TripAdvisor rankings have it just about right. This is a good all-suites hotel in a very convenient location, especially if you are traveling by train. A five minute walk from the train station, and just a few steps away from dining and shopping, this is a well located, clean, friendly place for your stay in Anchorage. You will hear train whistles day and night, but that may be just your ticket if you long for the romance of the rails. The continental breakfast of bagels and yogurt can be enjoyed at the kitchen table while you brew your own coffee. Or, you can walk two minutes to a Starbucks or find a place serving local Kaladi Brothers coffee. The desk staff was friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a simple, well equipped place to stay, especially if any trips are planned via the Alaska Railroad. It's a very short walk to the train depot and an easy walk to other downtown Anchorage sites.The room included a small kitchen and living room area; a sufficient continental breakfast (bagels, instant oatmeal, granola bar, fruit, juice, and coffee) delivered at the door made mornings very easy.
The windows were thick enough that when closed, the sounds of the trains really weren't a bother. The staff was attentive and helpful, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#17 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#25 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#18 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#21 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Property: Anchorage Grand Hotel
Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing