We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott standards”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at about 10:30pm, and struggled with our luggage from the cab... 6 pieces for two of us. After we exited the cab, grabbed a luggage cart and loaded the cart ourselves, we entered the lobby and the bellman called from behind his stand, " ya want help?" When we said no thanks and continued on our way, the employee ordered after us, " bring the cart back!" WiFi was $15, but there were about 15 networks to connect to... Half with lewd names. The quality of the guests here...
At 6 am, the person in the room next to me started making phone calls. He is speaking in a conversational tone, but I can hear every word clearly and distinctly.
We should have stayed at a cheaper non brand hotel; the quality would have been the same for less $$. BTW, $300+.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Marriott Guest,

It is very concerning reading about your recent stay at our property. After a long day of traveling along with a time change to consider, the way you and your companions were greeted recently is the very last way we expect our guests to be treated. There is simply no excuse. As far as the internet is concerned we have done extensive work on our system since your stay in order to help correct the network connection issues you encountered. Again, we do apologize for the inconveniences you may have endured.
Please know that we have used this example as a training tool and we thank you for bringing all of your issues to our attention.
As a full service Marriott we pride ourselves on providing amazing service and quality, both of which we fell short during your stay with us. On behalf of all of the associates here at the Anchorage Marriott Downtown, please except our sincere apologies for the lack of service you received.
If there is anything we can do to try to ease your disappointment with our staff and property , please let me know.
I do hope you enjoyed your visit to our great state.

At your Service,


Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    281
    140
    24
    11
See reviews for
143
217
21
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was part of our royal Caribbean land portion of the Alaska tour. Definitely the best of all the ones we stayed at. Room was clean and the view was beautiful from the 15th floor. Coffee in room but if you like cream, snag a couple extras. No refrigerator in the room. There is air conditioning!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice facility and friendly staff. Enjoyed view and location. Street parking free on the weekends. Charge for Internet and hotel parking. No free breakfast. Pool only, no jacuzzi. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Happy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our cruise-tour starting hotel which is why we chose it. We flew in a day early to acclimate to the time change and were very glad we did. Anchorage is a quaint town with quite a few things to do and see and this hotel makes it all within walking distance. The restaurant is a bit over-priced but the food was good. But check out the view!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Gilead NC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great post Celebrity cruise tour hotel. Staff was efficient even with the high number of check-ins. Room was very nice and comfortable. Great view in a high room. They have a separate terminal for printing airline boarding passes which is a smart move. Bar was great as well. Only issue is the Alaska law that u have to have someone escort you to the elevator with your drink if you leave the bar. Strange law. Must be a liability thing for sure. U can get to a lot of places with a short walk. Shuttle to airport was very well coordinated other than bags had to be outside your room at 3:00 AM and bus leaves at 4:00 AM. Not the Marriott's issue just that the flights to get back to the east coast all leave real early to avoid a late home arrival. Would recommend this hotel if U R staying in Anchorage.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators to avoid their noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our cruise line dropped us at the Mariott in Anchorage. It was the "hospitality center" People slept in the lobby, there was luggage stacked in front of the hotel, and they asked $309 even for people who only wanted to stay for 4 hours. Those who took a room were then asked to pay $15 for internet access in their room even though it was complimentary in the lobby. The room had 2 double beds even though it was big enough for 2 kings...strange layout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGranViajer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansastraveler74
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall, great hotel! Excellent location with great views of the Mountain on a clear day!

Check in staff was very friendly. Rooms were very clean. Beds were comfortable.

Parking was a bit challenging since it is in downtown. We also wish there was a shuttle from the train station and the airport. That would have saved a lot if time. It was really challenging to get a mini van taxi at the train station. A lot of other hotels offered a shuttle service.

Overall, great hotel! We have stayed here three times and will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,793 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
519 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
1,118 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Property: Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Address: 820 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations, first-rate service and an ideal location at Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Our Anchorage hotel's setting is perfect - within walking distance of local businesses, shops, restaurants and attractions including the Anchorage Convention District, Anchorage Museum, Performing Arts Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing