We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
MI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a downtown hotel that charges like it is downtown NY. Anchorage is not a big city. It is easy to get around and the people are super friendly. But, $24.00 per day to park a car??. All of the employees we made contact with were very friendly, extended excellent service and truly cared about our stay. The breakfast buffet was very good and the cook was willing to be creative when I wanted a custom made omelet to which he delivered to my table personally.

The room we ended up in (after moving two times) was a bit small but comfortable. The bed skirting was starting to fray and the mattress was getting to the end of its useful life. No hard wire internet connection in my room only Wi-Fi. This hotel has smoking rooms so make sure you ask for what you want; room change number one. There are also rooms located next to the elevator and vending/ice machines which are very small; room change number two. The rooms are quite but, hot water was barely adequate. In room safe is a nice addition.

The only reason I do not give this hotel higher marks is due to the cost of parking, rooms needing a bit of refreshing, being put in a smoking room without being asked, and then, being moved to a tiny room by the elevator/vending/ice machines.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are available so ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    370
    317
    150
    64
See reviews for
172
373
70
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and am just not impressed. If you are put on the side where the exhaust fans are, they will wake you in the middle of the night when they turn on - very noisy. If you are put on the street side, the Wood Shed across the street seems to attract a lot of riff raft and is also noisy late at night. The restaurant needs more attention from the customer service point, as the food is not bad but getting your order is impossible and because they only have minimal staff, most people go out. The staff who work at this hotel are great and do their best to accommodate. The HVAC is noisy in the elevator area. Great location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the highest possible floor, otherwise you will either hear the fans or street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olesea v, Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your comments about your stay at Hilton Anchorage. We would like to apologize about any inconvenience you had during your stay. We strive to provide best service and we hope to see you back to our property. Please, email me directly at olesea.velesco@hilton.com in case you are coming back to Anchorage and I will be more than happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade for you future stay. Please, don't hesitate to contact me if there is anything else I can do for you.

best regards,

Olesea Velesco
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've stayed here twice, and don't know about other hotels in the area. This one is reliable. The rooms are decent, and the price is good. It is near the convention center, and not far from other downtown stores. We were able to walk to restaurants, the post office, gift shops, and again, the convention center. This is important when it is so cold that you don't want to have to spend much time outdoors to get to your destination. When we go back to Anchorage, we'll probably pick this hotel again.

Room Tip: We prefer upper rooms. The rooms vary in size, some are quite small. If you get a good deal on the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OffTheGridHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Arrived on afternoon flight for a two day conference. Check-in was speedy. I had a room on the 10th floor; very clean, comfortable, and a great view. As the weather was very snowy and the conference held on the premises, I did not go out too much. The restaurant food was quite good and snacks were available in the gift shop. All staff were very cordial and helpful. Free wifi in the room and Starbucks in the lobby. Life was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Arrived here with my husband after a couple of weeks in Fairbanks and Barrow, had stayed in the Sheraton Ice spa hotel on a previous and found it a little too far out personally because I was on my own. The Hilton is excellently located close to lots of tourist attractions, walks, the mall and a variety of good individual restaurants. Easy walk to the Alaska railroad station if you are going on the day trips to Seaward. Would need a taxi if you have luggage.

Free shuttles to the knife factory and Native American centre stop close by.

The hotel was nice an very friendly my husband was in a wheelchair due to motorcycle accident and hey we're wonderfully helpful. We ate in the bar restaurant the food was of a very high standard and menu substitutions/additions were no problem. Our room was very clean, everything worked and plenty of toiletries. Would definitely return if We go back to Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachyWaves30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Arrived around 11PM on a Thursday Night and was promptly greeted by the valet who took my keys and helped me with my bags.

Check-in was seamless, it took five minutes with desk staff to get me my key and I was off to my room.

Logged onto the internet very quickly to check email and it was very fast;
The room was very nice, bed was comfortable, and there was no noise from rooms on either side.

When I awoke the following morning and opened my windows I was treated to a breathtaking view from my window of the mountains in the distance.

Breakfast in the morning was very good, all be it very basic by Hilton standards (which is fine as it was free as a Diamond Member) but still hit the spot.

All and all a very good experience and a highly recommend to anyone staying in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Get a room on a corner facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivan_Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've stayed at the Hilton in Anchorage several times during business trips, and have been very comfortable. Some of the hotel's upper floors could use a little bit of a face-lift, but the rooms are perfectly clean and comfortable. The location is great; within walking distance to most of what downtown Anchorage has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#13 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Property: Hilton Anchorage
Address: 500 W 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#18 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing