We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, but bring earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, after catching the train in from Denali National Park. At first we were delighted with the location of the hotel, a five minute walk from the train station and smack bang in the middle of downtown action. However, that night (and the subsequent nights) it was apparent that the trains and ships in port like to toot their horns - repeatedly and often, and it is so loud it comes straight through the windows of the hotel room. And this continues into the hours past midnight, with only a few hours of respite before they start up again at 5am or so. And we're not talking distant train tooting sounds either - it's like standing right beside them. Ugh.

However, the hotel room was great - a whole apartment with kitchenette, separate bedroom, dining and living, as well as a decent-sized bathroom. The check-in staff were a bit disinterested and brusque, but they were speedy which was good.

If we were to visit Anchorage again, I would probably stay somewhere else because of the noise issue, but if you are a heavy sleeper, you cannot beat this hotel for location, price and quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ses_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 402 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights then took the train up to Mckinley Lodge for 2 nights then back here for 1 more night till we left for home. Everyone was very nice and the rooms were very large with kitchenette, two televisions, alot of closet space and nice bathroom. It is just a downhill walk to the train station. The whistle blowing at night and early morning was ok but I am not a light sleeper. The breakfast in a bag on the door knob was good but after the 2nd night I was wishing there was something different in the bag for a change. It was the same thing every morning. They should change it every other day. It was a good hearty start but you get tired of the same thing. The one thing I thought was great was they let us leave the luggage at the hotel locked in a room until we came back after 2 nights at Mckinley. What we did was combine everything we needed in one suitcase for the 2 nights that we were away and left our other 3 suitcases and carryons there at no extra charge. Then we came back the last night we stayed their again and got the other suitcases. That was really great for us. We didn't have to carry all the extra luggage with us since it was the end of our 18 day vacation. The bed was great and location was great also. You could walk up into town. We also took a taxi to the airport and it only cost $20. That was good for us since we had alot of luggage. You won't go wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for two separate nights, departing by train early in the morning both times. As noted, it is an easy downhill walk to the train station; we had no problem getting there with all our luggage in tow. The hotel is also well located to walking to downtown, also over to the creek and to the coastal trail. The rooms were large and clean. We were not bothered by train noise. The staff were uniformly helpful for all our requests, and even had free fruit and cookies in the office. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandenburg456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms were large - more like mini-suites with separate bedroom from a combo living room, kitchenette, dining area. Bed was very comfortable with light comforters. Next to the train station, the late night train whistles, idling motors, etc. could be a little alarming and waken you out of a comfortable sleep but guess that's to be expected. Kitchenettes are sparsely supplied with very limited dishes, one pan, couple of wine glasses, a few utensils, etc., but there's nowhere nearby to buy groceries anyway unless you have a car to drive to the outskirts of town. It does however have a complete stove, dishwasher, sink, microwave, coffee pot, and good size refrigerator. Bedroom and living room each had a TV and wifi was available in the rooms. A modest continental breakfast is brought directly to your room nd set outside the door around 7 to 10 am on request. It's on a bluff overlooking the train depot but does not have a direct walking access to it as you have to walk around and down the hill to get there. Staff friendly and as helpful as they can be but couldn't solve a defective living room TV set in our case. Within easy walk of the rest of the small downtown area where there are several restaurants to choose from. Unless we missed something, parking at the hotel looked limited to perhaps the street only as we saw no nearby parking lot(s) other than those for the train.

Room Tip: Street-side rooms might be a little more insulated from the late night train noises and quieter sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a very walkable location if you are taking the train from Anchorage, but it can be a bit noisy if you are not an early riser. Our room on the second floor was spacious with a bedroom separate from the living room and kitchen. You could cook in the room and they even had a small dishwasher. Do not expect much from the breakfast, but it is better than nothing. You can be to the center of the tourist section in five to seven minutes if you walk fast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamiya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great little hotel. Had a great bed, very clean, loved the sheets. Great little kitchen and sitting room so had a suite. Were there to get the train early; and it was so convenient. We got there in the morning and since our room was ready, we were able to check in early and get some much needed rest. Right in the center of things. We walked to restaurants and Friday there was music, lunch on the square at visitor's center with native tribe presenting dance and drums. Could use the coastal trail. Walked to bike rentals. Staff so helpful and friendly. We loved our stay here and would recommend. Found none of the other negatives mentioned in some reviews, just positives. Even gave us an early continental breakfast at 4:30 when we had to catch an early train. Great value.

Room Tip: Our room at back. Looked out on train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jar9665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I love boutique hotels because of their quirky natures. And the Grand does not disappoint.

Our room turned out to be more like a cottage suite with small kitchen, separate bedroom, and comfy living area.

All amenities are here including dishes and cutlery.

Traffic noise is to be expected; this is a regular city Downton area. But it's not terrible.

There is no air conditioning but there are plenty of windows to open.

Our queen bed is very comfy and richly made up with plenty of pillows. There is a TV in the room, an older model but the picture is sharp.

The bathroom is nicely stocked with a nothing-fancy shower head.

The room is impeccably clean.

The front desk person was friendly, helpful, and very efficient.

My only complaint is the musty smell, probably enanating from the carpet. It's not a smell I can usually abide, but the open windows help.

Upsides to this older property include the rail station a minute away and two very good restaurants, the Sizzlin' Cafe (all homemade food by chef Chistopher - you will love this place) and a Japanese sushi bar.

And if you are here on the weekend in the summer, the open air market is just steps away.

Rent this mini apartment for 77-hundred a month or about $250 a night. Great for a small family.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
480 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
578 reviews
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dimond Center Hotel
#20 of 74 in Anchorage
471 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $85 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing