We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regal cancelled on us on short notice-wasted a whole day”
Review of Regal Air

Regal Air
Ranked #20 of 81 Tours in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Regal Air is an Alaska Flightseeing, Bear Viewing, and Air Taxi company that has been flying Alaskans and visitors to our state since 1982. We are family owned and operated and have an excellent safety record.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had purchased a Groupon with Regal and set up a time about 5 months before we arrived in Anchorage. The flight time of 3:30 p.m. was cancelled by Regal at 12:30 p.m. Although they indicated they might possibly do it another day, we were leaving that night. Their reason may have been legit, but we wasted an entire day hanging around Anchorage. If we had known the night before we could have made other plans. My husband felt it may have been due to the reduced price they receive from Groupon but who knows.

8  Thank 50ishtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike l, Manager at Regal Air, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

We are very sorry for the inconvenience- do you remember the reason for the cancellation? Unfortunately with small aircraft in Alaska there are many elements outside our control affecting the flights, and we strive to fly safe regardless. Many times with weather we do not know until within a few hours of the flight of unflyable conditions, unfortunately. I am sorry that another day was not an option for you, and I hope we can serve you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Regal Air
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

While in Anchorage, we were looking for a reasonably priced flightseeing trip to see a glacier. Stopped in at the Visitor Info Center in downtown Anchorage which was very helpful. They had an office in the back (just follow the moose tracks) which had videos and pamphlets of all the companies and even had a telephone for the visitors to use (saved us cell roaming fees)! We couldn't find much info on Regal Air, but our hotel (Capt Cook) concierge said he uses them all the time. We are so glad we took the chance on them! They were wonderful! They'll even pick you up at your hotel. The pilot picks the course to take depending on the weather. We had great weather - so went to see Blackstone Glacier. We landed on the lake amid many,many icebergs and our pilot got out, opened our door and asked if we wanted to get out on the pontoon for better picture taking opportunities! Ah, no thanks! I could see myself slipping right into the frigid water! It was remarkable scenary with waterfalls and birds flying and nesting by the falls. The glacier even calved for us! What more could you ask for? I was very nervous not having been up in such a small plane before, but I had no problem whatsoever other than I kept forgetting to talk loudly enough so the mic would pick up my voice so others could here my comments/questions. Hubby and I shared the trip with a nice couple from Germany. I had the treat of sitting up front with the pilot who was very knowledgable and gave us a wonderful tour of the area and patiently answered everyones questions of what his life was like living in Alaska. All in all ithis was a highlight on our Alaskan trip and I would recommend Regal Air to everyone!

2  Thank SuzyQ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike l, Manager at Regal Air, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, it is always nice to hear that what we strive for comes together. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

At least two months in advance I booked a tour with Regal Air through Groupon for a 90 minute glacier flightseeing tour. About 3 hours before the tour I received a call on my cell phone - we were literally driving to Anchorage for this tour when the call came. The company accepted a med evac charter and thus canceled our tour. Sure they would make a lot more money doing a med evac flight than a flightseeing tour with at least 2 passengers using a Groupon. Being the largest floatplane base in the world, I can't imagine another company with a plane equipped for a med evac couldn't be found. In fact, when I asked the person who called me about that, they said that they didn't want to turn down the request.

Pretty pathetic to put money above good customer service. I could never rely on or recommend a company with this sort of unethical way of doing business. And they never responded to a BBB complaint filed. Quite a shame.

3  Thank fti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike l, Manager at Regal Air, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

We are very sorry about the situation that occurred that day, it was not a normal occurrence and we try to maintain our schedule to be very regimented, and most of the time we do, but unfortunately situations do arise beyond our control. We do have customers to whom we are the only means of transportation, including emergency transport. The cancellation of a flightseeing tour to do a medical situation flight was driven in no way by money or profit, I can assure you. I am sorry that a reschedule for another time or day was not an option for you, and I know that between Regal Air and Groupon we should be able to refund or to resolve the situation to make everyone happy. Again our deepest apologies, we are Regal Air always strive to provide the utmost customer service, and we are sorry we did not meet our goal this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Thank Johannes Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

1  Thank Gastrodanilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike l, Owner at Regal Air, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regal Air also viewed

 

Been to Regal Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing