We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Beautiful Marriott Hotel. Staff Is extremely friendly. Walk to everything in Anchorage including restaurants and the Market (flea market) which is only open on the weekends in the summer. A delicious breakfast is served by friendly staff in the restaurant every morning. Beds were extremely comfortable and density can be changed with a button located on the side of the bed. Overall great experience.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank cerveza930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 704 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

The staff are very friendly. Expect to be greeted upon arrival and when leaving the hotel. The check in process went well. The king size bed room was a good size and had a fridge. The bathroom was good quality and clean. We did have an issue with stained sheets that were promptly replaced upon request. The room was very clean aside from the original sheets. The views were amazing from the 14th floor. Overall the hotel was quite; however, I was awaken at 4 am one morning out of 6 because of people leaving early and slamming there door closed. The door in our room did not slam when left to close on its own. That same morning at the same time the people above us took a shower and flushed the toilet which could be heard from our room. We did not notice road noise from our floor. Lobby has a variety of complimentary drinks throughout the day - coffee, apple cider, fruit flavored water. Lounge area was pleasant. Internet cost $40 for the week and was okay. I still think wifi should be included in the room or at the very least the hotel lobby. McDonald's, Starbucks, and almost every restaurant in Anchorage has free wifi. At $188 per night, it should be included. Parking is $16 or $25. Street parking is free after 6 pm and before 9 am. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Bed was starting to sag in the middle and the pillows were in need of replacement. A couple of the sleeping pillows were lumpy. The temperature in the room was a little difficult to control. Overall, a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and ocean view room that overlooks the city.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishB513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed there about 8 years ago as part of a cruisetour package and remembered it as sort of plain jane. It has vastly improved since that first stay. The lobby is friendlier, the bar is hipper, the room was newly refurbished and larger than most in this category. We found the concierge to be helpful and the location excellent to walk to many places, including the mall and museum.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the front of the hotel. We were able to see the Cook Inlet from our room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastTexGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I love the Marriott Downtown. It should top anyone's list for places to stay in downtown Fairbanks. The room sizes are much bigger than any other downtown hotel. Everything about the rooms is modern and updates, most other downtown hotels show their age in room quality, size and decor. No detail is spared in this hotel from the decor to the linen. They just opened a new lobby bar and it's gorgeous, a great place to relax and unwind. The location is perfect and you can walk almost anywhere. I prefer the ocean view versus the city or mountain view. As with all downtown hotels there is little parking adjacent to the hotel. If you stay over the weekend in the spring, summer or fall, sometimes street parking is available.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank major_league
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here on business for 4 nights during April 2012.

The hotel was in the final stages some major renovation work in the reception area, but service was still good.

The location of this hotel for the downtown area is excellent. Most of the shops and restaurants are within a 10 minute walk.

Check-in process was prompt and efficient, and I was even given a choice of rooms with different views by a very helpful receptionist, though I'd imagine that such a choice wouldn't be possible in high season when occupancy rates are 100%.

The room was finished to a high standard, with nicely arranged towels and complementary toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, with a choice of different sized pillows. There was also a computer desk/work area, with a range of different lights allowing you to get just the right amount of light for working or reading.

I was fortunate to get a high level room overlooking the city and mountains in the distance, and witnessed some superb sunrises and sunsets. Mount McKinley is also visible just to the left of the Captain Cook hotel (see one of the attached photos), even though it is 235 miles drive away! Sometimes there were also military airplanes taking visible from the airbase nearby, but they weren't too noisy despite the proximity. I slept very well here every night, as traffic noise was minimal.

Breakfast downstairs was a choice of hot and cold buffet options, with fresh fruit, yoghurts, choice of different breads for toasting etc. There is also an a-la-carte menu, which allows you to order a wide range of other breakfast options. Service at breakfast was prompt and attentive. The average cost for breakfast was $14 - $18, which wasn't too high considering the choice and quality in a high standard downtown hotel.

Having a rental car, I did make use of the valet parking service, which costs $24 per day. Nearby parking costs $1/hour at off-peak rates, but at weekends there is free on street parking available after 6pm on Friday when the meters stop operating. Once requested, my car was outside within 5 minutes.

The one huge advantage over this hotel with another I stayed at in Achorage was the speed of the internet. Yes it costs $13 per day, or $40 for a week compared to the free access offered elsewhere, but it is worth every penny if you need fast and reliable internet access for business. I was regularly able to get download speeds of 4 Mbps, which easily saved me 20 - 30 minutes per day and it was a joy to access web sites that opened quickly and were responsive.

Overall, I would have no hesitation in using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMBStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Finally, after staying here quite a few times Marriott Anchorage has finally been updated. My room was fresh and clean, the caret in the corridors no longer threadbare and even the elevators were updated. The gift shops are gone and replaced by an excellent lounge and a wonderrful bartender "Bee" who remembered me each night and remembered what I drank. The food was excellent! Quite a change from a few years ago! The front desk staff was superb, answered all my questions, fixed my room key and recognized me as an Elite member. I will no longer stay at the Captain Cook but will stay at the Anchorage Marriott from now on.

Please put my review in this context: I am a business traveler staying in hotels on average over 220 nights per year for the past 25 years. I make three or trips per year to Anchorage.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Reto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl H, Director of Sales at Anchorage Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,875 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
1,161 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
585 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Address: 820 West 7th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $143 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations, first-rate service and an ideal location at Anchorage Marriott Downtown. Our Anchorage hotel's setting is perfect - within walking distance of local businesses, shops, restaurants and attractions including the Anchorage Convention District, Anchorage Museum, Performing Arts Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Marriott Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Marriott Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing