We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merely adequate, with a good location”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed in this hotel becauses it was suggested and arranged by our cruise line. Excellent central location--walk to restaurants and several sites of interest. The hotel seems stuck in a time warp from at least 20 years ago. Its "Alaska" lobby decor is dated, a Starbucks outpost notwithstanding. Our room had two comfortable beds and a decent-sized, clean, and dated bathroom. The room decor, again, is greatly in need of updating, though it was clean and in good condition. Forget the name "Hilton" as lending any panache; this could just as easily have been a Holiday Inn. The buffet breakfast was of great quantity and surprisingly good quality. .

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank elainesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2007

We were in Anchorage for a conference and were tempted to get "the conference hotel". Too expensive! The room was tiny for $160, the bathroom was tiny too! Friends booked rooms in nearby hotels for half and even one quarter of the price, less stars but they were very pleased; they had internet access and breakfast and they did not feel ripped off. Parking not included, internet not included, breakfast of course not included. On the upside it was very clean!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank West_U_2005_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

I stayed here for a conference, so I didn't have much choice in the matter. The room was perfectly comfortable the business services were handled nicely (wireless internet, faxes, etc). Seems like most of the business here is for people who are just about to embark on a cruise, so at certain times of day, the lobby is suddenly overrun and long lines develop. Most of the time, however, that's not the case. The location is generally pretty good for walking around the downtown area, and the conference facilities were just fine. There's not much to criticize or praise about this very vanilla hotel. For fun, there's a weird little karaoke bar across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RickyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Wife and I spent a night at this hotel on a trip to Anchorage. I was pleased that they let us check in early and upgraded us to an "executive" room on the top floor of the Anchorage Tower. My status as an HH Diamond helped! That is pretty much the extent of the good news.

The room we got was very small. The room itself was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was small and, frankly, dirty. Plus, the tub did not drain. The bathroom experience was kinda gross.

The executive lounge is located on the 14th floor of the West Tower, so we had to go down to the lobby and take the other elevator up.

The hotel's location downtown puts it within walking distance of many good places to eat. I recommend the Glacier Brewhouse (call ahead for reservations); Humpy's Great Alaskan Ale House; Simon and Seafort's; and Kumagoro for good Japanese.

Next time I will stick with one of the Hilton Midtown properties.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank dave1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Just got back from a week's conference at the Hilton. This was my first trip to Alaska and I was happy to have a nice warm room ready for me. It truly was below freezing coming from the airport - and then having to park my car down a block, skidding down the ice, and into the 3rd level of the parking garage. They do have valet parking - I'm just too proud to use it. The rooms are average, but could use a little touch up as some of the wallpaper is getting old. Nice central location with a park and outdoor ice skating pond just a frozen walk away. Great views from the top floor. One of the staff pointed out Mt. McKinley to me as the sun was going down. I would stay here again, maybe. The Sheraton looked nice from the outside.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank oxsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

I used to get sent to Anchorage several times a year, usually for 2 weeks at a time. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and would offer the following:

PARKING: The parking structure caddy-corner to the hotel is where you park if you pay the nightly fee to the hotel. Problem is, there is hardly any parking in the structure. RECOMMENDATION: Park in one of the public lots across the street. You can't miss them. The only time you can't park in those public lots is when they have the Saturday Market going on during the weekends. I think it costs $6-$8 per day.

LOCATION: Not bad---easy walk to the Anchorage souvenier shops, the mall, the restaurants, the train. The rooms in the higher levels have good views of the water and the people fishing along the banks.

ROOMS: Sometimes the rooms are immaculate, but a few times they were in need of a good cleaning. On one trip to Anchorage no one cleaned the room for two days until I called and complained.

EXCERCISE ROOM: It's fine for a hotel. It has a decent pool, some weight equipment, several stairmasters and treadmills.

BREAKFAST BUFFET: They don't always seem to have it in the winter months, but I think it's always available during tourist season. Nice selection of fruits, pastries, etc. The staff was always attentive and friendly.

SPORTS BAR: There is a decent sports bar in the hotel where you can grab a good burger and beer. The customer service was good.

FINAL BILL: The last time I stayed I noticed the hotel was charging me for parking in that lousy parking structure across the street. (They charged me for only a few days of my 2 week stay, which amounted to around $56). I had to speak to the accounting person, the accounting person's manager, and finally someone in corporate to get my money back because I never use the hotel's parking lot. It was a pain in the neck, and for that reason I now stay at the Hilton Garden Hotel near C Street and Tudor.


  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank pdxjeff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

I just got done reading the review about the hilton. we just got back from alaska sept. 15. we stayed 1 week at the hilton and had no problems.. the person who said they were charged 10.00 for the internet apparently didn't read the notice where it TOLD YOU that there was a 10.00 charge for the internet service. the hilton is located near the train station so for anyone doing tours that include a train transportation then this hotel is the one. its close and saves on taxi fees which can drain the wallet fast. its within walking distance to everything downtown. if you choose to rent a car then tell them at the desk they will give you a slip of paper to put in the wind shield so you don't have to pay for parking which is 7.00 a day. the parking lot is diagonal to the hotel. we found the hotel to be clean and quiet. we were just down the hall from the elavator and never heard anything the whole time we were there.. resturants were a little high but then you know that before you get there places like that usually are. just around the corner within walking distance are other reasonable resturants. we also stayed in fairbanks for 1 week now theres a horror story. stay away from captain bartlett inn

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank snidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
719 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
642 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,183 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 W 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $142 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing