We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anchorage Marriott Downtown No Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anchorage Marriott Downtown No Good”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Mold in shower, no movies available on tv,$24 per day parking plus valet tips, no computer available for free ($ 9 per hour) for those of us no longer carrying around a computer, no free continental breakfast ($18 for buffett), lousy sleep due to snow removal heavy equipment back up alarms, banging on pavement and scraping up piles of snow, People were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drogrs8455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    280
    138
    24
    11
See reviews for
143
216
21
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, UT
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

They've been busy lately, updating the hotel and the rooms. The lobby is quite nice now, as are the bar and lounge. The staff is warm and friendly as always, and I slept well as the beds are very comfy. I will certainly be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this hotel through Celebrity Cruises and all I can say is this hotel was pretty average to us - nothing special and pretty much a low key hotel. Room was a good size but view was really not that great. Our view was over looking at a parking lot. A bit disappointing as we paid top dollars for the room.

I believe the hotel was not fully booked as it was just the two of us eating dinner at the restaurant on our first night so we practically got all the attention we needed.

All in all it was not too bad to start a cruise BUT way too expensive. I would have expected more for the dollars we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC_Wilson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willow, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is downtown Anchorage it is within walking distance of a major shopping mall and really nice restaurants...
the only downside is the parking either a valet or you can park yourself in the garage one block away.. otherwise the rooms are really big and spacious very comfortable king size beds are huge.
the restroom area is very big and they have really nice soft towels..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

As my flight had an delay I arrived pretty late at the Downtown and coudnt checkin into my original Hotel, It was too cold outside to look for another so I went to the Marriott.
The Hotel charged me over 200$ for a Roomstay for 10 hours way to expensive than the Internet was extra aswell and to slow, Breakfast poor mini buffet and you pay 18$ if you grap yourself an small Cereal Box they will charge you 7$ unbelievable and I booked this Room with Breakfast.
So Im never gonna stay there again with this kind of an ridicolous Rate and service.
Iam really upsat as usually the Marriotts chains are having great deals and super service.
In this case I arrived there at 2pm in the morning was tired and exhausted from the trip and they didnt help me with my suitcases and it took them ages to check me in. really dissapointed.
But Room was really nice and neat so cant say anything on that. I guess that I had just bad luck

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaKrupka711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar rapids
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I always enjoy staying here. The rooms are nice and they have a nice quiet bar with a sushi bar off of the lobby it is never to busy in the bar and they give you great service. The rooms are very comfortable and the front desk people are always friendly. It is located right downtown.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask questions at the front desk they are always willing to give tips. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbahnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times for conferences, business, pleasure, and weekend trips, and I travel to Anchorage pretty often. I've stayed at all the other chain hotels and other 'upscale' hotels in the area; again, this is the only one I really like staying at. This hotel has comfy beds, a safe and secure atmosphere, staff who are friendly and very accommodating, rooms are very quiet at night and you can get a good night's rest, a clean pool/jacuzzi/fitness area, a cute little bar with friendly bartenders, nice shopping options in-house and a great location near everything but not crowded by other shops or foot traffic. The rooms are always clean, you can get a late checkout, stay late in the pool and jacuzzi and staff often remember you by your first name if you are polite to them. It may not have microwaves and refrigerators but I don't notice those things because I like the bar downstairs and there are GREAT restaurants very close by. It's always clean and having lived in Manhattan and knowing the quality of service and atmosphere that is delivered at hotels like the 4 Seasons, I highly recommend the Anchorage Marriott Downtown for its atmosphere, service, cleanliness, staff, and spaciousness/comfort in their rooms. It's a great place to hunker down for business travel or to hideaway for a weekend. Oh yeah and the heat and A/C are rapid response, too cold, heat takes a minute, too hot, A/C takes a minute, there is no waiting time for an exasperated HVAC system, which is wonderful. AND if you request a room on the upper floors with a view of the Knik Arm, you'll see why I love this hotel! Only recommendation to the hotel managers would be to establish better parking options. Parking is luck of the draw or outrageously overpriced.

Room Tip: If you are not afraid of heights, ask for a room that is on one of the higher floors which faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,780 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
514 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
1,114 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Property: Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Address: 820 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations, first-rate service and an ideal location at Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Our Anchorage hotel's setting is perfect - within walking distance of local businesses, shops, restaurants and attractions including the Anchorage Convention District, Anchorage Museum, Performing Arts Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing