We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aurora Winter Train - Day Tours
Review Highlights
Great RIde, Decent Food

We left Ancorage at 8:30 a.m. for an epic journey to Fairbanks. Once clear of Anchorage, the... read more

Reviewed April 3, 2019
Steven C
,
Martinez, California
Winter Snow Train!

What an amazing trip! We left Fairbanks, AK at 8:30am and arrived at Anchorage at 8:30pm. It was a... read more

Reviewed February 26, 2019
choicegirl
,
Aurora, Indiana
Read all 46 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Anchorage
from $206.00
More Info
from $206.00
More Info
from $245.00
More Info
from $156.00
More Info
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
35
9
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
35
9
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews take photos dining car limited supply without being intrusive spotting wildlife breathtaking scenery mountain range points of interest great ride dall sheep engineer conductor commentary vestibule caribou passengers stops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 46 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2019

We travelled from Anchorage to Fairbanks and had a great day. A brilliant way to see Alaska in winter. There was a couple there who go every year. Really friendly staff; food and drinks were good. The train commentary was good without being intrusive. They called out whenever they saw moose, which was helpful! And they stopped the train at key points (eg near Denali) and opened the vestibule windows so we could take photos. Really recommend this as a way to see some of the country. Be aware they don't use the trains with the upstairs viewing bubbles at this time of year.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank DonnaGetMeStarted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Dining service was terrible, unless you were "Gold Star" The Chefs were 4 Star!
Gold Star members were served " First "

I wasn't going to pay well over $300 for this " Gold Star" Service!

Already $283 in.

Kenai Fjords Park tour was 3 Star it also included Buffet.
And these companies still beg for Tips!
After 3 hours a group of 8 decided to hit the dining car, cause no one was going too come for us! Their excuse was short handed!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 106kenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

We boarded the train at Anchorage, first stop Girdwood then on to Portage,after that we stopped at Whitttter, Spencerand last was Grandviw. Some of the stops were brief. Whittier and Grandview were 45-60 minutes.you can be dropped off for rafting and picked up on the return. You will see 5 Glaciers and learn how each were named. Along the way we seen Moose ,Dall sheep, Bald Eagles. It was also impressive to see a lake full of ice bergs. We departed at 9:45am and returned at 9:15pm. Food and drinks are available for your pleasure. It is a lifetime memory. It is on the costly side.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Paulette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

Almost 12 hours of breathtaking scenery. Best value in Alaska. Alana made the trip so much fun. She is the onboard supervisor and she was full of information which she shared. So happy the we made this trip

Date of experience: April 2018
4  Thank Mildred5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We recently (Dec. 23 & Dec. 27) traveled from Anchorage to Fairbanks and then a few days later in the reverse direction on the Aurora Winter Train. It was FANTASTIC. The cars were clean and comfortable as were the seats. The thing I want most to comment on at this time is the train crew. Not only were they friendly and helpful, but through their comments over the loud speaker, telling us of the points of interest we were passing, of the local customs, events and people, and pointing out wildlife as we passed, they enriched the experience. We had a PERFECT view (in both directions) of Denali and the engineer(s) even stopped the train so all aboard had the opportunity to snap all the pictures. It made the day. The food was delicious and hot. In spite of a packed train on the way north, meals were served efficiently and the wait staff, probably tired, was friendly and on the spot. My only suggestion would be to have a "north-bound menu and a south-bound menu" to vary the selection.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Marjory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews