We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The first class museum!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center

Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Ranked #4 of 215 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Alaska's largest museum focusing on art, history, science and culture of Alaska.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
181 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The first class museum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you have time to visit only one museum in Alaska, Anchorage Museum is the one. The Alaska native culture and art are well presented in the museum. You will see all the best pieces of art in this place. If you have more time, the multi-median presentation gives you more interesting details. The museum is not only for history, but also have a science section where children and adult can hand on something for fun. Please do not forget to watch the movie Northern Light, especially if your visit is not in season to see it at night. Lunch in the museum café is delightful also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny201110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,202
    493
    124
    26
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
401 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a wonderful museum in downtown Anchorage. Parking is expensive ($12 for 1 hour) but so worth it. We enjoyed the movie on Alaskan wildlife. The sculptures and art work are amazing. Wish we had more time there, it was beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RitaBrandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A must see in Anchorage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

An amazing museum with incredible artifacts. We spent time here waiting for the shuttle to Whittier and were really impressed with the exhibits, the videos and the wealth of cultural information presented. Easilly one of the best deals in our trip to Alaska and somewhere we would recommend to everyone. You might find yourself getting overwhelmed by the amount of information but I could see going back a second time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank anchoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was so good. they had something for everyone. we ended up in the science side having a great time. found a camera that films you then slows the footage down by about 100 times! so funny. the meal we had here was really good. Service was exceptional. definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a meal whilst in anchorage.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bez255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,273 reviews
637 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Great museum with excellent exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A lovely building housing excellent exhibits on Alaskan history and heritage.

There's enough here to spend several hours.


The exhibits are top quality and well worth the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center also viewed

 

Been to Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing