We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent sushi in Anchorage”
Review of Jimmy's Sushi - CLOSED

Jimmy's Sushi
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vilassar de Mar, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exelent sushi in Anchorage”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to Jimmy's sushi restaurant after 20 days of trip all around Alaska and was our choice because we want some different type of meal. Our expirience was awsome, great fish: tasty and fresh. An incredible variety of chef rolls and a good service too. Chinesse or japanesse it doesn't matter, it's a very good place to have sushi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    20
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Carry Out order for lunch!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A friend was headed to Jimmy's for lunch - I asked her bring me a carry out sushi order - she picked the crunch roll - very good. Moist rice and tasty. I look forward to going there in person and checking it out. So far, so good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheersAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sushi done right!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fresh and tasty every time :) quick and friendly service, Jimmy making sushi behind the bar himself (dont see that very often!) Owner operator "Jimmy" makes high quality sushi with expertise and thoughtful preperation in every move, his deft craftsmanship of quality and superb Japanese style sushi is evident in every bite!
If you have not tried this Alaskan sushi shop in Anchorage, and you are a sushi lover of quality and value, then you are missing out! Dont just take our word for it try it yourself! Our favorites are "The Jimmy", "Midnight Sun", "Florida Keys", and "The Sleeping Lady"! To name a few !!! Enjoy!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nargis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great sushi at great prices”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thank goodness for this place. After a week of crap meals in Alaska/Anchorage, this place was refreshing. The service was friendly, other reviews referring to unfriendly staff/service may be misinterpreting a language barrier as such. The sushi was fresh, and one of our only reasonably priced meals in Alaska. The rolls here are huge, with a lot of fish. This place was really good, I'd go here if it was in NYC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jadewin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wowee I am impressed .and I am a food snob from seattle”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Ask for the 50dollar spec and come hungry incredibly inventive super fresh. And I am in the seafood business. Blown away!! Must try jalapeño yellowtail.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffschock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Sushi also viewed

 
Anchorage, AK
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing