We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. It felt very homey and comfortable which was just what I needed to recover from our trip to Denali and my head cold I got along the way. We really appreciated the continental breakfast which meant we could sleep in every morning. Since I wasn't feeling well, I was thrilled to find their awesome movie collection. I had a great time just relaxing, watching movies, and taking in the lake and all of the action there (kayakers, animals and sea plane take-offs). It was close enough to downtown Anchorage that we were still easily able to find places for dinner. Annie was very flexible with our check-in/check-out needs. This place is very close to the airport so it is great if you are just arriving our about to fly back home. I highly recommend staying here the next time you are in Anchorage!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place was without a doubt one of the best decisions we made for our trip to Alaska! Annie and Tim were terrific hosts and graciously shared their place with us for the whole week. We used their canoes and paddle boat to cruise around the lake and even got to see a young bull moose twice in one of the channels. We live on a lake too so this made us feel like we were right at home. The area we stayed in was perfect for our visit with our daughter and son in law. One evening we picked up deli food and gathered around the table for a relaxing dinner in. The B & B is also close to Kincaid Park where we saw another moose and had a picnic. We enjoyed the breakfast set up they offer that allowed us to eat at our leisure. Especially nice since we got tricked by Mother Nature to stay up later then usual and needed to stay in bed longer in the morning. For value this place can't be beat! The only suggestions I would make if you choose this place is in regards to the sleeping. If you have light or noise sensitivities I would recommend bringing sleep aids. We could hear movement above us and although the bedroom has room darkening shades light still came through the sides.However, the comfy and cozy bed begged you to stay longer! Also, our niece stayed in the living room and found the futon/sofa more comfortable in the upright position. This room does not have blinds over the french doors so the light issue could be a problem for some. All in all this was one of the things that made our visit to Alaska more enjoyable. To have space to lounge and move around is nicer than a hotel in our opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 9 days traveling in Alaska from Anchorage to Denali to Fairbanks and back to Anchorage, staying at 5 different locations along the way. The Lakeside B & B was by far the best and around the same price as the other places we stayed. The pictures from their website are an EXACT representation of their place. It was amazing to be right on the picturesque Sand Lake with access to their paddle boats and canoes. The swing was SO much fun for ALL of us. They have it set up perfectly so you can soar out over the lake.

This was our kind of bed and breakfast. The breakfast (and snack) items were all located in the suite to be eaten at our convenience. There was a large variety including pastries, bread for toast (even with peanut butter!), instant oatmeal packets, popcorn, crackers/cookies, fruits, juices, milk, cereal and a large container of purified water. The suite had its own private entrance in the back of the house

The bedroom had a queen bed in it, while the living room had a fold out oversized chair and a futon. Our 2 kids were thrilled to each get their own bed!The shower included Nexus shampoo and conditioner, which was such a nice treat after using some of the other hotels crummy shampoo. The owners do a wonderful job at making you feel welcome and providing everything they can possibly think of. If we ever get to go back to Alaska, I would want to book much further in advance so we could stay HERE for a longer portion of the trip! LOVED it SO much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We LOVED it!!! It was like our own little apartment. We had a bedroom with a queen sized bed and the living area had a pull out coach and a pull out bed. Tom and Ann (the owners) were very accommodating, as we arrived in Anchorage at 12:30AM and would not get to their home B&B until 1:00 AM or later. There was a note on the door telling us where to go. The beds and the pull outs were all ready for us. Everything was labeled and easy to understand. Ann brought us breakfast item which she placed in the fridge and counter during the day when we were out and about. There was a coffee maker, toaster, small fridge etc in the living area. She also had it stoked with various breakfast and snack food (microwave popcorn, cookies, fruit etc). The fridge had hard boiled eggs, milk etc for us. There was cold cereals as well as oatmeal, breads etc every day for us to chose from. They also stocked the bathroom with high quality, premium hair products. I know this sound a little strange, but when you travel a lot and get the little bottles of shampoo that don't really clean your hair well, it was nice to have the 'nice' stuff.

Ann and Tom also have a binder that explains everything from how and why the blinds work and the purpose behind them.

What I think we enjoyed the most was that it was on the lake and they have a paddle boat and canoes available for their guests to use. My kids loved that, but my youngest LOVED the swing the most. He is STILL talking about the swing and is begging us to get him one.

There was not one thing that was overlooked! Getting to Anchorage so late, we were not prepared for the mosquitoes. But we didn't have to fear, because along with the sun block and other necessities, there was bug repellant.

We met both Ann and Tim and they are the nicest people. My kids both commented on how they felt like they were their aunt and uncle somehow :)

When we are in Alaska again we will defiantly stay with Ann and Tim again at their B&B. I am afraid once this little secret is out about their B&B and hospitality it will be booked! Their B&B is only about 10 minutes or less from the airport.

Room Tip: A definite must with kids. You don't end up back at the hotel and them turning on the TV. The ki...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having reached the end of our Alaska round trip we looked for an accommodation near the Airport from Anchorage and we were very lucky to find this wonderful place to stay - just about 10-15 min away. We have spent 2 nights there and loved it. It's a private suite with a separate entrance from the garden side. You have a cosy and nicely furnished living area, a dining table with chairs (there is no kitchen - but a microwave and a fridge - the breakfast was brought to our room - they have a door from their house into the suite), a relatively big bathroom and a bedroom. There is a television and lots of books. One of the best things was the possibility to use the owner's canoe for paddling over the beautiful small sand lake. It's an really idyllic spot. Although we did not have a lot of contact to the owners because it seemed they prefer to keep themselves to them selves, we felt friendly welcomed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GandG_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B and is everything it is pictured to be and more. Had a wonderful time fishing in Sand Lake from the paddleboat. Bush planes take off and land right out in front of you! The location is convenient to everything in and around Anchorage and the airport, yet is very quiet. Tim and Ann are very accomodating and have thought of everything you could need for your stay. Even though it's listed as a B&B, you have your own separate entrance and all the privacy you could ask for. Yet, Tim and Ann are there should you need anything and all the fixings for a continental breakfast are left there for you to enjoy when you're ready (the banana bread was especially good).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim_and_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
5.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast
Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 126 in Anchorage
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Frenchy's Adventure Bed & Breakfast
8.7 mi away
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 126 in Anchorage
9 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5031 W 80th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99502-4112
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $188 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine being surrounded by an acre of woods, fronted by a large fresh-water lake stocked with salmon and flocked to by geese and float planes alike. Imagine canoeing in the early morning mist or hiking the nearby Coastal Trail along Cook Inlet. Imagine cross-country skiing in the brisk winter sunlight or ice skating under the Northern Lights. Realize it all at A Lakeside Bed & Breakfast. Your private suite is reached through an outdoor entrance. Step into a large living room complete with sitting area, dining room, reading nook and solitude. A private bedroom and bath are yours, as well as kitchenette where a self-serve hearty continental breakfast is made at your leisure. (We provide cereal, oatmeal, eggs, breads, fruit, juice, tea, milk and coffee.) Browse through the bookcase for your favorite book. Pop some popcorn, move the TV (with VCR/DVD) to your favorite corner and settle in for a private screening of a classic film from our library. Relax. As cozy as it is inside, there are lots of activities available outside all year round. Paddle one of our canoes around Sand Lake, explore canals and search for loons and moose. Or go for a bike ride on the Coastal Trail and watch for breeching whales. Sit a spell on the patio and feel the peacefulness engulf you. No matter what month it is, A Lakeside B&B is always in season. We're located on the shores of Sand Lake, eight minutes away from the Anchorage International Airport, 20 minutes from Downtown Anchorage, 45-60 minutes from Girdwood and Portage Glacier and the Chugach National Park, 60 minutes from the Matanuska-Susitna Valley. We are close to bike and world-class ski trails, a grocery store, drycleaner, 10 minutes from a large shopping mall and movies theaters, 30 seconds from Mother Nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing