We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating!”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was very pleased that the Hilton Anchorage allowed me to check in early.....at 630am. I had taken a red eye flight from Seattle and was worried I was not going to be able to check in until noon at the earliest. I decided to give it a shot and sure enough, they were very understanding and accommodating. This is actually the second time they've extended this to me...as two years ago, I checked in around 930am. Although I'm not implying this can always be extended due to availability, it was a nice gesture on their part. The Hilton is the only hotel I stay at when visiting Anchorage.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kenley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great Downtown Hotel. Nice Clean Rooms and Restaurant. Very good value for my travel dollar. The Building looked somewhat old on the outside, but inside the property is completely updated. Have not made it to the Honors Lounge, but I'm sure it will be fine as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower on a high floor. The hotel is on of the tallest buildings and on a good day the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This last week I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Hotel in Anchorage...it was quite by accident as I had a confirmed reservations for 4 days at the Howard Johnson Hotel in Anchorage but on arrival was informed that my reservation could not be honored as the hotel was closing the next day. Needless to say I was a bit shocked hearing this news and quite unhappy that management hadn't obviously even considered contacting to let me know this before my arrival.

I had the hotel call around to see if a room with my desired specifications and amenities could be located nearby in the downtown area...the Hilton Hotel was happy to offer a room and also made sure that I received the special rate for the convention I was in town attending.

Upon my check-in, 15 minutes later, I was greeted warmly by the front desk staff who had my reservation in order. In addition to directing me to locations in town where I might find items I needed to by, the staff also provided me with free WiFi for the duration of my visit.

I give an A Plus to all the staff who were so very nice and provided excellent customer service...thank you all for being there and for taking such good care of me during my visit!

for desired room

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton. Our room was beautiful with a great view. The location was great as well. It is just a short walk to the Egan center which was perfect. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a nice getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudplasencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This Hilton is located in downtown Anchorage close to small, independent businesses, a few restaurants and the 5th Avenue Mall. Walking around is easy. Not much there. Quirky little stores. Lots of authentic hand-crafted stuff by local artists and native Alaskans. You get the feeling you're never that far from a Greyhound Bus Station when you're "downtown." The real action is, of course, happening with the wide range of wildlife and outdoor activities just beyond Anchorage. The hotel feels dated, but has enough going for it to be on the list of places to consider staying. Cleanliness was just "ok." Nice that there is a Starbucks right in the lobby that has long enough hours to seem very hospitable. Staff are friendly, if not really knowledgeable. I asked about going to the Anchorage visitors centre and one other location. Hotel staff gave inaccurate info on both accounts, though they were quite friendly and willing to help. The gym is slightly better equipped than most hotels. Food is hit or miss. Some lunch items were very very good. At other times I wished I had been a little less lazy and ventured out for food.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Hotel has 2 towers. One has already been renovated. The other is in the midst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisainthestates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed twice during the month. We were a tour group. The initial check-in was a shambles. On arival at check-in the front desk staff had no idea about us and the manager was called. He didn't seem to be very with it either. Eventually they did locate our booking. The bellhop service had been prepaid for bag delivery/collection at time of booking but I was informed that they knew nothing about us and therefore I would have to pay for the whole group in cash. After all was eventually sorted I was not given a refund even though this service had been prepaid with our booking done months before!
The restaurant is, well, I suggest you find something outside of the hotel as it is very average. There are some great restaurants just around the corner.
Otherwise the hotel is fine. I will say on our return visit all went to plan with no hiccups!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. Princess lost our luggage and the Hilton staff quickly rectified the situation and got our luggage back. One elevator was being repaired so it took a while to get to and from our room but at least they were doing work on it at night and not prime daytime.

Our room was not as dated as the rest of our hotel. Standard room. Nice view. Adequate. I did like the toiletries - not the generic toiletries typically supplied.

There is a small cafe which we did not eat at. There is also a shop for toiletries/things you may have forgotten to pack as well as souvenirs. The breakfast buffet was very expensive - even for our New York expectations. There is an excellent breakfast place around the corner.

Overall, our stay was fine considering we were just there over night. Would consider staying again if it were for one night.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank emily172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
715 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
1,180 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Address: 500 W 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $141 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing