We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast International Inn
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Bethel, Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

i always stay here, unless there's no rooms available, front desk workers are nice, van drivers are nice, ....... pipers lounge workers are nice,
i really don't want to say anything for the pipers restaurant but they had very new workers, and they didn't give us our check or ask if we would like anything else when we was done, we had to walk out to the register and then they gave us our check.
also it would be very nice if they would have security on duty when they have a reception in the hotel, cause when i was there mid October they had a reception and a lot of young adults was drinking and seemingly one of them was gonna start a fight sooner or later.
Pipers Lounge is the place when there's football games on.
i guess the only downside, before i checked out, i jumped in the shower, to only find there was no hot water, so i guess it was "cold water Sunday"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eskimo_99559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    65
    59
    27
    25
See reviews for
38
64
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked a 3 star hotel thru Hotwire. Ended up with Coast International. This is a run down "hotel" that is not even a 2 star. It smells, the carpets are worn, bathrooms are held together with caulk. Hotwire is usually pretty good. But be careful using Hotwire in Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee l, Manager at Coast International Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are very disappointed by your review and appreciated you taking the time to share your comments with us. We take a lot of pride in the quality of our housekeeping staff and look forward to the opportunity to demonstrate a more typical experience at our hotel during your next trip to Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We got a convention rate and stayed here 3 nights. We found the hotel using our smart phone. This hotel is located right across from Courtyard Marriott and next to The Millinium. Lake Hood, where a lot of float planes are based, is right in front of hotel. I asked front desk clerk for a top floor room that was not located by any vending machines, elevators, or employee break room. There is no elevator, so if you have problems with stairs, lower level is best. This hotel is only 2 story, but it has many wings.
Our room was facing toward the lake. It had one bed and a chair. A work desk with chair. Room was clean. The room did not have a microwave or refrigerator. Had a small coffee maker located in the bathroom. TV was not a HD and not many channels. And, that darn tv, when turned on, blasts so loud! The first time that happened I thought how rude of the last guest, but the next morning turned it on and was blasted, again. Learned the 3rd time to hit the volume button right away. We didn't eat at the restaurant or use any of the hotels features. We were too busy and just came back to sleep. I would like to warn that the cigarette smell is noticable. We were in a non smoking room, but could smell in the hallways really strong. One evening, parked our car and noticed a lady smoking a cig and blowing the smoke out the screened window. This smoker was located on the second floor right across from our room. The ice machine did not work on the 2nd floor, so we used the one on the 1st floor. Our ice bucket did not have a plastic bag, so I rinsed it out in our bathroom, before each use. The bathroom is spacious and clean. There is body soap and shampoo provided on a wall dispenser. Plenty of towels. There was a bathroom fan, which I have found to be a rare feature in hotel bathrooms. I am happy to say that we did not have one problem with the key card. It would have been a long walk to lobby after a long day.
2 things that made me frown:
float plane noise early in the morning
smoke smell
If, you are needing a room close to airport, then this is the hotel. Plenty of free parking. There is a Mexican restaurant, Taco King, across the street which is excellent and fast. Take a right out of parking lot and then a left onto Seward and drive a bit and you will come upon a Subway, Wendy's, McDee's, a Villiage Inn (kinda like a Denny's).
Probably, would stay again, if price was right.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak747gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee l, Manager at Coast International Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at our hotel. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your comments as they help us improve our service. Coast International Inn is in the process of becoming a non-smoking hotel and will be completely smoke-free by October. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Anchorage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed twice again in summer of 2012 and have stayed here many times before. It is not a luxury hotel or upscale if that is what you are looking for. The suites at the time of the stairs are nice-very roomy, everything you need for space. This time we have a lakeside view room and a its a standard room and is fine. The bathrooms are ok but a nicer tub would be good. Rather old, but clean. Yes, you can hear people in rooms above and beside you. Restaurant food is satisfactory...had excellent grilled salmon dinner last night. Food is not cheap, but then it isn't in Alaska! Service is very good and the red haired lady is tops for people service at the front desk. Her name evades me as I write this.

Room Tip: The suites at the top of the stairs from the front desk are very nice. Also higher floors have less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The shuttle service was fast and friendly. The desk staff were friendly, and efficient. The red headed lady was very helpfully, and friendly. We were on the second floor overlooking one the "courts", and we had a good view if the lake , and we're able to watch the float planes come and go. Yeah, the planes were noisy during take off, but that was part of the experience, and we loved it. They only fly during the day time. The room was clean,and comfortable. The connected restaurant "Pipers", served good food, and they were quite friendly also. The prices felt a little steep, but not out of line for Alaska, and the clam chowder was excellent. The only problem we had was the spin cycle on washer number 1 was so slow that the clothes were still soaked when we put them in the drier. The desk man was notified, and I suspect it has been corrected by the time you are reading this. We'll be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in Coast International in June 2012, for a couple of days. I was on a business trip to Alaska !!! (would you believe it!)

Background:
When I had to go to Anchorage, most of the hotels were booked and my colleague booked in Coast International after searching an online site.

Location:
The hotel is located very close to the Anchorage airport and is next to a beautiful lake.
Well, I like to roam about in the city, but since this hotel was a little away from the city, I could not. However, the walk to the lake compensated for it.

Hotel & Rooms:
The hotel has an air of a western, cozy place. It did not appear to be modern, which actually worked in its favor. There were a lot of rooms and I had to walk down a long corridor to reach mine.
The room itself was quiet ok. The size of the room was reasonable, bed was comfortable and heating appropriate. The bath was also pleasant. Since I was in the hotel for only 2 days, I did not find anything to complain about.

The hotel did offer internet, but I found it to be a bit slow.

Staff:
I only interacted with the reception staff and they appeared to be polite and welcoming.

Summary:
I found the hotel to be average. If I return to Anchorage, I'd prefer to stay close to the city center so that I can roam about at my will.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee l, Manager at Coast International Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. We’re glad we were able to provide a comfortable stay during your time in Anchorage and appreciated your patronage! We hope to see you again in the future and encourage you to visit our on-site restaurant, Pipers, for a more social, city-like environment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Bad reviews spot on. Several unmade rooms, perhaps bed bugs for a fellow guest, paper thin insulation, .if you like the sound of someone showering like they were in your room or heavy footfalls from above, this is your place. Don't bother ordering waffles, no iron. Forget orange juice they can't quite get the premix ratio with water right. Carpets are dirty, the list goes on.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank palmerjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee l, Manager at Coast International Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are extremely disappointed by your comments, but appreciated you taking the time to share them. Reviews like yours help us understand what areas of our service could use improvement and we appreciate the opportunity to correct any issues you encountered. We look forward to sharing your comments with the rest of our staff to improve our service and hopefully show you a much more comfortable and satisfactory stay upon your next trip to Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.5 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#47 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast International Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast International Inn

Property: Coast International Inn
Address: 3450 Aviation Ave, Anchorage, AK 99502-1057
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast International Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Hotel offers a warm ambience, restaurant and bar; sits adjacent to Lake Hood, 1 mile east of Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast International Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast International Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing