We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
341 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The thing that stood out the most for me here was the plentiful room for the included breakfast. The area with the food was nicely spread out, the quality and selection at breakfast was good, and the dining area was also spacious. (Many of these kinds of hotels have very cramped food service and dining areas.) The staff overall also was friendly and attentive. The only odd issue was the length of the hallways and the related distance to walk to my room from the elevator--it has the number of rooms that would have been more typical of a hotel with one more floor--so it really is quite spread out. But, it's clean and modern at a decent price in comparison to the competition.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Tony9876,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I have already forwarded on your comments to my team so they know the hard work they are putting in is paying off. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast and I hope to see you again in the future!

Very Respectfully,
Chris J. Racanelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    152
    28
    5
    9
See reviews for
139
117
27
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munford, Alabama
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed here for the duration of my trip to Anchorage. This is a very nice hotel with free breakfast and hot coffee all day long! It has a nice walking trail alongside the lake and it is in a really good location. They also offer the government discount and the rooms were really nice. I will be staying here again on my next visit! I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards Member and they treated me very well.

Room Tip: Get the lake view in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi Jody D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I'm happy to know that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Very Respectfully,
Chris J. Racanelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My son was competing at the UAA campus several years ago and his coach chose to stay at this hotel which is close by. This was my first time at the hotel and previously for family trips to the big city we were staying at the Holiday Inn Express (HIE) on Spenard. We have been staying at this hotel ever since. The primary reasons are the coach which is big enough to sleep on or can use the hide-a-bed (better room for family of 4). We also like the outside atmosphere - nice to look out the window and not see traffic and big city life. Price has been less than the HIE. We do miss some of the breakfast items at the HIE though.
It is also close to the hospital (within walking distance in the summer). I had an unexpected stay in the hospital and no idea how long I would be in. The hotel management really went out of their way to ensure my wife had a room during the busiest time of the year, with no idea how long she would need one. I think the room price is very fair compared to other hotels in Anchorage. Beds and pillows are comfortable. We often bring our own pillows on trips, but not for this hotel.
Most (90%) of stays here I would rate this hotel five stars, but not consistently so I'm giving it four for the following reasons. Have walked into dirty rooms a couple times. The last time we stayed here we arrived and had to wait for 30 minutes for a room, and was well into normal check in time. TV did not have sound one time and waited for 4 hours until manager came on shift and knew how to fix (unplug cable box) - common issue apparently and so everyone at the front desk should have been aware of it.
And as others have said this can be and usually is a very noisy hotel between the sports teams and seems like routine rude people being loud in the halls all hours of the night. There is a large gap under the door that lets the noise in. Fortunately my family likes to sleep with lots of white-noise and the HVAC in the room is very loud. We also bring sound making clocks - still there have been times where even that is not enough to mask the noise outside in the halls.
Also as others have said there are no restaurants within walking distance. Not a big deal for our family but might be for some. The hospital has the closest food (which is quite good), and also a Subway.

Room Tip: Each room as advantages and disadvantages. Closeness to elevator is more convenient but noisier. Hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesdude0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The direct booking off-season rates (with extra discount for AAA) are not much more than the best Priceline deal, and the facility is MUCH nicer than anything you get from Priceline. It's also the only hotel that's very convenient to University and Hospital events. On campus, it has much less traffic noise than most Anchorage hotels. Lots of families with kids. Nice pool/hottub layout (but no in suite tubs). Acceptable breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akfletchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Booked this property based on TA reviews. Glad we did. The room was very comfortable, with a view of the frozen lake and dog walking trails (which provided quite the amusing past time).

Wi-fi and hard wire internet is free and easy to access--you need to sign in once a day, but it's quick. Local phone calls are free.

There isn't much closet space in the room, so if you are bringing a lot of clothes, beware. You've got maybe 18" of hanging space, and there's a drawer at the bottom of the cabinet, precluding hanging of slacks.

Interestingly, the towels had no odor to them before use, but toweling off after a shower produced a strong coffee aroma in the towel. That was a first. Maybe it was a subtle reminder to have a cup of joe.

Speaking of which, breakfast was also free. Waffles, fresh fruit, juices and coffee, eggs and a meat dish (sausage or turkey bacon), breads and pastries, cold cereal--and very attentive attendants who keep things clean and fresh. Enjoy breakfast next to the fireplace reading a free newspaper.

The indoor pool and hot tub were very busy with lots of kids. And some of our neighbors needed to find their quiet voice. But all in all, not a bad stay--especially with the all inclusive rates.

No complaints!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredMilitary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fosston, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at the University Lake Springhill Suites for two weeks with an ill family member . I found the entire staff from the front desk to housekeeping provided excellent customer service. The rooms are clean and well planned out. There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room which helped cut down on our food expense as did the provided breakfast. Laundry facilities on site are convenient. The location next to the lake is peaceful away from traffic noise but the area is close to the hospitals.
Considering the circumstance of our stay, we were as comfortable as we could be and felt very supported by the helpful, friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights just to get away for a few days. The accomodations were very pleasant, and the staff was very friendly and professional. The price was a little high, but you have to remember that this is Alaska. Overall, it was a very pleasant getaway.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bubba948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Address: 4050 University Lake Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508-4600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing