We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good base for stay in Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“good base for stay in Anchorage”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

5-10 minute walk (with cases) from convention center where we were dropped off after cruise. Room was 1 bedroom apartment - very spacious with kitchen. Decor a bit dated but still clean & tidy. bed really comfy :-) . Continental breakfast was included - & was good (bagels with Philadelphia, porridge, cereal bar & juice) - plenty to keep you going. Hotel receptionist very helpful - chased up taxi when it hadn't arrived. All in all a great base for our stay I Anchorage

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newportdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    174
    73
    21
    11
See reviews for
74
183
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miranda, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is quite well maintained, and I was really impressed by the size of the room, with a separate kitchen and living area. The staff were okay, and there was a small breakfast included in the price. The only thing that took a while getting used to was the hotel's position across from the Alaska Railroad station. I know it isn't the fault of the hotel, but the train's bells and whistles can certainly take getting used to, especially at night. Sleep isn't impossible, but I would recommend taking ear-plugs for a restful night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the nice review. And yes, the train noise does disturb some guests more than others. Just to let you and others know, we have ear plugs, and other sundry items, available at the front desk, free of charge.
Best regards,
John Wirum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The TripAdvisor rankings have it just about right. This is a good all-suites hotel in a very convenient location, especially if you are traveling by train. A five minute walk from the train station, and just a few steps away from dining and shopping, this is a well located, clean, friendly place for your stay in Anchorage. You will hear train whistles day and night, but that may be just your ticket if you long for the romance of the rails. The continental breakfast of bagels and yogurt can be enjoyed at the kitchen table while you brew your own coffee. Or, you can walk two minutes to a Starbucks or find a place serving local Kaladi Brothers coffee. The desk staff was friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a simple, well equipped place to stay, especially if any trips are planned via the Alaska Railroad. It's a very short walk to the train depot and an easy walk to other downtown Anchorage sites.The room included a small kitchen and living room area; a sufficient continental breakfast (bagels, instant oatmeal, granola bar, fruit, juice, and coffee) delivered at the door made mornings very easy.
The windows were thick enough that when closed, the sounds of the trains really weren't a bother. The staff was attentive and helpful, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Anchorage Grand Hotel in July 2013 we were a little concerned when we first drove up it has a very plain exterior. But the rooms were fairly large with a small kitchen it was clean the people were nice. The down side is that hotels in Anchorage as far as I can tell don't have AC so you have to leave your windows open and the train goes by very late at night and again very early in the morning. We were there 5 days and after the second day it was no big deal. But I did warn you. If shopping or catching the train is for you this is the place.

Room Tip: A room facing downtown might be quieter. But this isn't a big hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are coming or leaving Anchorage by train, this hotel is ideal we arrived by plane and it was a $25 taxi fare. Left by Alaska Rail so walked right down to railway just a short 5 min walk. Hotel amenities more than adequate. Very large room, very clean and good very for money. Continental breakfast provided. Right next to the weekend market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryjo0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love trains so having a view of the station was perfect for us. Our room wasn't fancy but it certainly was spacious with a separate bedroom, kitchen, living room and bathroom. Worked out very well for our four night stay in Anchorage. The hotel was an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Staff was attentive and friendly. Parking was a little strange -- about a block from the hotel but would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seeking_seashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#25 of 73 in Anchorage
538 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Property: Anchorage Grand Hotel
Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing