We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I had read about and more - worth the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything I had read about and more - worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

What a beautiful hotel. The room was outstanding with very comfortable beds and the view was astonishment. The staff was friendly and took the time to answer all of our questions, breakfast was great! I love the free 24hr shuttle - that was an added bonus we didn't even know about. Take the shuttle to dinner, call and they come pick you up - for free. You can't beat that. This was my first stay in a spring hill suite and I will be looking for them where ever I go from now on. You will not be disappointed - and I am picky person when it comes to hotel stays! Enjoy - we did!

Room Tip: Be sure to book the back of the hotel - the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Car116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    150
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
139
117
27
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The sheets were clean but not ironed. My room did not close all the way to the bottom of the floor. The alleys light was slightly disturbing my sleep. Make sue you check your door and its properly insulated.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vka30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is situated just a few miles away from downtown which is one of its best features. Nice and quiet, great views of the mountains, lake directly outside of hotels rear door. this lake is home to large beavers and there are some big salmon swimming just next to the foot bridge. Outstanding firepit on the rear patio (best Ive seen). Super modern Euro style rooms with monster flat screen TV, Breakfast includes sausage, eggs, waffles, otameal, toast, bagles , Excellent Muffins, milk juce, 24 hr coffe and tea. decent gym with dumbells up to 50 lbs. Hotel staff was very friendly, no complaints during my 8 day stay. Breakfast should change to bacon or pancakes sometimes though.

Room Tip: ask for mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropical-Excursion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natrona County
Level Contributor
129 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We checked in after midnight and received a very pleasant, quick check in. The room was very clean and had the split bathroom, one section on each side of the closet. The toilet side room had a pedestal sink and the shower side had a vanity. Nice to have 2 sinks for getting ready for bed or getting ready for the day. There is no tub and no bench in the shower. I am noting this for ladies who will be shaving their legs. I got up to shower while my husband was still sleeping. The shower room door is frosted and as soon as I turned on the light, the room also lit up. The toilet room door is solid and while the frosted one is attractive, maybe this would be an issue for some people. The breakfast area is divided into a nice sized food area and a separate sitting area. The hotel was full but space did not seem to be an issue while we were there. Our stay was short and sweet and we would gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takemeaway79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here three nights and loved it. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is the new euro style Springhill. Nice, typical room. Nice large tv, but no sleep timer. Fast wifi. Fair hot breakfast, eggs, meat, waffles, oatmeal. Same every day though. Great, friendly front desk staff. No restaurants close by if that's an issue.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

There is a reason why this hotel is rated so high and has so many positive reviews - it's a great place to stay. I chose the University Lake location (while my colleagues chose a downtown Marriott) mainly because I knew I would be here for the week and needed a place to spread out. I wanted it to feel like more like home, and not be in the middle of the city. I also knew I would be coming and going and didn't want to deal with valet parking. It met all my expectations. The staff was accommodating and friendly, rooms are modern and spacious, breakfast was great. My only wish would be for a larger fitness facility, but it was adequate. If you want to be in the city, this isn't the hotel for you. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Great lake and mountain views on the left back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Dimond Center Hotel
#12 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Address: 4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing