We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian in Alaska!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Nova

Villa Nova
Ranked #173 of 867 Restaurants in Anchorage
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: International Airport Rd.
Wasilla Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have been eating here for years, and have never been disappointed. First, they have the best appetizers, we love the Gnocci with Gargonzola. They have a lemon chicken soup that is the best soup I have ever tasted. Those are always no brainers for us, we always get those, but trying to choose a meal is tough because there are so many fabulous choices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaskaCouple2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Garlic breath really is sexy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Like so many good restaurants in Anchorage, this one is buried in a little stripmall. Many of these places don't look like much from the outside, but inside, it's a whole different story.

As others have said here, the food is fabulous. The dishes are large enough to share and the menu is quite extensive.

I also like the fact they usually have live music (a classical guitarist) which makes for a good atmosphere even on an impromptu night out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If in Anchorage, DO NOT MISS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Villa Nova, a little piece of northern Italy in,,,,Alaska? Yep, it's true. It is located in a rundown strip mall (close to the airport so great to go to coming to or going from Anchorage) but don't be fooled by the exterior. When you walk through the door you are transported across the pond into northern Italy. And the food, unbelievable. Some of the best meals in my life have been at this quaint little restaurant. Chef Georgio taught at the Cordon Bleu. The food is FABULOUS, and he is more than willing to adjust most dishes to accommodate your tastes, especially to make things spicy (hint, try the Cacchucco [sp?] and order it "alla Bruno", if you like a spicy trip through the world's seafood). And the desserts, totally FABULOUS! The menu is extensive, the wine list eclectic, the atmosphere is very romantic, what else do you want. NOTE: if you are looking for a quick meal, this is not your place, plan on spending an evening and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brotherbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
227 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great place considering its in an odd strip mall!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Went on a recommendation from my local. It was a spot on description in that she said the food was amazing but the Decor is a little funky. We added it to our "we will come back to this place" list. Calamari was a wonderful start to the meal but my egg plant stuffed Parmesan was incredible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKtravelers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Italian Food Restaurant in Anchorage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have the shrimp scampi Alfredo and seven cheese rigatoni. Both dishes were excellent. The best Italian restaurant in Anchorage by leaps and bounds. We have lived in Anchorage nearly 10 years and had never tried Villa Nova. We won't make it 10 years for the next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlesteranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Nova also viewed

 

Been to Villa Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing