We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cozy Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #66 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2006

Our stay at Jewel Lake Bed and Breakfast was most enjoyable. Troy, the owner is very accommodating and willing to help you with any questions you might have about the area. He fixes an excellent breakfast. We loved the reindeer sausage. The rooms are very clean and neat. I really loved the front area where you have breakfast. It was really nice sitting and visiting with other travelers who were staying at the B&B. There is easy access to the airport as well as downtown Anchorage. Troy made us feel right at home.

  • Liked — The friendly owner and the food.
  • Disliked — Liked everything about the accommodation.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try this place out I'm sure you'll love it.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sactogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

The minute we arrived (3am) seeing our room brought smiles to our faces. This B & B has a cabin atmosphere that immediately says "Alaska". Rooms were cozy and comfortable and EXCEPTIONALLLY CLEAN. This is the cleanest best organized B & B that we have ever stayed at.

You will be pampered by the host, Troy, who is always available to assist you with any excursions or travel questions. He cooks every guest an individual breakfast of reindeer sausage, eggs & strawberry waffles and much more.

We appreciated the convenience of being able to purchase a beverage, chips, etc. that he had available in the kitchen. We found the location great, and never heard any noise from any traffic.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the rustic interior, and the fabulous service!
  • Disliked — There was nothing not to like.
  • Tips/Secrets — There is a fully equipped kitchen and you can barbeque and cook for yourselves if you like.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JENLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2006

Great Location from airport. Full breakfast in the morning. Some rooms are in the downstairs area but are nice and large. B&B was very clean and comfortable to be in. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2006

Jewel lake is fine if you want to be close to the airport, but as a B&B, i didn't think it was anything special. The room we were in was tiny, dining area cramped. The hosts were nice, and the food was fine, but I was very turned off by the "store" in the living room, selling everything from snacks to Alaska merchandise. There is also NO LAKE, lest anyone else make this mistake. It is on Jewel Lake road. What I took to be a lake in the website photo was actually a parking lot! =(

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank karenjlms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2006
I'm very sorry to think I was on a lake. There are no pictures of lakes on my website or any discription of a lake. Jewel Lake is a 5 minute walk from here. The "STORE" is easy to explain. Many many guests arrive very late at night (early am) People are always thanking me for having snacks around the house then.. and also in the afternoons. The Alaskan gifts are on a 2x2 table in the cornor of the living room. They are all homemade items that you can not find other places. I have never asked anyone to even look at them.. they are just there. The other items for sale are toiletry items that people forget to bring. I have been thanked many times for all of the above items.

And yes.. two of my rooms are small.. and I only put people in them that are staying one night and are aware of the room. My other rooms I think guests will find are just fine. And yes, this property has a half basement.. sorry about that.. but I have made the best of it by placing flower boxes out both windows of the rooms. Since 1999 I have had many many return customers. I am sorry to think that someone left feeling unhappy. Wish they would have said so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2005

Jewel Lake B&B is close to the airport, the owner is very friendly and the breakfast is good. The B&B is right on a main street and the traffic can be loud. Also, some of the rooms are in the basement of the home, so if you do not want to sleep in the basement, confirm location of the room when making your reservation.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljohns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILTON
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2004

This was one of our first experiences with a bed and breakfast. The owner/manager was friendly, helpful and makes a great breakfast. The facilities were comfortable, very clean and lots of room inside and out. All that we expected. Thought we got a good value. 5 minutes from the airport, 15 mins. from downtown Anchorage.
b

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Crazydaisy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Alex Hotel & Suites
#55 of 73 in Anchorage
133 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
542 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
A Loon's Nest
#63 of 127 in Anchorage
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8125 Jewel Lake Rd, Anchorage, AK 99502
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jewel Lake B&B we want your stay to be what you want it to be. If you want privacy, you can let yourself in the coded front door and come and go as you please. Late night arrivals are easy this way! There is a separate kitchen for guest use, and grab and go breakfast items. If you prefer to be hosted, we live on site and would love to meet you and make you an awesome breakfast to start your Alaskan adventure. We use all natural cleaning products and pride our-self as a fragrance-free facility. This listing is for one room (we have 5) If you need more than one room or would like the whole house, send us a message. Please see our website for other details and pictures of all our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing