We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #74 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
prov31girl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Jewel Lake is less than 10 minutes from the airport, is on a main thoroughfare in Anchorage and minutes away from stores, restaurants and the Seward Highway (AK1), the main road out of Anchorage. Another plus is that this B&B allows you to cook your own lunch or dinner in the downstairs kitchen. We didn’t take advantage of that feature, but it would be a great way to save $ on meals. When we travel, we usually stay in B&Bs, so I've stayed in dozens. I would say the decor here is less typical B&B and more "utilitarian". My hubby and I had one room and my sister another one - all in the basement. There is nothing fancy about this place - it's like staying at your nanas. Some reviews say the host is rude. We did not encounter that at all. Breakfast offered lots of options, nothing particularly gourmet or memorable. I would stay here again if I were in Anchorage. My blog has lots more info on stuff to do in AK - message me if you'd like a link.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prov31girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
46
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were very happy with this B and B. Close to the airport with late arrival available, beautiful place with homey atmosphere, nice room and bath, and wonderful eatting area, great porch, fresh muffins and cookies, and yummy breakfast fixed by Paul....we enjoyed talking with him in the morning along with the other guests...we highly recommend this place and would stay here again. Susan and Mike Ohio

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smjwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We (three golden girls) stayed two nights, Sept 1st and 2nd, 2012. Paul greeted us, but was quickly gone. The room did have comfortable beds, but when we were to turn in, the king sized bed had cracker crumbs on the sheets. They has obviously not been changed. To say the bathroom was quirky would be an understatement. The overall cleanliness of the house was poor.

The young girl who prepared breakfast was very quiet and not very interactive. The choice was waffles or an egg mcmuffin type sandwich. There were muffins and some fruit along with juice, coffee, etc. Not what you expect from a good B and B. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maplelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The place is clean and nicely decorated. Room size is good. Close to the airport and park. There is a separate kitchen in the basement to cook a meal if you want.

For one, the establishment is not attended. #2 half the rooms are in the basement and ours was damp #3 when another guest called to complain that it was cold, he told them to put warmer clothes on. #4 alot of strong admonitory notes posted everywhere. #5 there are 2 way audio vidio cameras posted about. owner got huffy when someone covered the lenses. There are no notices that you were being watched. #6 if you want to do your laundry he charges $8 a load to use the on site machine. $8 is exorbinant. Overall, the hospitality that you expect, was not there. Owner vascilates between rudeness and being merely ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiltedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Jewel Lake B&B in late August and found it to be just exactly what we needed. We arrived in Anchorage at 12:30 a.m. so this B&B couldn't have been more convenient. It was 5 minutes from the airport and the owner, Paul, posted our paper with everything we needed to know right on the front door. He keeps a clean house and serves a good filling breakfast. His breakfast ends at 9:00 a.m. sharp. He has 3 rooms in the basement, including the Moose, Caribou,and blue rooms. There are 2 rooms upstairs as well just off the living room. It was a comfortable bed with a memory foam mattress cover. My husband didn't have any back pain, which made him very happy. There are plenty of restaurants and stores close by too. If you're staying in Anchorage this B&B will do just fine. If you're planning on driving farther like Homer, Denali, or Seward though you'll want to spend the night in one of those towns instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Suite was fine, nothing really special but acceptable. I was awakened at 0600 by the owner telling my husband that I had only paid for 2 adults and that we were supposed to be in a different room. (We just happened to be in the room I had reserved). I was told that I was wrong and that I needed to present a copy of my confirmation, I did one better, I called the reservation company immediately and had them speak to the owner. The owner continued to be rude to us. A lovely way to have our relatives shown the Alaskan Spirit!!!! The owner NEVER so much as said that he had made a mistake, or was even sorry.

I will NEVER stay at this place again, and I would advise you to rethink if you stay there, be sure to bring proof of your reservation or they may attempt to squeeze money out of you first thing in the morning.

Would have been better off to have stayed someplace else!!

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dlzopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The owner was not there when we arrived, but he left a note taped to the door with a code for us to let ourselves in. I was disappointed to not meet the owner because I had read nice things about him in the reviews. The girl filling in to make breakfast was nice, but not very chatty. Our room was cute but rather small. Not room for much besides the bed. They had nice products in a basket in the bathroom for us to use (like shampoo, body wash, etc.). I thought it was a nice touch. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8125 Jewel Lake Rd, Anchorage, AK 99502-4256
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jewel Lake Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing