We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“So so experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Overall, it seems like a nice hotel. We had a few different issues, some satisfactorily resolved, others, not at all. We were in a nonsmoking floor, and were smelling smoke wry tmstrongly in the hallway, and coming into our room. When we called front desk to complain, we were essentially told since the smoke detectors were not going off, there was nothing they could do. Well in my experience, cigarette smoke doesn't set off detectors.. Second, we went up to get breakfast at 9:35am, and there was nothing got left, just some dried out bread and half a muffin. We waited an waited for more food, finally about 950, an employee came in and we asked if more food was on the way, we were told that since they closed in like ten minutes, that nothing more would be served. We were told we could go to the restaurant downstairs where we would have to then pay for breakfast. We complained to the front desk and were given vouchers for the buffet in the restaurant. The pool area was nice and overall the hotel was clean. The maids were very friendly, and helpful. And our waitress, Dami, in the restaurant, was so fantastic! The rooms are nice enough, though small, with double beds, that were very uncomfortable. Rates are reasonable, and I would most likely stay again. But apparently if you want breakfast, they stop serving around 9, even though it says they are open until 10.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emarief05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor, your constructive criticism will help us better serve our guests. Thank you for your business and I assure you that I will be following up on the items you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    93
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
58
72
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago when our son graduated college and received his Bachelor's Degree in Psychology. This time he was graduating/being awarded a Master of Science Degree in Counseling Psychology. Very little has changed in two years. The room we had was clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The same amenities were all in good working order. An iron, television, mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, temperature control and radio/alarm clock are provided and a rare item you don't see too often, a phone book were all in the room along with ample closet space and hangers.I think its location is ideal and close enough for the various interests abundant in Alaska. The spa and pool are small but adequate. Two years ago, you joined the Priority Club (free) and had breakfast at the in house restaurant, Juno. Now it is in a club room on the 6th floor and you need a swipe key in the elevator to get there. The breakfast consists of the basics scrambled eggs, 2 meats, cereal, fruits, milk coffee, tea, breads and danish's. All the staff were very nice and Rose who works at the front desk always had a smile on her face and went out of her way to answer a question or to make you feel at ease. All in all, a good place to stay at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank just2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! Congratulations on your sons graduation with a Master of Science, you must be very proud.
We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve your hotel needs in the future.
Tammy Griffin
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Anchorage Midtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

You know, you can't have every place perfect. I learned about the water pressure issues to from a last stay. I requested to stay on another floor on my next visit...Not a problem. I have 2 reservations for this hotel coming up, NOT going anywhere else. I have checked and found lower prices at other hotels but I do not get the breakfast nor the drink coupons that come with being a Priority Memeber...They treat you right, regardless of who you are...All you need is a little patience. Thank you again Crown Plaza for another great stay, see you again soon.

Room Tip: Request 3rd or 4th floor for your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments! I will pass them on to our staff. I swear there will be a time in the very near future that the water pressure on 5th & 6th floor will no longer be an issue. It took some time to engineer a solution but a new pump is being manufactured for us and we should have it very soon!

Again thank you for your budsiness and thank you for your patience we appreciate the feed back.
Tammy Griffin
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Anchorage AK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk/Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Can hear footsteps above you. Everytime someone walks you can hear them. Doors were constantly slamming. Why can't hotels use doors that close slowly and gently all you have to do is adjust the bar at the top. Soap was caked in corner of soap tray in shower. Has been there for ages. Maids too lazy to scrape it off. Found long blond hair on my towel. Gag. I do not have long blonde hair. Hotel was dark. Interior decorating was out of date and it is a newer hotel. Why they went with dark and dreary I don't know. The faux cabin look doors are silly looking. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses that are nicer, quieter and cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleanUpYourHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a trip advisor review, we appreciate your candid comments and I apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced. I assure you that I will follow up, hopefully you will give us the opportunity to renew you faith in our product.
Again, thank you for comments, the information provided will help us better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel has some good qualities. It is close to the airport, but far enough that it doesn't seem like an airport hotel. It's also overall very clean. The concierges room is nice if you are a frequent traveler, and access is conveniently 24 hours. On the sixth floor the rooms are nice, but one drawback was that the water pressure is terribly low. So low it is inappropriate that they do not address it with guests at check-in. Anchorage is often cold, so cold showers under a trickle of water matters. WARNING: If you have children... The TV seems initially to be free of pornography, but their cable provider (CGI) is definitely a hard core pornography distributor. There is no sort of filter that can be set up to protect children from viewing very graphic and filthy titles, too nasty to list but having to do with numerous combinations of sexual acts so descriptive in the titles that kids are bound to want an explanation. I brought it to their attention and the guy that came to my room to see for himself seemed shocked. If you are traveling with kids its best to just hide the remote. I don't know if the links work because I didn't try, but just the titles are ridiculously offensive.

Room Tip: Ask about the water pressure and if the pornography titles are removed from the list of regular chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your candid review, I assure you that we take our guest feedback seriously and I will follow up on both items you mentioned.
again that you for your comments, it will allow us to improve our service.
Tammy Griffin General Manager
Crowne Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My most recent visit to this hotel was very disappointing to say the least. They were having water pressure issues at the hotel and the shower pressure was less than a drinking fountain for the entire time I stayed there. I had brought it to the attention of the front desk and they simply said they were working on it. 5 days later still no resolution and not one word from management or an apology! When I was checking out the guy in front of me was complaining about the same thing and pretty much just got the "oh well" attitude from the front desk. For an executive room you would have thought they would have taken better care of their customers! Not so much! All I can say is I'm done with this hotel as there always seems to be something wrong when I stay there. From over-booked and your room is not ready at 11pm when you had reservations to no water pressure...What is next? There are better offerings in Anchorage that will gladly take my business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowtech71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we value your feedback and your comments will allow us to better serve our guest.
I am so sorry that you experienced low water pressure. I assure you we take this complaint very seriously and have taken steps to ensure this problem does not continue.
Feel free to call me direct as I would love the opportunity to renew your faith in our property.
Tammy Griffin General Manager 907-433-4100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metlakatla, Alaska
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here while in Anchorage for medical. It was a nice room, good size, fairly comfortable. I think they do need to do something about their laundry, some of the pillows smelled like head sweat or something... and the comforter looked like it could use a bleaching.. like they just needed to tune up the cleaning staff a bit, Other than that the place was great. A friend and I went to the bar for a glass of wine one night, very loud group in there so it wasnt relaxing, but the wine and service was good. We ate the restaurant Juno once and it was quite good, I had a sandwich and sweet potato fries, my son had a turkey sandwich which he said was very good.

Breakfast is upstairs in the top floor lounge, you have to sign in but it is complimentary, it was very good, the coffee was good, so was the pastry and eggs bacon sausage, and potatoes.

We used the hot tub once, the jets weren't working but it was still a nice relax.The pool was very full and clean.
The parking got a little tight due to lots of activities in the area, but the location is great, you can easily access International Airport Road and C street which gets you on your way no matter where you are going in Anchorage.
The Tv was good, internet was fast and easy to log onto and free.
All in all I was glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMGAlaska, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree staying on the Club Lounge floors is a great value, we do complimentary breakfast in the lounge as well as a evening reception.
Again thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Address: 109 W. International Airport Road, Anchorage, AK 99518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you seek the best of Anchorage, discover the experienced staff and stylish elegance of the Crowne Plaza Anchorage Mid-Town. Located in accessible midtown Anchorage, the Crowne Plaza hotel is just minutes from downtown, shopping, the Alaska Railroad Station, H2Oasis, Dena ina Convention Center, the Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and the Alaska Zoo. Just 2 miles from the Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport, the Crowne Plaza Anchorage Mid-Town makes your ride fast and comfortable in their complimentary shuttle. Savor a pleasant meal in the Juno restaurant or enjoy a cocktail before turning in for the night to your Sleep Advantage room.Business travelers will feel right at home at the Crowne Plaza Anchorage Mid-Town - generously sized work desks, free wireless and wired high-speed Internet access (HSIA). Located nearby are local companies such as British Petroleum (BP), Arctic Slope Regional Corporation, Alyeska Pipeline, CH2M Hill, Denali - The Alaska Gas Pipeline, Providence Hospital, Alaska Regional Hospital, Alaska Native Medical Center and the University of Alaska.Hotel guests will quickly realize Crowne Plaza is The Place to Meet. Whether holding a convention, banquet, board meeting, reception or informal event, your comfort and success are ensured. No matter if you are on your way to an adventure in remote Alaska, or here to experience Anchorage s big wild life you will find Crowne Plaza The Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing