We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment seeing it is supposed to be a Hilton Hotel”
Review of Hilton Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Anchorage
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A disappointment seeing it is supposed to be a Hilton Hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed twice during the month. We were a tour group. The initial check-in was a shambles. On arival at check-in the front desk staff had no idea about us and the manager was called. He didn't seem to be very with it either. Eventually they did locate our booking. The bellhop service had been prepaid for bag delivery/collection at time of booking but I was informed that they knew nothing about us and therefore I would have to pay for the whole group in cash. After all was eventually sorted I was not given a refund even though this service had been prepaid with our booking done months before!
The restaurant is, well, I suggest you find something outside of the hotel as it is very average. There are some great restaurants just around the corner.
Otherwise the hotel is fine. I will say on our return visit all went to plan with no hiccups!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    447
    387
    177
    86
See reviews for
230
474
84
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. Princess lost our luggage and the Hilton staff quickly rectified the situation and got our luggage back. One elevator was being repaired so it took a while to get to and from our room but at least they were doing work on it at night and not prime daytime.

Our room was not as dated as the rest of our hotel. Standard room. Nice view. Adequate. I did like the toiletries - not the generic toiletries typically supplied.

There is a small cafe which we did not eat at. There is also a shop for toiletries/things you may have forgotten to pack as well as souvenirs. The breakfast buffet was very expensive - even for our New York expectations. There is an excellent breakfast place around the corner.

Overall, our stay was fine considering we were just there over night. Would consider staying again if it were for one night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emily172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Service was top notch! Rooms were a bit small and no extras like a microwave or fridge. No free breakfast or free wifi. Won't stay here again. Not when other hotels offer more amenities at lower prices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedrwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Checked in was not told hotel had no water ...went to room. No water...called front desk...no answer...went to bar to purchase bottled water....next morning brown water came out of shower and sink...front desk staff could not give clear answer at 0700...I went outside and talked to construction crew to get story on water situation....

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelReview_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olesea v, Front Office Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize you had an unpleasant experience during this rare occurrence at our property. We have worked to resolve the issue but regret it caused any inconvenience. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area. If there is anything else I can do for you, please don't hesitate to contact me directly via email at olesea.velesco@hilton.com or phone

Best Regards,

Olesea Velesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Our room was terrible, the hotel was full, and staff wasn't worried. Although we were not cruisers, the steady flow of cruise passengers from around the globe leave Hilton little incentive to worry about repeat business.

The ventilation was non functional, so this meant peeling paint and mildew in the bathroom. The main room had peeling wallpaper, frayed carpet, and a nice football locker room smell. On top of all the physical assault, the wifi only worked one of the five nights, so no communication with work or family.

Almost any other place in anchorage would likely be better than this hotel. Not to mention almost any place else would probably be cheaper too! As a Hilton Honors member you would think things would have been better...

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Shibumi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olesea v, Front Office Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Mr. Jonathan E,

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we strive to ensure guests have an exceptional stay. Please, accept my apology for any inconvenience you had and we hope you can give us one more chance to show you we can do better than this. If you will be back in the area please contact me directly at olesea.velesco@hilton.com and, myself and my staff will be more than delighted to offer you the best service.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.


Olesea Velesco
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here several times for local events. There are 3 very nice hotels in downtown Anchorage.The Hilton, Marriott and Captain Cook. All are within walking distance of the local shops but the Hilton has the best location. In summer, it's Saturday Market across the street, the railroad station and the museum. Not to mention 5 th Avenue mall . It's the easiest place to access the best of downtown.
It's also the oldest of the three. It's been renovated but it's not as sparkly as the others. I love the lobby area. The staff is very friendly and helpful .The best.
Rooms are comfy and the views of the mountains are available from most everywhere. The food is good but spendy. The pool is small but nice and the gym is quite good . I choose it for location and the great staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olesea v, Front Office Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are delighted about your experience at Hilton Anchorage and on behalf of our staff we would like to thank you for choosing Hilton. We hope you will be back in the area and we will be extremely happy to serve you again

Always at your service
Hilton Anchorage family

Olesea velesco
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

After a lovely cruise with great food and stimulating scenery, the last thing you want is a shabby hotel with indifferent staff and few amenities. Anchorage itslef is no great shakes but this Hilton was poor indeed. The reception areas look like they need a lick of paint (and a good clean) and they are crowded with people (like us) coming off cruise ships, so the whole place looks disorganised. When we checked in, albeit before the actual check in time, the unhelpful woman on reception told us 'you'll just have to wait - come back in two hours'. When we finally did reach our room what a contrast to others we stayed in on the trip. It was small, stuffy, ill furnished and the bed was uncomfortable. We had a difficulty storing our luggage but our inclination was to get out of it as soon as possible. thank goodness someone had recommended decent restaurants for lunch and dinner as I wouldn't have wanted to use theirs. We did, for breakfast, and it was practically inedible. We had the buffet which, by the time we reached it, had mainly empty receptacles and a staff unwilling to put in more. What was there was on the cold side - yuck. Rarely have I been so pleased to get away from a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olesea v, Front Office Manager at Hilton Anchorage, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we strive to ensure guests have an exceptional stay from check-in to check-out.
We hope you will give us a chance and stay with us again. If there is anyhting we can do for you please, don't hesitate to contact me directly at olesea.velesco@hilton.com
Thank you again for your feedback.

Olesea Velesco
front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,825 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
1,142 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anchorage

Property: Hilton Anchorage
Address: 500 West Third Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Anchorage hotel is a convenient ten-minute drive from Ted Stevens International Airport, and within walking distance of the Alaska Railroad Depot and Anchorage Convention District. Explore Anchorage's popular attractions including the Alaska Museum of History and Art, the Ulu Factory, Nordstrom and the Fifth Avenue Mall - all only two blocks from the hotel. Enjoy a comfortable stay in a stylish guest room featuring thoughtful amenities and high-speed internet access to help you stay connected with family and business. Dine in the inviting Hooper Bay Cafe and savor a variety of authentic Alaskan and American cuisine. Unwind in Bruin's Bar and catch up with the latest sports and news in this welcoming hotel bar. View the extensive Alaskan art collection in the lobby and enjoy a self-guided walking tour. Stay active during your stay with an energizing workout in the fitness center and refreshing swim in the indoor pool before unwinding in the steam room. Make business easy at the Hilton Anchorage hotel. Stay in touch with business in the 24-hour business center featuring a range of business friendly amenities and services. Our Anchorage hotel offers 20, 000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and event space to easily accommodate business meetings, conventions, elegant weddings and special celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Hilton Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing