We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service was outstanding!”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #10 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We arrived late on Thursday, 8/31, and were warmly greeted and assisted to our room. The accommodations were homey with a great view of the Bay. The location was perfectly located near a bicycle rental shop, fine dining and shopping. We could walk to everything. However, besides all of these amenities, the most incredible experience was the customer service.

We checked out of the Copper Whale Inn in the morning, but were allowed to leave our luggage in the lobby area since our flight was not until late in the evening. We went biking along the Bay early that morning. The weather was misty and then became rainy. We were drenched when we returned three hours later. The manager, Glen Hemingson, allowed us to use the accommodations to change our clothing, even though we had already checked out, and EVEN allowed us to use the Inn's dryers to dry out our clothing! He went way above and beyond our expectation and we would highly recommend this Inn to anyone. The next time we visit Anchorage, we will definately use the Copper Whale Inn.

Kathy and Bill, Annapolis, Maryland

Stayed: September 2006
3  Thank BillKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2006

I stayed here on 2 short seperate visits in August while touring part of Alaska. Fantastic small hotel. Nice spacious and comfortable rooms. Good fresh buffet breakfast each morning. Coffee / tea avaialable all day. Hotel very clean.

Situated in downtown Anchorage within easy walking distance of all main attractions from museums, restaurants, and yet also coastal walking trail. Quiet location.

No hesitation in recommending or returning.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank philekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

We had a great time at the Copper Whale Inn. Everyone treated us well, in a friendly and helpful manner. The atmosphere was relaxing and the location was so convenient that we walked almost everywhere during our two-day stay. The building we were in was just re-modeled, according to the innkeeper Glen, and is really beautiful. The gardens are amazing, too; I don't know how they get the flowers to grow so profusely! Our room had a view of Cook Inlet, and was very comfortable, with wonderful bedding. The breakfast was delicious, and much more varied than what we expected from a "continental". There are a lot of good restaurants closeby, too.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank KP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2005

This is not a fancy place, but it is warm and welcoming. The entire staff could not have been more accommodating and they were just plain friendly. The common areas made it easy to socialize with other guests if you wanted to, or sit quietly and read. The artifacts and the library of Alaska lore were terrific. You could walk all over downtown Anchorage from this location to museums, galleries, shopping, and restaurants. I have a friend who travels extensively on business, staying in world class hotels internationally. She stayed here recently on vacation, not knowing I'd been here. She loved it as much as I did.I f you want plush accommodations and room service, this is not the place for you. If you want a more "personal" experience, try the Copper Whale.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sagebrush s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
12
Reviewed August 1, 2005

My stay at the Copper Whale Inn started with a friendly greeting from Susan, the receptionist. She was extremely friendly and sweet (not to mention very personable)! I got a great deal on a very clean room with a very comfortable bed! The views from the room were beautiful, looking out onto the bay. The location was great: close to lots of restaurants, coffee shops, shops, other hotels etc. And, there is even a bike rental right at the Inn (I recommend biking the Coastal trail with access a couple blocks away from the Copper Whale Inn). The breakfast was nice with a variety of grains (egos, toasts, breads, and cereals) and fruits, as well as orange juice, coffee and hot chocolate. The common areas were welcoming and comfortable, like home. I could even check my email and surf the net for free just like at home! All in all, a great place to stay in Anchorage (better than some of the other big name hotels in the area which are run down and not so nice).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago, Il
218
Reviewed July 10, 2005

We very mistakenly paid a premium over brand name hotels for a promised Alaskan bed and breakfast experience. When offered a sea view room for an upcharge, I agreed based on the fabulous sell story on the phone. There was no sea view, only trees. The breakfast, which was described as famous on the phone, was a disgrace - make your own cheerios and eat while standing as the three tables were already occupied. Rooms were awful - cheap furniture, dirty carpet, Bathroom had no shampoo. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2005

Simply awful. Cost $200 Meant to be a sea view which was impossible because trees in the way !!! Room old, musty and tired Breakfast consisted of stand up motel varity. EXTORTIONATE. You're better off in a tent.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#24 of 74 in Anchorage
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
480 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $109 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing