We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Copper Whale”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #10 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, AK
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Copper Whale”
Reviewed February 14, 2007

My Girlfriends and I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Copper Whale Inn for our annual Girlie Weekend this year and we were not disappointed. The accomodations are great and everyone felt right at home. We had the luxury of having the whole upstairs floor to ourselves, which gave three bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms to 5 woman. We spent 2 nights out on the town, had a wonderful diner at Simon & Seaforts right next door, and a full day of shopping at 5th ave mall and Nordstom. No husband and no kids just girl time. Absolute bliss.......Comfy beds, luxurious robes in room, stunning views. We didn't want to go home.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank akbusymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    74
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
47
129
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klawock Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2007

What a wonderful place. Glen went the extra mile helping us get our computer on line. The food and service was jaw dropping along with the view. You will not go wrong staying here.
Rob and Lisa Omstead

Helpful?
1 Thank romstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2006

The Copper Whale Inn made my extended stay in Anchorage a pleasant one. Glen, the Innkeeper, was attentive to our needs and made myself and the rest of our staff feel at home. Not to mention the wonderful continental breakfast and helpful, courteous staff. The view is spectacular, the location is more than ideal, and the accomodations are unique, comfortable and inviting. You cannot go wrong with the Copper Whale Inn - I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lucidolotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Excellent location, cozy rooms (immaculate), relaxed atmosphere, extremely helpful staff and fantastic continental breakfast. What more do you need?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quite expensive
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Copper Whale Inn is an awesome property that is a great choice for both business and pleasure travelers, especially if you are interested in relaxation. Hospitality is definately a strong suit of the staff. They were helpful and accomodating, assisting with everything I needed from tour recommendations to making my cab reservations.

This historic property is beautifully restored and immaculately maintained. It is located on the edge of downtown and offers great views and access to a wonderful 16-mile hike and bike trail along the edge of Cook Inlet. They even offer on-site bike rentals.

The Inn also offers a wonderful continental breakfast. And, if you want to fix a meal or do some laundry, there are modern facilities available.

I highly recommend the Copper Whale Inn and plan to return in the future!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jdepenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring. MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

As a business traveler, the Copper Whale is great. Its downtown location is close to offices, restaurants, and shops. The Inn also has web access in a central location. The continental breakfast is substantial and will hold you all day. The staff is there to make your stay enjoyable - but not talk your head off when you are busy. All of this for a lot more reasonable price and coziness than you will find at one of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dynamica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

The Copper Whale Inn was a great experience after a week in the back county of Alaska. The General Manager, Glen Hemingson made us feel at home and catered to our every need . The location was within biking distance from the trail and within walking distance to resturants and downtown. If staying in Alaska for one night or one week I would highly recommend the COPPER WHALE INN.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank shadowbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,826 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,542 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
461 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
690 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing