We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic Candy Store with some interesting choices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern Dwellers Chocolate Lounge

Modern Dwellers Chocolate Lounge
Ranked #4 of 25 Dessert in Anchorage
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Description: Modern Dwellers Chocolate Lounge is Anchorage Alaska's only chocolate lounge- a chocolate and espresso experience amidst contemporary works of art and gifts. We're proud to use American made chocolate and local ingredients with an organic and natural emphasis in our artisan creations.
Wrangell, Alaska
Level Contributor
179 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Eclectic Candy Store with some interesting choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Twice I've been given Modern Dweller's chocolate as a gift and I love the Margarita Zing. The service was great and the sample of spicy drinking chocolate was fun to try. I'd love to go back and get it in a mocha. I bought some chocolates to take home to my husband and he said the Garlic Salted Caramels are the best candy he's ever had (I know it sounds weird but they're really delicious!).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dnkpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    9
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overly sweet, wasted potential”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Low variety of choices...just candy and syrupy drinks. Save the money and go chug some Hershey's syrup if you prefer overdosage on chocolate flavor to interesting varieties and preparations of chocolate deserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cariqunyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you love chocolate, you will love this place. If you don't love chocolate then why read this? For Anchorage being a small town, it's nice to have a locally owned chocolate kitchen. good job.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Hot Chocolate of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a chocoholic's paradise. I love all their truffles and I try to go here every time I want to make a unique gift to someone. I also highly recommend taking a break here and having some of their fabulous hot chocolate with steamed milk. They have the silky version and a spicy one if you are feeling frisky. Love this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow. Chocolate paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can I say, other than this was a great experience in chocolate. Bring your wallet, however! These specialty chocolate treats were fantastic, and two of us couldn't decide on what to get. There were some great options, and we ended up splurging on 3 apiece. Thinking we'd make it to Homer with 4 left, we had gone on a chocolate binge of joy in 30 minutes. Can't wait to stop in again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JV355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Dwellers Chocolate Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Modern Dwellers Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing