We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice, very helpful.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Planet Anchorage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Maybe the neighborhood isn't five star but this is a very comfortable and friendly B&B. We arrived with my leg in a splint from an accident two days before and Joanna could not have been more helpful. She was happy to fax my travel insurance people and reorganized rooms so that I didn't have to face up to stairs. The location was a great compromise between town for dinner and the airport the next morning. We enjoyed the fresh fruit for breakfast, though didn't indulge in the cooked options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HineNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

I visited with my two kids in early August. Joanna's sister Kay was extremely helpful, kind, and made us feel at home. Her breakfasts were superb. The location was good: a comfortable 20-30 min walk to downtown. I have been to other B&B in different places, and I had a hard time in deciding if I should rate this one Average or Very Good. I finally decided on Average, mostly in consideration of the housing/price ratio. I stayed in better housing for a lower price. However, this is the only B&B i stayed in Alaska, so my comparison might not be completely fair.
In summary, this was a good choice even if I would not call it a good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RemoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

JoAnna runs a homey, comfortable, friendly, albeit small B&B in a residential neighborhood in Anchorage. Close to downtown. JoAnna is an interesting person who enjoys chatting with her guests. Breakfast included fresh berries, eggs, cereal, muffins. If you enjoy a B&B experience in someone's home, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I visited in early August with my elderly parents who are from South Africa. Joanna was away, and her sister Kay could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were wonderful, those muffins were yummy! The accomodation was downstairs in 2 bedrooms with a shared bathroom and a cozy sitting room with cable TV. We found the address to be nice and central and were able to park our rental car in the driveway. The hosts even offered to mail me a fridge magnet I thought I had left behind and I was extremely surprised to find 2 bottles of Fireweed Jelly, a specialty jam that they offer at breakfast time, had been mailed to me. Thanks again for a fabulous visit

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at Planet Alaska Bed and Breakfast for four nights, and highly recommend it for travelers who enjoy a warm, homey, quiet, comfortable place. The hosts, JoAnna and her sister Kay, were always helpful and they went out of their way to make sure I had a great vacation experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but very comfortable. There is free Internet, but no TV or clock radio in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmichael03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Planet Anchorage B&B for two nights, at the beginning and at the end of our trip in Alaska. JoAnna was very kind, she waited for us when we landed at Anchorage airport, even if check-in time hasn't started yet. She gave us a lot of information and advise about what to see in Alaska and she lent us a road map and a book. Breakfast was nice and hearty. I definitely recommend this place and if I go back Alaska sometime, I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romeochicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed with JoAnna for 3 separate single nights during my travels in Alaska. She was a kind and accommodating host, and great fun to chat with. For bookings, her website works reliably, and JoAnna will readily answer more specific queries you might have, by e-mail. The rooms are clean, simply but comfortably furnished, with adequate bathrooms and copiously supplied with towels, Her breakfasts follow the same pattern: basic, wholesome and delicious. She provides freshly baked muffins and lovely fresh fruits to accompany her cooked breakfasts, and as a vegetarian I felt well catered for. She managed to produce excellent tea to suit a British taste! The free wifi actually works at reasonable speed, which is not true everywhere. The location is quiet, and though a way from downtown is very easy to reach from both north or south, coming from the main highways. Having a car is probably best, if you want to visit downtown Anchorage. (If you are visiting from out-of-state and need to book a rental car, it's best to do so well in advance, or the prices can be excessive). I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. No frills, no fuss, just excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ground-floor rooms are the most convenient, e.g. Jungle Joe's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeasmoldWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
13.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
30.2 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,127 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Anchorage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Anchorage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1420 Nelchina Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $69 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban remodel adjacent to downtown shopping, train & bus station. Free Wi-Fi and easy access to highway and midtown businesses. You are welcome to borrow my bikes to ride the Coastal Trail out to look for moose. Enjoy fishing at Ship Creek only 12 blocks away or take free shuttles to the Native Heritage Center, museum and zoo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing