We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barratt Inn Anchorage Airport
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Ulster Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap but not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed there 4 scattered nights as Anchorage was the hub of our trip in Alaska. The advance rate was very favorable. Each experience was different, none were good. Some bad things: one "non-smoking room" had the windows open (in Alaska!) when we arrived. Upon closing them after a while, there was such a strong smell of smoke that we had to change rooms. The thermostats had no effect. They have a laundry area but neither the front desk nor the restaurant had any quarters. The breakfast was very very crowded -- nowhere near enough place to set, and many of the guests would just stay even after finishing. They have a waffle machine -- good, huh? Should have been but wasn't. The first night it was great. But on all of the other 3, they managed not to get the consistency of the batter right so that it did not cook properly. The orange juice was awful (which is hard to do).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    20
    40
    67
See reviews for
40
36
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Mold on back of shower curtain. Mold in corners of bathroom floor. Carpeting stained throughout. Broken screen frame. Ceiling vent in bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned of collected dust in years. Toilet didn't work correctly. (had to hold the handle down to flush). No ice bucket. When I asked for one, they said they'd look into it and gave me a large plastic bag. Checked at the counter when we were leaving and the head guy said no one ever told him that there was no bucket.
The free breakfast in the mornings was the only good thing about this place. (per my wife).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Lake City Mn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

we checked in got to room, dirty towels in bath, no clean linens, no glasses dirty floor dental floss on floor overall was bad! we gave them the benefit of the doubt and reserved a night on our flight back from Kodiak got there only to find that the desk gal never made our res. they had no rooms but there happened while we were waiting a cancel call came in, got to our rooms only 2 bath towels no wash clothes or hand towels , no glasses ate at restaurant, food came wrong, dry dry hamburger fries ok will NOT stay here ever again.

Room Tip: don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueyes55041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel before taking the train to Seward to go on a cruise.
About the only good thing I can say is that they were prompt in picking us up from the airport.
The front desk guys were pleasant, but the room was horrendous!! The carpet was stained, and didnt even look like it had been vacuumed. The handle was hanging off of the nightstand, the knob was missing from the floor heater in the bathroom. We checked for bedbugs and didnt find any, so reluctantly decided to just tough it out. I did have to go find a maid to get regual coffee for the coffee pot, they hadnt put any in the room because "we are almost out"..... We left the room to go downtown and was gone for several hours. when we came back my husband went to take a shower and the drain was clogged with a bunch of hair!!!! shudder.........but the towels were clean!!!
The next morning we were getting ready to leave and I heard water running in the bathroom ???
Went to see and their was a shower of water raining on the toilet from the room upstairs!!!!
We told the front desk about these issues and they kinda shrugged and said that they would check into it...my suggestion is to spend more money cuz I still itch!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

June 2012 - I stayed for 1 one night. They tried 3 rooms before they could find a key that worked!! The rooms were not cleaned, coffee grains on table, 2nd room had an unflushed toilet, I flushed it...it started to flood....I called front desk....they said we have no maintenance until morning...we have to give you another room. All rooms stunk so bad....blankets stunk....curtains smelt like it hadn't been cleaned in years....dirt and bugs on the window seal. 3 people hanging around outside, loud and cussing for hours...even after I asked them to keep it down. Hotel staff saw them partying outside in the parking lot, but didn't seem to care! I was to exhausted to leave to try to find another hotel. The restaurant looked abandoned. The cook told me they were out of a lot of food on the menu...my dinner was served to me burnt! only 1 person working in the restaurant!! Don't think he was a real cook.This place is very scarey....also very noisy, as it's right next to a main road. It's cheaper hotel than others, but this place should not be open at all. I left tired and feeling very, very dirty. YUCK!!! I think this is where street people stay. TRAVEL LODGE ON SPENARD-WISCONSIN NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyAnderson361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is not the one on Gambell Street but on Spenard. My hubby needed to stay their for a medical appointment. He was there for 2 nights. Pretty bad! Bedding was not clean(spots and stains) AC smelled like urine. Restaurant was horrible and no one was there to actually cook. Front desk was arguing with other staff and then snapped at him. Thank goodness we were able to get him out of there since he now has to stay for 6 more nights. Yucky! Better get new management or this one will be closing too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsoup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#46 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#52 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barratt Inn Anchorage Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barratt Inn Anchorage Airport

Property: Barratt Inn Anchorage Airport
Address: 4610 Spenard St., Anchorage, AK 99517-3234 (Formerly Travelodge Anchorage)
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barratt Inn Anchorage Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Barratt Inn Anchorage Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing