We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“met our needs..clean...”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed there at the beginning of Alaskan Cruise. It was well situated, easy walk to central part of town...even a outdoor food and nick nak place near by.....Rooms were clean. Would recommend...
food was decent...for a cruise ship pick..was also decent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Smelly shower curtains, dirt in corners of bathroom floor. Food on hallway floor my whole 4-day stay. Expensive internet & valet parking. For the price, I really expect a lot more. However, the staff is great. Treat you as if your happiness personally matters to them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Kerri,

I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down. I will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. I thank you for your review and I really hope you'll give us a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area.

Best Regards,

Scott Doonan
General Manager
scott.doonan@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed over night at the Hilton Anchorage as the start to our Alaska adventure. It was a lovely way to start our trip!! The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was also nice and quiet. We had a spectacular rare view of Mt McKinley from our room, which we heard was unusual because the weather usually doesn't permit. The hotel is located right down town and within walking distance of lots of great restaurants and bars. There are also alot of cute little shops right within a couple block radius of the hotel. We ate breakfast in their cafe, good selection, GREAT staff!! The food prices were typical of most Alaskan places.

Room Tip: Try to get room facing the train yard, that's the direction of Mt McKinley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYHilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Best staff ever encountered and I have stayed at some of the best 5 star hotels in the world. This was my first time in Alaska and I don't know if this is just normal Alaskan hospitality but I was so overwhelmed by the hospitality I told them I am not a Hilton undercover employee checking things out. Hotel is in the center of downtown and rooms have great bay views. From 6 PM Friday to 9 AM Monday off street parking is free, so you can save the $25 parking fee.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was good, but not the best I have experienced. The restaurant was an enjoyable but expensive experience. I enjoyed the room, but the tub was a little dirty looking which didn't allow for taking a bath. Additionally, the Spa was not operational, and looked like it would not be operational any time in the near future as it was filled with dirt and had large pants growing out of it. This was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I had to stay here for a conference. the room price was not cheap by conference standards. The property is older; and I would guess that more than half of the rooms have absolutely no view except of utilities and parking lots. No one should come to Anchorage and get stuck in one of those rooms. the bed was comfortable but the service and the heating was terrible. The fitness center (said to be in the hotel literature on both the fifth and the first floors....) has fine equipment. But the steam room in the men's shower area could not get really steamy even after 20 minutes and the shower had no soap or shampoo in it. The hotel is old and looks it. There is a pool, but it is small and there is no whirlpool. To irritate me even more, they no longer have self -parking as they clearly must have had (there is a Hilton guest parking lot across the street) but they make you valet for $24. One associate told me that the hotel changed hands several years ago to a big corporation and that they stopped offering self-parking to they could make more money. When we needed our heater fixed, we had to ask someone to come up several times before someone did. When we needed fresh towels, we ha to ask someone to come up several times before someone did. (That was on another night.)

I do agree with one other reviewer that, on the plus side, the room did have a large number of conveniently placed outlets needed for our two computers, two phones, and one iPad. Other hotels need to take note of what is needed -- and so many do not.

Bottom line: you can do much better for the money than this old, dreary Hilton. It isn't the worst hotel ever or even close to that. But I can't figure out why anyone would voluntarily choose this hotel. A lot of electrical outlets is not sufficient. Oh, we did finally get the heater fixed....

Room Tip: stay away from the west tower - that is the older one. half of the rooms there look out over hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, General Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Steve,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities, and we regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Best Regards,
Scott Doonan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ths hotel is located conveniently downtown. Standard rooms are small. There is no free WiFi unless you belong to one of the higher HHonors tiers, or your device subscription is on AT&T. The HVAC unit in my room was somewhat noisy. Hot water temperature was somewhat inconsistent. The bed was quite comfortable. There are plenty of AC outlets. Meal prices at the on-site restaurant is rather expensive.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
715 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,180 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 W 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $141 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing