We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cycling the Tony Knowles Trail”

Downtown Bicycle Rental
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: More than 100 bicycles of all types for rent. Five blocks from the Coastal Trail. Free lock, helmet, map, repair kit, direction and suggestions. No reservations necessary.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cycling the Tony Knowles Trail”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have biked in Snowshoe West Virginia and the Blue Ridge Parkway. This Trail is just as scenic as Snowshoe West Virginia with ample stops to rest and enjoy the views. As for the bike rental, the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. It is a great way to really enjoy Anchorage and a very reasonable way to do it. It is a must do experience even if you do not like to bike, you should take walk along the trail.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    12
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We rented a bike from this place and rode the Tony Knowles trail. The owner and his employee were incredibly helpful. Not only were the bikes in excellent condition, but on-board storage was also provided. All of our questions were answered, and good advice given. We would recommend this business to anyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank riccar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really takes the time to help”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I rented a bike in order to provide support for a friend of mine who was running the Moose's Tooth marathon. I knew nothing about the city and needed to meet my friend at mile 7, 14 and 21. Peter helped me to find the best routes through the city to meet my friend along the marathon course.

Additionally, this bike shop had a great variety of bikes to choose from - not just heavy hybrids with really thick tires. I was able to get a lightweight hybrid with thinner wheels. Made peddling through the hills of Anchorage more efficient.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusannaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Peter is a pro. Whether you're taking the shuttle out to Flat Top Mountain or renting bikes for the Coastal trail, he has all the support needed to feel very comfortable. Directions are clear and Peter is very specific. His suggestions are spot on amd he has a wide variety of bikes (mountain, road, cross) as well as shoe rental! He makes it very easy. What a treat to see more of the city then just the regular tourist traps. Highly recommend biking the Coastal Trail. We had to stop for moose on the Coastal trail!

Helpful?
Thank Gigi-ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just Awesome”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a morning to kill and Anchorage and heard about the Coastal Trail. At 8am we met Pete who set us up, including using some packing tape for our jeans (shorts are a good idea). Clear instructions were provided with a map, a pouch to keep stuff in, and a lock. Really a good deal, I think we had our bikes for 3 hours and it was $32 (compared to $60 in Vancouver a week later). Can't recommend them strongly enough.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank panda952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Bicycle Rental also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Bicycle Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing