We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Huge 1 bed suite on the 15th floor with a great view over the north side of Anchorage. It's not luxury but just what you need when travelling with kids. There's a great supermarket next door if you need supplies.

Room Tip: Should have asked for a room with a view Southwards over the inlet
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank greenwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

greenwellington,

Thank you for your review. Your room tip is spot on. We do offer great views of Cook Inlet to the West, but on the flip side, when you are facing East, you have the Chugach Range as your backdrop. Which to choose, which to choose? Happy travels green, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 577 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff at the Inlet Tower (front desk, shuttle driver, wait staff) were all very friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is fairly basic, but clean. The restaurant, where we had breakfast was fine, but pricey (as is most dining in Alaska). If you stay at Inlet Tower, choose a room higher up which probably has nice views of the water. I was on the second floor, so no views. Location was about a 10 minute from downtown Anchorage and a 5 minute walk to the Tony Knowles Bike/Walking trail. Good supermarket on the same block with great coffee.

Room Tip: Choose one on a higher level so you can get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinkoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

GinkoBoston,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I think you nailed almost everything I could have said, so I'll let your words do the talking. Thanks for your time, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Learned my lesson trying to save money on a hotel. I knew this was an old hotel, but even old hotels can have decent beds. Bed was VERY old, springs coming thru, dipped in the middle, bedding old/threadbare dirty, carpets old, dirty, loose all over. Looked like a tenement. Pretty nasty overall. Staff were friendly, public area was updated and nice, but rooms were hideous! Shower pressure good. Will never stay here and do not recommend anyone else do. They need new beds (at least from this century), bedding, carpet, cleaning emphasis (bathroom floor had dirt and hair ick). Did not let me feet touch floor and slept trying not to touch old nasty blanket & spread. Really don't know how they can take money for these rooms with a good conscience.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jomama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

jomama7,

Thanks for telling us about your stay. You'll be happy to know we have already upgraded our linen package, so no worries there. I would like to point out that we take cleanliness very seriously here, and while we are an older property, we cut no corners in health and safety standards. It is a common mis-conception that just because we are "older" we are not clean. In addition to the public areas you mentioned we are also working diligently to update other areas of the hotel, and your direct feedback drives the decisions we make on where we can most improve. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not the best, but we take all constructive criticism as a way to continually improve the guest experience, so thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Good service but needs an overhaul
Left over from the 50's motels
Beds and shower fine
Suited purpose of inexpensive centrally located place
Ck that room has a working air conditioner when u first get into room ( desk isnt sure) and towel and a do not disturb sign
Go as high up as possible
Has Starbucks in lobby
Sometimes 1$ sometimes 2$
Laundry in vasement needs lots and lots and lots of quarters

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Borroc,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the fact that you noticed our cleanliness, as it is often mistaken that because we are an older building, we are not a clean facility. Also, do note that the Hotel went through a "retro-vation" in 2002/2003 which current ownership is working to update, but that even the items that look like they are out of the 50's are in fact newer. All in all it sounds like you had a good stay, and I am truly happy to hear that. Thanks again for your time, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights before and 1 night after a 2 week Alaskan tour. The front desk staff were friendly, though not entirely professional. The whole hotel could do with some desparate updating, fixtures, paint, carpets all pretty old looking. Need better shut out blinds to allow the room to get dark in summer. The rooms were quite large and the beds comfortable, and the location was great, 6 blocks from downtown and a short stroll to the Tony Knowles trail and some nice parklands near Westchester Lagoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzybabe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

jazzybabe666,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We have major plans to take care of the carpets and hallways this winter, so make sure you stop by next time your in Anchorage and check out all the ways we are constantly improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Booked through a group. Entire hotel needs and overhaul. Front desk stuff nice but not professional. You never say room number outloud. Rooms old and bathroom sketchy. Needs better black out shades since the sun doesn't set in summer. Breakfast was the best part.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcs211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

jcs211,

Thank you for your review. We are an older building, but have been working diligently since late 2011 to update a few things in need. I think you will find every time you stay something will be new and updated, but unfortunately we cant do it all at once. Sincerely, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It's reviews like yours that allow us to hone in on the things most important to our guests as we try to continually improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed there july 9th till the 11th. the hotel is older but its still a great place to stay. rooms come with a fridge and microwave, coffee maker and the usual amenities. and if you get a higher floor room, you get an awesome view of downtown anchorage and the cook inlet. The staff is super friendly and will make sure your stay is great. its a place to lay your head at night and sleep after a whole day of adventures or fishing so dont expect a lot. the rooms are comfortable and clean. there is a huge freezer in the basement where you can store your catch until you leave. there is a free shuttle to the airport. the location of this hotel is within walking distance of downtown, and well worth it. New Sagaya market is right in the corner where you can purchase food and great Poke (yes poke! just like hawaii) overall, this hotel has great value for the money, and i would definitely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

caravantrader,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to tell us about your experience. You pretty much covered all the bases as far as positive features, and I'm glad we could meet and exceed your expectations. Tip: The market next door also has EXCELLENT Musubi and Sushi, but it pales in comparison to our in house crab cakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 74 in Anchorage
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
0.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#43 of 74 in Anchorage
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 74 in Anchorage
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Address: 1020 W 12th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $50 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inlet Tower Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel And Suites
Inlet Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing