We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older building but nicely renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Based on previous reviews, I asked for a renovated room when making the reservation by telephone. Andrea honored my request, and an upper floor room was awaiting us even though we arrived at 1 AM. The room was large, sunny, quiet, and very clean.

A plus is the small supermarket across the street. Fresh coffee and a variety of interesting bakery items are available. They also sell good salads, pre-made food, and delicious pastries
which can be enjoyed at the kitchen and dining area in the room.

It is a 15 minute walk to downtown. Hotel parking is free.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

831Fred,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your room. Having the market right across the street is an excellent feature, and additionally we have now added a coffee café to our lobby so you can get your Mocha before you even walk out the door! (Its almost too easy...especially when you work here...)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 583 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Outdated kitchenette. Freed standing cabinet contained an old tube style TV. Air conditioner was undersizes for room and it was only 80 degrees outside. Small, cramped bathroom with very low toilet. Tried to play cards in the bar and they said no. asked for two more chairs in our room and they said no. we ended up bringing them from other rooms from our 5 rooms reserved.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mah7925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

mah7925,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on having a friendly and courteous staff. Good news! Flat screens are coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel at the end of May and when we walked in we had to ask for the price again to make sure it was the real price. I forget if we were at the Super X or the Motel X earlier in the week that had paper thin sheets and beds that sagged before you even sat down.

The Inlet towers were very clean, had an extra curtain to pull down to make the room dark, beds were very comfortable, staff was very nice, had a mini fridge, the water is actually not bad (maybe all of anchorage is like that? but not overly chlorinated in any case) and the price was the best we could find anywhere in town

Room Tip: we were on the 15th floor, 2 different rooms and both rooms were equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

tim b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms at affordable prices, and it sounds like we hit a home run for you! We hope you will stop by again if you find yourself in Anchorage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Confused about writing this.... While the pick up shuttle at train was nice, the lobby nice, breakfast good, and pub neat with music, it all changed on floor 2. Our room was actually comical. We stood and recorded it and laughed.
It started with an air cond unit in the window that did not work on their hottest day yet (it was VERY hot in the room and we are even from the desert), then we found a fan in the closet--but it did not work. We went to get a drink and the faucet was put on backward. So...to the shower to cool off--midnight after train ride. The tub was a 1960 jacuzzi--you seriously have to have a ladder to get in--However, they did provide one!!!! That was funny in itself!
Finally climbed the top of the mountain, got in the shower, and could not figure out how to make the shower come on. When I finally did, it was HOT then COLD,,,,,no warm. Got out--still laughing... no blow drier!
Just went to bed where we had to sofa pillows flat as possible. Opened a window for cool air but it only opened about 4 inches.
Would not stay here again, BUT i must say we did get a good price and still enjoyed the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjjday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

jjjday,

Thank you for your review. I'm having a few laughs myself as it is a common misconception that our building is not clean, when in fact it's just retro. I'm glad you picked that up! We went through a "retro-vation" in 2001 during which a lot of these items were installed new in the hotel. The faucets in the room (kitchenette) are capable of spinning around 360 degrees much like a kitchen sink faucet, and our Jacuzzi's are large (but that's why we provide the ladder.) Also, being a high rise, it's building code that our windows cant open further than 6" due to being a fall hazard for small children. As I mentioned in my last response, the new ownership of the building did go through and replace or repair all the AC units...glad they did because its been record breaking summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here last year & we got a corner room on a higher floor & it had an awesome view & that particular room was large & clean & hot. Luckily, it had a few windows so we were able to get some good air flow. We stayed here again in May 2013 & this time we brought our dog. We were put in a small room that smelled like dogs & it was on the 2nd floor & the room was so HOT it was unbearable. There was an air conditioner in the window but it wasn't working. We asked the front desk about it & the gal said all A/C in the building is on a timer. About an hour later, my older son went back to inquire about the A/C at the front desk & this time a male employee told him that this is Alaska we don't need A/C in this type of climate! (We live in Alaska so I don't need someone telling us about the climate in AK) To sum it up, the beds were uncomfortable & no A/C & no bathroom fan (for after you take a shower to prevent steam buildup, etc). We had 3 fans in the room & it was still HOT! We continued on with our vacation throughout Alaska for another week & we truly enjoyed our A/C in every other Alaskan hotel we stayed in!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on upper levels offer great views. Just because you see an air conditioner in the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlaskaBunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inletscott, General Manager at Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

amct,

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm sorry to hear your second stay wasn't as enjoyable as your first, but we do have to keep pets on pet floors to avoid the spread of allergens around the building. Also, with the amazingly HOT summer we have been having, the new ownership of the building has replaced or repaired ALL AC units to insure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thanks again for your time and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

First Anchorage hotels are brutal. As a general rule they are super expensive, dirty, have crappy customer service and no amenities. To give you an idea, until you've spent close to $300 a night for a 1970s filthy avocado and orange room you haven't been in a typical Anchorage hotel.
I ended up in the Inlet Tower because the original hotel I was to stay at was overbooked. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a fridge, microwave and mini kitchen area. I did my usual bed check and was very pleased.
The hotel is an older building that they've cleaned up nicely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginKetchikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here three times in two weeks; during that time it was like we were family there. The receptionists are very good in making you feel as if you are the only guest there. They take their time with you, help at all times, and make your stay comfortable.
Restaurant and gym facilities are great, but the launderette is not fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th and up give great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 74 in Anchorage
465 reviews
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
2.4 mi away
Puffin Inn of Anchorage
Puffin Inn of Anchorage
#36 of 74 in Anchorage
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
2 mi away
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Address: 1020 W 12th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-4577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $49 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inlet Tower Hotel Anchorage
Inlet Tower Hotel And Suites
Inlet Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing