We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to end our cruise vacation”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“A great way to end our cruise vacation”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

As with others, I was anxious about staying at this property. We were assigned here as part of our land-trip following a wonderful cruise. People on tripadvisor, and our tour guide who said she was surprised that our cruiseline would book this hotel (she recommended the Captain Cook) made me anxious that our last night would be our worst. Reality could not be further from that worry--we had two rooms (my parents stayed on the 12th floor with 2 queen beds, I was on the 22nd floor with one king) in the Anchorage Tower.

The rooms are huge and beautiful. Windows run almost floor to ceiling, and sheets and towels (not to mention pillows and other bedding) were wonderful. I, like another reviewer below, like my room on the cool side--the ac worked beautifully. The hotel charges for internet in the room, but they happily informed me (when I called to inquire) that the business center internet is free. . .that was much appreciated.

We ate the buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant--the omelet man ups the ante on an otherwise boring breakfast--fruit was not very tasty, but pastries/muffins, etc were fine. Overall quality--5/10, but since it was included with the room--8/10.

I concur that the location is FANTASTIC. It's easy to walk around from this location, and it is right across the street from the weekend Market, which is phenomenal. It's also only a few blocks to the city center park (with it beautiful flowers) and cute shops and restaurants.

Finally, I found that the hotel's giftshop was more than willing to negotiate prices. That was unexpected, plus their prices were remarkably good ($15 for a sweatshirt, $30 for a lined water coat).

Honestly, I cannot understand what all the fuss is about either. . .I would not hesitate to stay here again, although it does seem that the Anchorage Tower is the "better" one until all renovations are complete.

thanks Hilton--and nice job!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    423
    364
    165
    74
See reviews for
207
431
81
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is roughly the equivalent of a motel 6. Not sure where the previous reviewers stayed but it could not have been this Hilton. Dirty, stinks like rotten eggs, thin towels , cheap bedding. Very tiny rooms - like an inside stateroom on carnival cruise line.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I stayed at the Hilton Anchorage in May of 2009, and was really nervous and skeptical about the reservation after reading the horrible reviews, but I kept an open mind and am so glad I did not change my reservation.

The hotel staff were wonderful, and very accommodating. There was a bit of a issue with the air conditioner (I like my room on the 'chilly' side to sleep) and the desk sent somone up to fix it within 10 minutes. Room service was prompt. the room was clean and comfortable. I did not witness any of the problems that were mentioned in other reviews..... no dirt, mold or 'questionable' stains anywhere, even in the common areas of the hotel that I ventured into.

Most important, the location was excellent, and i felt quite secure there as I am a solo female traveller, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

The Hilton Anchorage I stayed in is very different than the one people have written about below. The hotel is undergoing a complete renovation, and I stayed in the Anchorage tower which is finished. The room was in excellent condition; the soft goods were new; the view was spectacular. I called for a robe, and it was brought right up. The people at the desk were friendly and efficient; the bell staff was very helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. The wake-up call I asked for happened at the correct time.
I ate only breakfasts in the restaurant, and they were very good.
The location is excellent, just a short block to main street and a short walk down to the train station.
I will stay there again, as my experience was very good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My experience at the Hilton Anchorage was horrible. A lot of the other reviews listed here are very accurate!

I will just list some of the problems we had:

1. The first hotel room my boyfriend and I were given had mold growing out of a big wet spot on the ceiling. There was rotting food found on the windowsill. Who knows how long it had been there. The smell was awful!
2. The second room they gave us was a bit better although the third day of our trip the hallway was covered with plastic and people were painting and there was dust all over! I went down the front desk to ask what was going on..and the front desk said knowone should be staying at that particular floor!! She didn't even know we were staying there!!
3. The ventillation thru out the hotel was really bad!
3. The hotel was very out dated!
4. Our keys to our rooms didn't work half the time.
5. The showers were not hot!
6. The room we had was located right next to a club and all you could hear was loud pounding music all night long!
7. We were there for the recent time change. The hotel said our clocks would be set a head an hour by themselves...but they WEREN'T.
8. Wake up calls never happened at the right times.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the anchorage area! Please stay very clear of this place! We would have found a new hotel if we could have, but we had already paid for the hotel in advance.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenity9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usak, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

These pictures were taken from INSIDE room 272 at this hotel.
How bad is it when the windows leak to such an extent as shown.
You'd be better off in a tent!

  • Liked — saying good-bye
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 4000_nights_plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Dirty facility, noisy. Nice Desk clerk staff. Lax security. Really is an expensive dump. Stay at the Captain Cook. Better in every way!

I have stayed in both hotels many times and the Cook is so much better.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Property: Hilton Anchorage
Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing