We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great transfer and driver (Payuk)”

Anchorage Tours and Transfers
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Anchorage to Whittier Half Day Tour
Ranked #17 of 81 Tours in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Not just another transfer...an Alaskan experience! Providing cruise ship transportation between Anchorage, Whittier, and Seward. Servicing the following cruise lines: Princess, Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, and Holland America Anchorage Tours & Transfers, Sightseeing Tours, Anchorage, AK Board your Anchorage Alaska shuttle for the guided drive along the renowned Seward Highway, ranked among the top 10 scenic drives in North America. Travel in the style and comfort of our modern shuttles to Seward and Whittier while enjoying the entertaining tours provided by our knowledgeable guides. Anchorage Tours and Transfers highlights the stunning panoramas and beautiful vistas of the Alaskan wilderness. From beginning to end you'll enjoy dramatic views of mountain scenery and Cook Inlet from the comfort of your shuttle. There is a good chance of viewing Dall sheep during all Anchorage transfers, as well as a chance of seeing some of the inlet's Beluga whales and an eagle or two. Our Anchorage transfer tours combine the scenic beauty of a contemporary Alaska nature tour with the comfort and punctuality of a cruise passenger transfer, allowing you to enjoy the spectacular natural wonders that Alaska has to offer while arriving at your destination on time and in the comfort of our shuttles, vans, and buses. Our professional and reliable services have consistently met with the approval and praise of Alaskan cruise passengers for years. Featuring: 1) Our Anchorage Alaska shuttle is available for pick-up or drop-off at your hotel, airport, car rental or RV rental at no extra charge. We can work with your unique travel accomodations to allow for smooth Anchorage transfers that provide door-to-door service. 2) Wildlife Tour option- Our most popular option which features photo stops at Beluga Point and Portage Glacier (Whittier transfers) or Beluga Point and Canyon Creek Overlook (Seward transfers). Each photo stop on our Anchorage transfers offers multiple opportunities to view the Alaskan wilderness in all its pristine glory. Also included on all Wildlife transfer tours is an approximately one hour visit to the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center to view Alaska's most famous animals up close in a natural setting. During this visit you'll get great pictures of real live Bears, Moose, Muskox, Caribou, Bison, and more. (Wildlife Center admission included)3) Direct Transfer option: Our lowest priced Anchorage transfer option which provides direct non-stop service 4) Fully narrated Anchorage tours by a knowledgeable Alaskan guide during all transfers. Learn fascinating and amusing facts about Alaskan wildlife and the Cook Inlet region while you travel in the comfort of our Anchorage shuttle. Explore the history of the discovery by Captain Cook, the arrival of Russian fur traders, the Gold Rush of the late 1800's, the devastating 9.2 magnitude Good Friday Earthquake, and more.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great transfer and driver (Payuk)”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was an excellent experience. Payuk first picked up my parents in Anchorage, and then came to get us at Great Alaskan Holidays where our family of five were returning the RV we rented to tour Denali and the Kenai Peninsula. Payuk helped with all the luggage, and was entertaining and informative during the drive. This service was so much better than booking through the cruise line, or taking big bus. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank momsters_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairddan, Owner at Anchorage Tours and Transfers, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Hope to see you back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    20
    8
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another option to get to the Cruiseport”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Used Anchorage tours on my recent trip from Anchorage to Whittier. Originally booked direct, with no stops, but received a call a week before to ask if we can change to the 3 hour tour. Was not offered a pick up at the hotel when I asked about it. Had to go all the way back to the airport and wait for the shuttle. Seems the rest of the passengers were offered the hotel pick up.

The drive itself was ok, lots of scenery, and a few stops along the way. The highlight of the trip was the stop at the Wildlife Centre.

The driver James on the other hand was not overly professional. As soon as we left the airport, we were given the background on the airport and his opinions of the government and the namesakes of the airport and the rail station.

A persons political agenda is not welcomed in mixed company when you do not know the people that you are driving. I do not care what your opinion is of Obama. Your joke about wives having to worry if their husband buys a 25 lb anchor when they do not have a boat, was in ba taste and was not appropriate especially with young kids on board.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairddan, Owner at Anchorage Tours and Transfers, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I'm sorry that your experience was not completely satisfactory. Regarding the pick up, there are some locations that we do not stop at and these are listed on our website. That would have been the case even if you had taken the direct transfer instead of accepting the free upgrade to the tour. We also spoke with James that he should take care regarding the appropriateness of his comments, though when he related the 25 lb anchor story that you mentioned, I found nothing objectionable or offensive in it. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Transfer and GREAT Driver!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked this for our transfer from Seward to Anchorage. We choose the longer transfer which had a couple of wildlife viewing stops as well as a stop at the Alaska Wildlife Center.

Our driver, Janeen, was FABULOUS! She was very informative and explained about the formation of the glaciers, glacial waters, floral and fauna...the Wildlife Center was great - we had an hour to explore and see the animals. My kids loved it! (teenagers)...really helped to break up the ride.

Well worth it - I highly recommend them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank zojmn151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairddan, Owner at Anchorage Tours and Transfers, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed the trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and stressful”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found this great deal from coupon book, we paid two for one for the transfer from Anchorage to Whittier. This was a great deal and we got what we paid for.
We waited for the bus at our hotel near the airport, we then found out that they don't pick up us at our hotel and we had to take the hotel's shuttle and meet the bus at the airport which was a bit of a hassle with all of our luggage and stress began from this point on. Our hotel's shuttle dropped us off at the airport at the departure ramp and we had to carry all of our luggage to the first floor and drag it across the street to wait for the shuttle. We called the shuttle company a few times prior to someone answering the phone. Unfortunately the bus pulled up at the back of the airport around the corner and not where they told us to be on the island from their website information, so we had to again drag our luggage to the bus. Driver, James, who was acting like he was the boss of the company was upset at us because he could not find us and we were last people on his bus. He was extremely rude because he said it was our fault that we held the bus. We did not like his attitude and his commentary was not informative. The driver look a bit tired and not enjoying his work, but I guess they don't pay him much unless he is the owner of the company. We felt sorry for him, his old bus, and tipped him at the end. This is a bit too much stress for my age and next time I would prefer to pay more and have it stress free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairddan, Owner at Anchorage Tours and Transfers, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Sorry that the experience wasn't completely positive for you. There are some hotels that we do not stop at, and the list is posted on our website. We also give a reminder to passengers that their pick up is at the airport if they select a hotel on this list. Unfortunately, the airport parking authority had us move our pick up location this summer which did cause some confusion to a few passengers that we were not able to update in time. On the bright side, our driver still knew where to look for you and the bus still made it on time to the ship. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good alternative to overpriced cruise line transfers!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Used this company to transfer us to Whittier during our last vacation. They were in a smaller bus which made it a lot easier to get on and off at some of the stops. The driver was a local guy who was very informative. The stops were beautiful and we enjoyed the wildlife. Although our driver was having a bad day, he was still very helpful and was still able to get us there in plenty of time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RastaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairddan, Owner at Anchorage Tours and Transfers, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks. Glad you appreciated the smaller, more comfortable bus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Tours and Transfers also viewed

 

Been to Anchorage Tours and Transfers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing