We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to hang your hat !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Garden Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to hang your hat !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived early and Vic was there to greet us. Quite an interesting fellow with lots of travel tales. The BnB was just wonderful and very very clean. I was very impressed with the breakfast, coffee, fruit, etc that was served. Felt like home. We lucked out because the other guests were extremely pleasant and we had no worries. Thanks for the stay !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AU046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
66
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mont Clare, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful B & B twice; and would stay again! The room we had both times had shared bath...and view of Knick Arm, plus it looked out on a beautiful park & rose garden. We chose this B & B because we are both avid gardeners, but the real stars were the host duo of Vic & Jerry. They were welcoming, helpful, gave us great advice, and were so interesting to talk to. If you want an impetus for further travel, talk to Vic. He's more than willing to share his travels and broaden your worldview. He also drove us to the market & to our next hotel. A real plus you would never encounter in the lower 48! Oh, and the room....it was immaculate, calming & well appointed & decorated like a small gallery. Bathroom great. Lots of books to browse. Breakfast was one of the best we had...Vic is an amazing cook too! We highly recommend this B & B

Room Tip: Two rooms have shared bath, which was no problem for us. Third room has own bath. The rooms with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jar9665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Can
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Shall I just say Vic made the first impression of how friendly Alaskans are. The rooms were spotless. We stayed in two different rooms. One our first night and a different room on our last night in Anchorage. Vic was very helpful....(am I reviewing Vic or the room?) But the man drove us to the car rental, the airport on our last day. He offered to drive us to the market downtown Anchorage. He gave us his number in case we had issues in our drive to Denali. As you can see He did go the extra mile. The rooms spotless, the breakfast tasty and the coffee hot. In closing our trip to Alaska was wonderful. The mountains, the oceans, the wildlife were beyond even the preconceived ideas that filled my imagination. So too the city garden B&B, Vic made our stay as memorable as the peak of Denali.

Room Tip: Room 3 is top notch. More expensive then 1 & 2. But worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea_Kayak_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had one last night in Anchorage, getting in from the train station late, and leaving the next afternoon for the airport. City Garden Bed and Breakfast was a good choice to stay and would have been good for a longer stay as well.

The house fronts on the city green which frequently has interesting festivals. We were in the large bedroom at the back that has its own bathroom and many plants. It was a great setting with wonderful windows, so that the room was flooded with light. Our host, who made us a tasty breakfast, was interesting and has traveled a great deal in some pretty exotic locales. He helped direct us to the Coastal Trail, and then kindly offered to take us to the airport. We ended up feeling welcomed as guests in someone's nicely kept home.

Room Tip: I certainly recommend the room we had, large, at the back, with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol from Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Most memorable was my conversations with the wise, gracious, and perceptive host - for this alone I wish to return. If you appreciate clean, this is no shoes indoors and that pretty much sets the tone. Location is excellent and I had no problem parking an SUV. Frankly, I would trade none of my hundreds of hotel stays throughout the world for this experience.

My only regret - my stay was too brief.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in anchorage in this really nice Bed and Breakfast with very nice and cosy rooms. Vic and Gerry are really friendly and helpful with recommendations and gave us even a lift to hike flattop mountain and to the airport.
The breakfast is great as well - the best eggs we ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at City Garden B&B on 19th to 22nd June 2012 and had the room with private bath.

Victor was most kind and made our stay truly delightful. He gave us a ride to the Alaska Native Heritage Center one morning and to the Alaska Railroad Station on another morning.

The room and bathroom were very clean and had every amenity that you might need.

Location is excellent too. We could easily walk back (20 min maybe?) to the B&B from the train station. Also near to Pablo's Bikes (10-15min walk?) where we rented bikes and cycled along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms. 1 room with a private bath and many plants. The other 2 rooms share a bath but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: City Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1352 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to City Garden Bed & Breakfast,located on the west end of the parkstrip in downtown Anchorage, Alaska. City Garden has accommodations of three rooms all located on the second floor. The master bedroom has a private bathroom and solarium. The two front rooms directly overlook the parkstrip and have views of Cook Inlet and Mt. McKinley. All rooms have queen-size beds with down comforters. City Garden is a non-smoking establishment ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing