We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite a great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definite a great place to stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one nite, and the experience was awesome! The host, Victor was very kind to us to make the breakfast just for us on the time we requested. Fresh fruits, omelet, sausage, toast with fresh made jam...etc... The room was large, very neat, very clean with stylish decoration. The bathroom is also very large and has all the things you need....hair dryer, hair curler, very clean towels, and two separated basins (my husband and I no need to fight for bathroom in the early morning) It is definitely a great B&B that you don't want to miss!!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
68
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Vic, who runs the B&B, is personable and extremely helpful. He picked us up, dropped us at the Cultural Center, made suggestions for dinners, cooked and served fine breakfasts, and at the end of our stay, drove us to where we were meeting our bus. The house is beautifully furnished with a number of artworks from around the world. We stayed in Room 3 (with a private bath), but I peeked at the other rooms, and they (though smaller) are quite nice, too. Staying at the City Garden and meeting the proprietors made the stay in Anchorage memorable.

Room Tip: Room 3 is worth the extra cost. It looks out over the garden and has lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tribecaguy_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first trip to Alaska. We stayed at City Garden on our last two nights after 5 days hiking/ camping in Denali. After a night of back country camping in the rain... it was such a pleasure to arrive at a place that felt like home. The room was spacious (much more than we needed), the entire place is wonderfully decorated and conveniently located in downtown anchorage. VIc was not only a gracious host and amazing cook...but a fellow traveler of the world. We had a great time talking with him over breakfast and sharing travel stories.
Even prior to our arrival when I first called to make a reservation VIc was helpful in recommending other B&B's for dates at the front end of our trip for which he did not have a vacancy. Meeting interesting and genuinely welcoming people (like Vic) only enhanced our great experience in Alaska.

Room Tip: Room 3 had a private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gap2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Charming, intelligent, delightful hosts; people you would like to invite to dinner! Perfectly clean, very comfortable, great breakfast, much appreciated advice and free ride to heritage center. Thanks Vic and Jerry.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room Which has a view over the park and shares a bathroom with one other larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Centrally located, just a minutes walk to downtown yet peaceful and quiet. We stayed in room 3 which was very spacious, had a comfy bed and big private bath. The entire place was very clean and well decorated. All of the plants, orchids, and natural light makes this place a tranquil getaway right in the mists of downtown Anchorage.

Room Tip: Room 3 has it's own private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Before we reserved a room here, we had read something negative thru the review page. Yet we still chose it after I emailed them to ensure that we will get the room (actually it was just to get a peace in mind). There was no any miscommunication happened between us.

True enough we loved the place! Why? Because it was clean, neat and cozy. Those who had seen our pictures gave a thumbs up sign!

Furthermore, the hosts Victor and Jerry were both fantastic persons. Jerry was always available whenever we needed his help. Victor cooked fantastic breakfast and he was very friendly. We chatted on many things. By coincidence, my husband's name is also Victor :P

What made us felt grateful was their hospitality. Vic offered us a ride to the airport when we told him that we need to return our rented car the day before we leave for airport. And our flight was 7a.m, he even told us he will fetch us to the airport at 4.30am!! But we decided to return car while leaving for the airport.

We will definitely rent the place again if we return back to Anchorage!

Room Tip: Email the owner to ensure the room that you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank princessuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Looking for a place to stay in Anchorage last summer was a bit discouraging, since hotels were on the pricy side and their reviews were terrible. From looking at Trip Advisor booking info it seemed like most B&Bs were booked, but I took a chance and contacted a few directly. City Garden looked nice and was available for the 4 days I needed, 2 nights at the beginning and 2 nights at the end of my trip.

Well, I made the right choice, not only was it more affordable than a chain hotel, it had a great location - just a walk across the park to the outskirts of the downtown area; a great host - Vic was very helpful in advice on what to see and do, and let me store my luggage in his lobby after checkout. He even gave me a ride to the airport at which time he returned the tip I had left in the room. (I wasn't sure of their tipping policy, but wanted to err on the side of showing my appreciation); a great room - the room (front, shared bath), was immaculate, as was the shared bath; and great fellow guests - fun to talk with at the breakfast table.

I would stay here again gladly any time I visit Anchorage.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked great, the bigger shared bath room has a library wall full of book, I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ProvidenceKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,825 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
1,540 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 73 in Anchorage
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
683 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: City Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1352 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3245
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to City Garden Bed & Breakfast,located on the west end of the parkstrip in downtown Anchorage, Alaska. City Garden has accommodations of three rooms all located on the second floor. The master bedroom has a private bathroom and solarium. The two front rooms directly overlook the parkstrip and have views of Cook Inlet and Mt. McKinley. All rooms have queen-size beds with down comforters. City Garden is a non-smoking establishment ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing